Erika – #2 in the songs series


Erika - Jewel

Erika, oh Erika
Why do you cry so?
When I tell you you’re beautiful
Why do you cry so?
When I say nice things to you
Why do you cry so?

What did they tell you
When you were a child?
What did they tell you
While you were growing up?
How did they hurt you?
How did they make you sad?
You are a beautiful girl
You are a beautiful girl

Erika, oh Erika
Why do you cry so?
When I tell you you’re beautiful
Why do you cry so?
When I say nice things to you
Why do you cry so?

I’m so glad I got to know you
To hold you and share with you
I’m so glad I got to love you
The privilege is mine to have known you
To me you are so precious
A jewel to be treasured
You are a beautiful girl
You are a beautiful girl

Erika, oh Erika
Why do you cry so?
When I tell you you’re beautiful
Why do you cry so?
When I say nice things to you
Why do you cry so?

This song was inspired by a girl I met in Salvador, Bahia, Brazil.  As the title suggests, her name is Erika.  My husband and I were leading an arts team and one night, while doing some street performing in a slum area of the city I met her.  I believe that God values each person as an individual, so I had made it a habit to pray and ask God who he would have me approach and what he would have me share with that person.  I saw Erika watching in the distance and what came to my mind was a passage from the Bible, “Come to me all you who are weary and heavey laden and I will give you rest.  Take my burden upon you for my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  I decided to take a step of faith and share that with her, and as I did, she started crying.  This was during the beginning of our month-long stay in that place.  Erika and I developed a really special relationship.  So much so that she started calling me mom.  She would come and visit us all the time and I would share God’s heart with her and she would cry, and cry, and cry.  She is such a beautiful girl, and so precious.  She is a jewel, as all people are in the sight of God.  I don’t know what had caused her so much hurt and pain.  I just know that her maker loved her, and wanted to make her whole.  And so was birthed this song, ‘Erika’.

Have you ever felt like you were no good? Have you ever been belittled by someone?  If so, how has it affected you as a person? How did it make you feel? Did you see yourself differently?  Did you think of yourself any less than you had thought before?  Did it affect your self-esteem.  I know that it did for me. Penny for your thoughts hmmmmm…..

22 thoughts on “Erika – #2 in the songs series

  1. Hi Staci. I loved the song and the words. Music means so much more to me when it comes from the heart. It’s powerful stuff when someone impacts your life so much that you’re compelled to commit a poem or a song to them.

    I was belittled as a youth, as a lot of us were. There were bullies who made themselves feel better by making me feel worse about myself. I understand that as an adult, but it was hard to navigate as a child. Even though it hurt me and caused me to feel little worth while I was going through it, it was invaluable to have experienced it. As an adult with children, I know how to deal with it and how to build up the esteem of my children because of it. So, in a strange way, I’m happy that it happened to me. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing more of your music!

    • “I understand that as an adult, but it was hard to navigate as a child.”
      –Tell me about it. I had a tough time too as a child and teenager. It really does make an impact on a child, and even shape how one see themselves and the world.
      ” in a strange way, I’m happy that it happened to me.”
      –Ya, I hear you. Oftentimes, it’s the suffering we go through that strengthens us as individuals. It can even help shape our character, so longing we allow difficult experiences be life lessons, and not become bitter and revengeful.

  2. Beautiful song, beautiful story! This can apply to so many people. The hurts we sustain as children can dwell with us for our whole lives, whether we realize it or not. Bullying seemed more accepted as something that couldn’t be eliminated, when I was growing up. I’m so glad the climate is different now! I will say a prayer for your Erika. Are you still in touch with her?

    • Hi Tina. Thank you for the encouragement, and also for praying for Erika. I hear you about the bullying factor. It really was more accepted in school before, wasn’t it. I know I’ve suffered it.
      I wrote Erika back in 2005. We hooked up when social media started becoming a big thing, Orkut it was I believe, however we never did stay much in touch. It’s too bad. I’d like to know what she’s up to now.
      Blessings Tina =)

  3. The song is a testiment to you. There is no doubt you were a vessel of God. You heard the small and still voice within, and were guided to her, and served His purpose. And I am quite sure it won’t be the last. Kudos to you!

    • Thank you so much Richard. You are too kind. I really appreciate the encouragement. And yes, I agree with you that it won’t be the last.
      Many blessings =)

    • Hi Kate. Yup, that’s me. I’m actually doing a series right now where I’ll be posting one song per week until all of the songs on my CD have been posted. Thank you so much for the kind words and encouragement. I really appreciate it.
      =)

  4. You have a beautiful voice, Staci, as well as a beautiful soul.
    I could write a long reply to being belittled by someone (someone who was meant to love me and take care of me) but I would not want to detract from your beautiful post and the wonderful song you shared with us. I am so glad that Erika found you.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement Heather. I’m sure you have quite a story of being belittled. I think a lot of us do. The world is a harsh place.
      Blessings =)

    • You have a point. Some words should be spoken, but aren’t. And then there are many words that are spoken, and shouldn’t be.
      Thanks for the compliment and comment Rita.
      =)

  5. Oh my, Staci! What a gorgeous, compelling voice you have to sing this haunting song. Thank you for sharing your beauty–musical and soulful. Belittling experiences? Plenty of those, deeply hurtful and damaging. But many supportive, loving ones, as well. Both sources of history inspire me to pour on more compassion. xo

    • Thank you so much for your kind words.
      ” Belittling experiences? Plenty of those, deeply hurtful and damaging. But many supportive, loving ones, as well.”
      And so is life I guess, eh Chloe. The heart is fragile and there are many belittling experiences and beautiful experiences for everyone.
      =)

Leave a Reply

