SHUT UP!


 

Shut up

(The Scream – Impressionist painting by Edvard Munch)

Shhhh
Quiet
Stop yelling

Shhhh
Settle down
Stop rushing

Shhhh
Enough
Information overload

Thoughts are too many
Emotional breakdown
Tears come
A plead, a cry

I need you
Giver of peace
Tranquilizer of affliction
Still my troubled soul
Bring me back to you

Do you ever feel like this? I think we all do at some point or another.  Being a strong feeler, it’s difficult to separate my emotions from reality at times.  I wrote this last week during a time of great mental and emotional turmoil.  If I remember correctly, I did so even in tears.  How do I deal with these situations? I pray and struggle and cry and sometimes rectify…  And then comes peace.

How do you deal with mental and emotional upset? Does this poem resonate with you? What is your ‘calming down’ or ‘getting centered’ process?

20 thoughts on “SHUT UP!

  1. The poem is captures the angst and then the calming very well, Staci. Stop yelling, stop rushing, and stop the overload of information are so relative. My calming process is to take my dog for a walk. No matter how bad my day is, or how flustered that I become, my dog will always wag his tail for me. He’s good for my soul. 🙂 I think that these walks create moments of solitude to calm myself and center myself and they bring me back to a primordial state, in that I’m alone without interference of opinion or noise. I can then respond in a more rational state than when I’m embroiled in the heat of the moment.

    • Oh yes, the lovely ‘heat of the moment’ moments. All rationale seems to fly out the window in times like these eh. So great to get out and clear your head. I wish I wasn’t so reaction-al. I’m learning to be less so. There’s great wisdom is keeping quiet. Your comment reminded me about how I used to run, and sometimes during those runs I could just cry out and let it all go.
      Great comment Rob, and thanks for sharing your thought and method of calming down and getting centered.
      =)

  2. Yep! It sure does resonate with me. When I can’t escape to quiet I become miserable, maybe enough to drive people away. The noise becomes excruciating for me sometimes when life is speeding loudly by. Earphones, blogging and yoga usually help me but what happens when I have nothing to write or my back hurts to much to get through a class. I have a mental breakdown and feel like I am going to explode with rage or anxiety. And then, I eat some chocolate 😉

    • Hahahahaha. I love it. Spoken like a true girl. “And then, I eat some chocolate.” Sometimes I think that chocolate is my medication of choice for PMS.
      “I have a mental breakdown and feel like I am going to explode with rage or anxiety.””
      –Far too often rage and anxiety have been the little devils on my shoulders whispering in my ears.
      =)

  3. As you know from my last text Staci I have a very different reality. It helps me cope. Messed up.
    Terry

  4. resonates perfectly Staci!!! sometimes i can go grab some dark chocolate, sometimes like you i write and somehow this helps me take distance and the strong feelings comes to rest within my words….sometimes i put on some real sad songs and drown myself in them to emerge feeling washed and much better – sometimes, a few moments of meditation bring me back to my center where i drop it all and don;t need to take it seriously at all – and sometimes talking or cuddling with a loved one makes all the difference 🙂

    • Beautifully said Neeta. And I share your appreciation for dark chocolate as medication. hehehe. Writing is, in a sense, art. It’s an expression of opinions, feelings, thoughts. Oftentimes great and powerful messages are birth on paper (or the computer) in tears. Or let me rephrase that. Oftentimes in deep emotion.
      blessings sweetie =)

  5. I generally bottle a lot of emotions up, often until I can no longer contain them. Then the tears start, I have a good cry and a wail and then feel a little better after. My ways of coping would be: crying, coffee, chocolate. In that order! 🙂

    • I’m the exact opposite Heather. I’m the type that let’s it all out. Not in front of just anybody, but when I’m afflicted, I’ve got to get it out some way or another. Crying is suppose to be healthy I hear. Supposedly we release certain chemicals when we cry. Now don’t quote me on that, it’s just something that I heard not too long ago.
      I love the order of your coping strategies. As I’ve shared with you before, I share your appreciation for a good cup of coffee. I sure wish I had one of those fancy machines like you showed in that post of yours once. Ummmmmm, good. And don’t even get me started on chocolate. Especially nice, rich, dark chocolate.
      =)

      • I have to admit that I do not know what I would do without my faithful little coffee machine. Caffeine is most definitely addictive and I am well and truly afflicted by a coffee addiction.

        I tend to think that writing and drinking coffee go hand in hand with one another. I simply cannot write without a coffee by my side.

        I read somewhere that there is something in chocolate that causes certain chemicals to be released in the body when we eat it.

        I also read that the cacao bean is actually poisonous and that if a person ate their own body weight in chocolate that it could actually kill them. What a great way to die though…. 😆

      • “I tend to think that writing and drinking coffee go hand in hand with one another. I simply cannot write without a coffee by my side.”
        -Hey yah, that’s true. When I come to my computer to write/work, usually the first thing I do is prepare a coffee first. I confess that I’m addicted to caffeine as well. I’ve actually tried many times in the past to give up coffee, but I just can’t do it. So then I wont. hehehe.

        Really, I did not know that about the cacao bean. Here, in Brazil we can buy cacao pulp to make juice. I’m not a huge fan of it, plus it’s very caloric. But I am a huge fan of dark chocolate. Love it. Another thing that I just won’t give up.
        🙂

      • A world without coffee or chocolate – what’s the point in that? 😆

        Caffeine and chocolate are two of life’s simple pleasures and ones that I’d find very hard to live without. 🙂

  6. I ask the Lord, “What am I suppose to learn? Do I need to personally change, or do I need to change something in my environment.” Do I always get an instant answer? No. But I do always get an answer. Until I receive an answer I carry on.

    • “Do I always get an instant answer? No. But I do always get an answer. Until I receive an answer I carry on.”
      –That’s just it. Sometimes God tells us right away or says yes. Sometimes He makes us wait because there is something deeper He wants to bring about. I would love to be a patient waiter. Still haven’t quite gotten there yet. Life is an adventure isn’t it. Constantly learning. Constantly growing. The key is just as you said, “carry on”. Makes me think of one of my favorite words, “tenacity”.
      Thanks for sharing Rita.
      🙂

      • In these last days before HIs return, Jesus needs adults not babies. I believe that for those who are passionately and obediently following Christ will have some intense training. But what a pay-off on this and the other side of eternity. Yes, we all will need more tenacity! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

