over the wall


This is just amazing. I’m saying this with a very full heart in tears.

who could know then

dear friends, i found a song and video that
inspired this poem. the words are written to the
tempo of the song and if you have the time,
please watch this incredible video.
.
.
.
Stubborn Love/ The Lumineers
It’s better to feel pain, than nothing at all
The opposite of love’s indifference
So keep your head up, keep your love
Keep your head up, my love
Keep your head up, keep your love
Head up, love
.

.
.
.
over the wall
.
.
.
i saw a smile today…

shining from a stranger’s face

and bundled from the bitter cold

it leapt over the wall

to meet me eye to eye
.
.
.
i woke a girl today…

and kissed her pale forehead

as i did on that night she was born

tears just poured over the wall

at the miracle in my arms

View original post 156 more words

2 thoughts on “over the wall

  1. Thank you for that reblog. Though my three children are all now in their 40’s, I will never forget the day some 30 years ago that I had to tell them that their mother and I were divorcing and I was moving out. I will never, ever forget the look on their little faces. It tore my very soul!

    • Oh Richard, I really feel for you. I’m about to cry again. I have a little girl and that video just hit me so hard. I come from a broken home, however my father was a verbally abusive alcoholic, so for me I don’t know what it is to know the love of an ‘earthly’ father, nor did I have any affection, but fear, for him. He’s gone now and I remember feeling so sad for him, as he died a very lonely, sick man.
      Thank you so much for being vulnerable and sharing that with me.

Leave a Reply

