Who Am I?


Who Am I - Michelle Collins

Hello, I am…

A mind in search of greater understanding
wisdom
love
beauty
wonder

A will that struggles against evil
darkness
plastic
falsehood
wrong doing

A heart that longs for unconditional love
constant peace
contentment
intimacy
untaintedness

Who are you?

Have you ever seen the movie Eat, Pray, Love.  I have.  Actually, I’ve seen it about three or four times.  I love experiencing other cultures, so it’s no wonder that this movie caught my attention.  I would like to share just one little part of it with you and ask you to think about what it is that defines you.

While the main character, Liz was in Rome, she was having lunch with a group of friends and they were giving words to define various places in the world.  ‘Sex’ defined Rome, ‘stuffiness’ defined London and ‘ambition’ or ‘soot’ defined New York. Liz’s friends then asked her what her word would be.  She said she was a ‘writer’.  However, I would have to agree with her friends that told her that ‘writer’ doesn’t define ‘who’ she is, but ‘what’ she does.

Who you are is not what you do.  So what is it that defines you?  How would you define yourself? Maybe even in just a word hmmmmm….

Photo credit: Michelle Collins

26 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. I would say that I am a lover who sesired to saatify and is greatful for reciprocity. And ehs is not the reiprocator, I am. Becuase her tich calms my tiger cililed body and overstimulated mind. Takes me to the purply blue shore. Water is another powerful motivator. Am I HE0. My name, Terrance, means Warrior Prince. Have yet to barrive in the kingdom as I’m too busy being at war. Does that sound like me. Tired of the ear. Only a little bit of peace on earth. Maybe I should be someplace else. And I can go there ewhenever I want. She takes me there. Someday or night I wiLl stay in the water long enough to see the mustanhs arrive. Golden hair of their maenes softly brushin by me and cololing the fire that boils within me. Gola. Now you know. I am in the deep nlue with only the $elodic waves making the softest sweetest I ever knew. Peace. Thanks for drawing me there. Was just there before she called. Her name is Az. Take care Staci. Keep posting. I will reply when my mind goes there. TLC. My initals.
    Terry

  2. I loved the book, ‘Eat, Pray, Love’. It was such an inspiring read. As far as what word defines me, I have no clue. I don’t know that I can narrow it down to one. I bet my hubby could, however; I’ll have to ask him what he thinks. Have a great weekend chica! Celeste 🙂

    • Hey Celeste. I have never read the book. Just seen the movie. However, I’m sure that the book is so much better. Usually that’s the case. I have so many books that are on my list. Maybe some day I’ll get to it.
      I’d love to hear what word your hubby would pick for you. Oftentimes it’s the ones that are closest to us that are easily able to do this. It can be difficult to do so to oneself, I agree. It requires a good amount of introspection. But then again, some people know off the bat.
      If your hubby gives you word, let me know ok.
      Great weekend to you.
      🙂

  3. Hope. I think that if I were to choose one word to define me, it would be hope. It’s an interesting idea to sit and self analyze and how we see ourselves. It may not be what others see, but it’s what we see. Great post!

    • Hey Rob, thank a ton. That’s a great word. When there’s no hope, then we don’t have much to go, or rely on. So glad you’re a hopeful person.
      Hope you’re getting through your whirlwind of activity and responsibilities peacefully.
      🙂

  4. I’m not sure how I would define myself and I think I would feel more comfortable for other people to give a definition of who or what I am. What I try to be is a good person, mindful of those around me, treating others as I would wish to be treated myself. My behaviour, the way I treat those around me, they are perhaps the things that define me and make me who I am.

    • It’s definitely easier for other people to define us then ourselves, that’s for sure. Self-analyzation can be very difficult and even confusing. Especially when one tries to narrow it down to just a word. In the movie, or book, ‘Eat, Pray, Love’, Liz’ friends analyze different cities in the world. But then when they asked her what her word would be, she was unable to give a word that would define her as a person, and not what she does.

      Thanks for sharing Heather. And those are great attributes to strive to live by.

      🙂

  5. by all indications, Staci, you are a burning heart, an alive mind, a generous spirit. x tony

  6. Good point that you mentioned–who we are is not what we do. Before reading this, I would have defined myself as a writer, because I guess that is what I have learned to described myself as to others. But really, I’m actually a dreamer 🙂

    • Hahaha, yes. Have you seen the movie Eat, Pray, Love? Or read the book? It’s so true that we often define ourselves by what we do. And really, that isn’t who we are, is it?
      I’m a dreamer too Crystal.
      Thanks for sharing.
      🙂

      • I haven’t seen the film or read the book before but after reading your post, I am definitely interested. I will put the movie on my list of films to watch 🙂

      • It’s a great movie. I don’t agree with the philosophy of it and all, but there are some little nuggets that I really liked. Let me know if you watch it ok.
        🙂

Leave a Reply

