Versatile Blogger Award


 

versatile

Ok, I have to admit, I’m a little behind on responding to award nominations that I’ve had the honor to receive.  Please forgive me Kate and Rob.  Sometimes I feel a little like a chicken with its head cut off with all of the business of life.  Anyhow, that being said, I’m finally attending to this.

The rules for this award are as follows:

1. Thank and acknowledge the blogger(s) that nominated you

A big thank you to:

Kate, http://kateloveton.wordpress.com – An aspiring novelist, avid reader of fiction and a reviewer of books.

Rob, http://weight2lose2013.wordpress.com – On a low-carb journey to lose weight.  You can find some great recipes on his blog. He’s also a gardener and musician and has posted gardening tips and some of his own music there as well.

Please check out their blogs and appreciate some of their work.

2. Tell you seven things about myself.

-I used be a tom boy.  Didn’t like wearing skirts or dresses.  Wore big clunky Doc Martins or some other kick-butt type of boot.  Now I love being a ‘girl’.  Love dresses, skirts, pretty things.  Maybe living in Brazil has a bit to do with that.  Hot here and women (in general) take care of their appearance.

-My hubby’s about to release his second feature-length film.

-I love the movies “My Life in Ruins” and “The Peaceful Warrior”.

-The older I get, the more content and happy I am.

-My mom used to bathe me and my brothers together.  One day she caught me in the bathtub in tears because my penis had fallen down the drain (or it fell off, or something like that).

-When my 4-year-old daughter is upset with me, she threatens me by telling me that I won’t be her mommy anymore or that she won’t do a picnic with me.

-One day my husband and I have a dream to buy a vehicle in Canada and drive south until we end up back in Brazil, documenting and filming it all.  However, we would stop at all sorts of different places along the way, until the tip of South America.

3. Now I get to nominate up to 15 bloggers for this same award.

*  http://honkifyourevegan.com

* http://oldestdaughterredheadedsister.com

messageinabottleblog.wordpress.com

* http://audreyhepburnbooks.wordpress.com

http://tinapumfrey.wordpress.com

* http://fashionvictimstories.wordpress.com

http://onewayhealthier.wordpress.com

http://rachelcarrera.wordpress.com

http://misslouella.wordpress.com

http://misslouella.wordpress.com

http://portsong.wordpress.com

http://richardmax22.wordpress.com

http://20sowfm.wordpress.com

* http://heatherbcosta.wordpress.com

* http://anewperspectiveperhaps.wordpress.com

Ok, so that’s it.  I hope you enjoy checking out the blogs I’ve nominated.

For those I’ve nominated, the rules (if you should choose to accept it) are like this:

1. Thank the blogger for nominating you and acknowledge them on you blog.

2. Display the Versatile Blogger’s Award badge somewhere on your blog.

3. Share 7 things about yourself that other bloggers may not know.

4. Nominate up to 15 bloggers for the award.

33 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. That must have been very powerful soap that your mother used on you while in the tub. 😉
    The wonderful thing that I find about these nominations is that we get to know more about the people that we follow. The more we know, the more real the friendships become. I think that your idea for a film would be an amazing adventure to film and to see. I hope that you get to realize it someday. I’ll be sure to check out your suggestions for blogs!

    • Rob, I literally laughed out loud when I read your comment. Yah, my mom probably switched over to a milder brand after that penis falling incident.
      hahahahaha. I’ll have to tell her about your comment.

      Hopefully, one day we will be able to that trip. It would be sooooooo awesome.

      Thanks for the smile, laugh and comment Rob. You’re awesome.

      🙂

  2. Obviously, your outcome was not the same, but…Having two boys and one girl, when put in a bath tub together, my daughter once accused us of having her penis cut off and tucked in. She is now 40 year old woman who likes women, and I love her to death! Thank you for the nomination. I have told you before, the lonely world of writing has few accolades other than a pay check. You have made my dimented scribblings worth the effort. Thank you.

    • Hi Richard. I’m so happy that you were able to relate to this bathtub incident. I guess I’m not the only ‘only girl’ that went through some trauma as a child about losing her penis :-).
      And you are more than welcome on the nomination. You more than deserve it. Your posts always put a smile on my face. Oftentimes a laughing out loud experience as well.
      🙂

  3. Your husband is a filmmaker? That’s so cool! And your story about bathing with your siblings as children cracked a smile on my tired weary face (covered by scarf and hat too because it’s cold here) you had quite the imagination!

    • Yup, my hubby is a filmmaker. And I’m proud of him too. When no one believed in him, he didn’t get up, but kept going. His first film, “The Value of a Dream” won seven awards at the National Christian Film Festival here in Brazil. Awards included best film, best direction, best script, best photography, best soundtrack, best actor and best actress. I literally screamed when I was watching the awards.
      So sorry to hear that it’s so cold. I, for one, just folded up my sleeveless top because I’m sweating like mad. And it’s suppose to be autumn here. Not complaining though. I prefer the heat over the cold anyday.
      Thanks for your kind words and comment.
      🙂

  4. A BIG congrats on your award chica!! And wow, you nominated me – thank you so much!!! I loved reading the facts about you. I used to be a tom boy too, but I’ve become more girly too. I’m still not that girly, however; and especially not when you compare me to my sister-in-law from Paraguay. Like you say, I think it’s a cultural thing with South American women. And my mom used to bathe me with my brothers too – how funny! I also think the dream you and your hubby have to drive south from Canada and document it sounds wonderful. I hope you guys fulfill this dream. Congrats again! Celeste 🙂

    • Hahahahaha. Yah, I think it is a huge cultural thing. When I first moved here I would wear a boyish skirt with all conditions geared Nike sandals and I would stick out like a sore thumb. I was finally given a heads up a few months after moving there. And after being here for 12 years, plus lots of sun, it kind of just happens.
      You’re welcome for the nomination. You deserve it.
      Oh yah, we would loooovvvvveee to do that. Will have to wait till the kids are at least teenagers though. We’ll see.
      hugs 🙂

  5. Staci! Wow! First, congratulations on receiving this award. You deserve it and all the accolades you are given. I enjoy your creativity very much. Your words of encouragement are so helpful and honest. I love that to pieces.

    Second…your life sounds fantastic. I think the trip from Canada to Brazil would be so much fun. I hope you and your husband make it happen one day. Congrats on the second film, as well. You must be so proud of your husband. 🙂 I bet you have everything to do with his success.

    Thank you for recognizing my blog. Your kindness means so much.

    Blessings~ Audrey

    • Wow, thank you so much Audrey. I feel so honored to receive such kind words from you. I could only wish that one day I would be able to have such constant creativity as you have. Every day you are pouring out creative stuff. One of these days I’ll get there (maybe when my kids are older and can devote more time :-).

      Yah, I really hope that one day we would be able to that trip. Take like a month, or maybe even two for that road trip, documenting something. The ‘something’, I’m not sure of yet. But we’ll see.

      I’m not sure if I have ‘everything’ to do with Daniel’s success, but I’ll tell you, I sure have a whole ton to do with it. He has to travel a lot because of it and so I’m alone with the kids. Phew! Can be stressful at times.

      You are more than welcome Audrey. You’ve got a great blog and totally deserve it.

      Blessings 🙂

  6. Congratulations on your award, and thank you for nominating my blog! I can totally relate to not having enough time to devote to my projects. Not to scare you, but my kids are now 12, 14 (twins) and 16, and between them and my job, I still struggle to find time for things like my blog. It’s all part of the journey, though, and I wouldn’t trade these years for anything. I think kids bring us out of ourselves, help us to see the world in a different way. We loved our 3-week trip to the eastern coast of Canada with them, and your kids will love the Canada-to-Brazil adventure.

    I will take a bit of time to get to writing my response to the nomination, but I will do it. I love reading your posts. I’m glad we stumbled across each other in the blogosphere. 🙂 God bless.

    • Wow, four kids. I got a late start with marriage and kids. I was married less than two weeks before turning 30, had first at 33 and the second at 36.
      I agree with you about kids bringing us out of ourselves and helping us see the world in a different way.
      My kids have been to Canada before too. Caue (7 and with Asperger’s Syndrome) actually lived in four continents by the time he was two. Plus, he was ‘made in Afghanistan’. Hannah (4) has only been to Canada twice. We may go again at the end of June.

      No problem on taking time on the nomination. I took a long time to get to mine. I totally understand.

      I’m glad too for stumbling across each other.

      Blessings 🙂

  7. Ah! Yes! You are deserving of this award and more. This adventure you and your hubby dream of sounds very exciting to me. The good thing is that you people will get to meet a lot of people and see a lot of things along the way. May this dream be a reality someday. Perhaps soon.

Leave a Reply

