Sweet Routine and Monotony


Sweet routine and monotony

He who puts the stars in the sky…

…joins me for my morning coffee

…is by my side as I prepare lunch for my family

…goes for a run with me at the end of the day, finishing it with a brief 20 minute moment of reflection, while listening to what I have to say

…lies with me at night and watches me as I drift off to sleep.

Then He does it all again the next day.

The monotony of it all doesn’t bother Him a bit

And I couldn’t be more content.

Are you content?  And if not, why?  What causes you contentment?

Something to think about.  Let me know.

29 thoughts on “Sweet Routine and Monotony

  1. I’m not content. I’m not content because I feel that I have much more to do in life. I’m not sure when that part of my life will be over, but that’s how I feel right now. It’s like a perpetual restlessness that I feel. I’m not unhappy, just restless. 🙂

    • Hey there Rob. Thank you for sharing where you’re at. I believe that there’s more for me to accomplish too. But I also believe that I’m right where I’m meant to be right now. I think, or at least I hope I’ve gotten over the ‘always looking to the future’ syndrome. I always used be looking to the ‘next big event’ in my life, until recently.
      So, do you know what it is you want to do that you haven’t yet? I’m interested to know.
      Blessings Rob =)
      p.s. did you notice that I had made this comment above (i don’t know what happened but for some reason it entered as a whole separate comment).

      • I’m on the droid app, and I can’t see where your comment landed. :-). There’s a lot of wisdom in what you say, Staci. I don’t want to focus so much on tomorrow that I can’t see today. I don’t know what I want to do, but I feel that for my life to have merit, it must be worthy of remembrance.

  2. He’s there and I sometimes have to remember that when I am feeling out of sorts. He has always been there, but it’s up to me to open my eyes and see and feel it.

    Beautiful…thank you for sharing, Staci.

    Paul

    • Thank you for sharing Paul. Oh yes, he has always been, is and will always be there. Good thing eh (there’s the Canadian for ya:). Thankfully, He remembers that we are made of dust and is full of grace and mercy. Unconditional love has got to be the most amazing gift. And I, being a strong ‘feeler’ have to always remember that His 24/7 presence and continual love is there regardless of how I feel. Phew!
      Blessings Paul =)

  3. If I walked in your shoes Stacy I would be content too. I am content though as my life gives me lots to laugh about. Amusing and interesting so yes I’d say I am contented.

      • I agree…I’m in the process of reading through the New Testament again. I have no time frame, but I always find things which were buried somewhere in my memory. It helps to read them again…

        Said a prayer for you and your family yesterday, I hope you are always improving!

        Take care, Staci, and blessings right back to you…

        Ed 🙂

      • You are so kind. Thank you for praying for me and my fam. I did so the other day on my little walk (after my run) for you and your mom. My hope and prayer for both of you too is that you are always improving.
        Blessings =)

      • I do appreciate those words, Staci. We need to realize just how much power is in a faithful prayer!

        Have a happy and productive day…

        Ed 🙂

  4. I have found that when I know I am doing what God has for me that day, I am content. When I am not sure what He wants me to do, or I am choosing not to do what he wants, I am not content. Thanks for the reminder that He is always with us!

    • That’s soooo it. You hit the nail on the head Heather. So longing I’m in the center of His will I am as content as a pig in mud.
      Blessings=)

  5. As I get older, watching my relatives and friends pass away around me, and knowing I’m a heck of a lot closer to that day than my beginning, a funny thing begins to happen: I become less and less apprehensive, and more and more content with the day I take my final breath. “Yes, though I walk through the valley of death, I will fear no evil. For You are with me. Your rod and staff comfort me.” Everyone knows that Bible verse. But its true reality isn’t actually felt until the Autumn of our lives, and we truly believe in the God of this post. Thank you for posting it!

    • Thank you so much for sharing this Richard. I think that when we’re younger, like during adolescence and our 20s, we seem to take those that are in the ‘autumn of life’ for granted. We don’t really care much about their opinion and take their advice with a grain of salt. However, over the last 10 years or so, I have really come to appreciate the elderly and what they have to share. I have heard some amazing stories and listened to some very wise and uncomplicated words. The beautiful thing about this phase of life is it seems like there is so much more patience and simplicity. And for those who are at peace with God, like yourself, can find contentment as they near that “day they take their final breath”.
      Blessings =)

  6. Yes, I’d have to say that I’m content. My hubby and I have a nice routine that works for us. Part of our routine, however; is discovering new things on Saturdays (usually that means a new coffee shop or vegan restaurant). Anyway, it really is nice having someone to go through the monotony of life with – it’s wonderful that we both have that. We’re blessed! Celeste 🙂

    • Hey there Celeste. Isn’t routine the best? I really do thrive with routine. My kids just started a new school year this week (Brazilian school year) so my routine is back and it’s soooooo good. I’m glad that you’re content and that you and your hubby have a good thing going. Your Saturdays sound awesome. My kind of Saturday outing.
      Yes, we’re truly blessed indeed.
      Thanks for sharing Celeste.
      Blessings =)

  7. Pingback: Thank you Awesome Bloggers – here is an award for you | Perspectives on life, universe and everything

  8. Pingback: Everyone needs to take time for a coffee… | A God Coloured Girl in a Grey World

Leave a Reply

