Seeds


 

The Sewer - Van Gogh

The Sower by Van Gogh

A thought became a word
A word became a thought
The thought produced an idea
And shaped the child’s mind

His way of seeing things
Her way of living life
The things that she believes
The things for which he’ll strive

Do not despise the day of small beginnings

Have you ever thought about your words and how they can affect others?  Who ever created that famous nursery rhyme, “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but names will never hurt me”, obviously didn’t know what he was talking about.  Words and very powerful.  Just as actions are very powerful.

I am a mother of two young children and, for me, it is very important that I watch my words and my actions around my children.  I have an amazing responsibility to raise two little human beings, and I don’t take that lightly. With my words, I can either make or break my children.  I can generate in them thoughts that are either healthy or hurtful.  Essentially, I am planting seeds in the fertile soil of their minds, and they, like sponges are taking it all in and forming their thoughts, worldview, character, opinions, etc.

I was doing some research on the internet concerning the power of words and I found the following text from http://10daybookclub.wordpress.com/2012/04/09/words-create-thoughts-thoughts-produce-feelings-feeling-inspire-choices/ :

  • Words create Thoughts
  • Thoughts produce Feelings.
  • Feelings inspire Choices.
  • Choices generate Actions
  • Actions determine Habits
  • Habits develop Character
  • Character fulfills Destiny
  • Destiny breeds Legacy.

Now I don’t know about you, but it seems to me that our words ultimately have extreme power. Let’s take great care then and think twice before we speak.

How about you? Have you ever thought about the effect that your words can have on someone, especially someone you love? Have you ever experienced the crushing pain of hurtful words? I know I have. If you are a parent, how important is it for you to plant good seeds into the soil of your children’s minds? Have you ever considered the effect that your words can have on them?  Just some food for thought on a Wednesday afternoon….

 

29 thoughts on “Seeds

  1. Yes, I am always careful about the words that I say. Also important is to help my kids navigate through twisted words and meaning. I will try not to get political, but there is a huge secular movement in the US and they will try to keep religion out any way that they can. They are taught that the founding fathers were not religious men, to which I read them this from The Declaration of Independence: “We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness”
    These words are precious to me, and it’s explicit in the acknowledgement of a higher being and also that while we are free people, only 3 things are guaranteed. So, as important as the words that we speak are, it’s equally important that the words that they read are not misinterpreted. Thank you, Staci, for another thought provoking post.

    • Hey Rob, what a great comment. And thanks for sharing that; it’s great. Have you ever heard of Francis Schaeffer. I’ve been watching a 5 hour documentary from him on Youtube (not all in one sitting of course). But it is so good. If you get the chance, check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lKWFfMFcZgo#aid=P-WSLeF1p8g
      It’s pretty deep. Two hours or so into it he gets into the whole issue of government and laws and… Oh, I can’t do it justice. Just watch it. It’s phenomenal. And it definitely won’t be waisted time.
      I’m so glad that you talk to your kids and help them navigate through twisted words.
      Big smile 🙂

      • Thank you for the link, Staci. I will start watching it a little bit at a time. I read a bit about him on Wikipedia, and it’s something that I am interested in, so thanks again!!!

      • Hi Staci, I got through the first hour of it last night. I didn’t realize how comprehensive this video would be! It’s very interesting and I can’t wait to watch it again tonight.

      • WOOHOO! You just made my day Rob. I am absolutely loving it. I’m almost three hours into it. I was so tired last night after I had finished everything I needed to get done, but I still made myself stay up and watch at least 20 minutes of it. Very comprehensive indeed. Don’t you think it just really sheds a light on so much concerning history and the formation of society through the ages? I want to read a ton of his books too. And of course, Youtube has tons of material by him. My only qualm is the knickers he wears. Aren’t they funny?
        🙂

      • Yes, it is remarkable. I am at the formative stages of organized religion right now and the introduction of the self by Aristotle. Thank goodness I don’t have to see his knickers the whole time, because that would be so distracting! 🙂

  2. I’ve actually been doing a lot of studying on what the Word has to say about the power of our words, and it has transformed and is continuing to transform the way I speak. To others, and to myself.

    • I hear you there. Being an impulsive individual (working on that), far too many harmful words have escaped this mouth of mine. One thing that has really spoken to me in from James, “be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to become angry”. This verse has taught me that there is great wisdom in remaining silent.
      Thanks for sharing.
      🙂

  3. Good words here, pun intended. Yes, words can be so destructive. The lesson I’ve continually tried to teach mine is that they are permanent. Once you say something demeaning, it never goes away. Sorry doesn’t erase.
    Thanks for the reminder.

    • Lol. The Bible talks about how a raging fire can be set all because of our tiny little tongue. Boy, is that ever true eh. And yes, there is a lot of truth to your comment, “Sorry doesn’t erase.”
      Thank Mark.
      🙂

  4. Words have the power not only to wound, but to cause permanent harm, especially to children. I know from my own experience how crippling harsh words can be and I made a promise to myself long ago that I would never inflict the kind of pain I suffered on others.

    Children especially are precious and they are also innocent. Just because we have the power to wound a child and take away that innocence does not give us the right to do so. We are responsible for teaching the next generation how to care for one another and be honest and true people and we can only do that by leading by example.

    • Well said Heather. I totally agree. I also have suffered the effects or abusive words. They are so powerful. I spend a good part, if not all of my 20s going through a whirlwind of emotional and mental healing from the ill effects of harsh words over my life from my father.
      🙂

  5. Staci, Thank you for your thoughtful, sensitive piece. Yes, I think about the power of words constantly. Having just performed over the weekend, I am especially sensitive to the issue right now, having received much feedback about our concerts, and hearing what folks said to the other dancers–everything from thoughtful and helpful to thoughtless, and painful (although probably well-intentioned). Shine on, my friend. Xo

    • Hi Chloe, I’m so sorry to hear about the thoughtless and painful words your team received. Some people really don’t understand how damaging their words can be. Especially to artists, who are often a lot more sensitive than the average Joe.
      I’d love to know more about your concerts and dance performances. Are you performing a specific piece right now?
      🙂

      • Oh, dear–I miscommunicated. We received much positive feedback–there was only a sprinkling of words that were a bit thoughtless. But you are so right–artists can be supersensitive, especially after being so vulnerable on stage. Thanks for asking–we were previewing work that has been in process for a couple of years (for some of us, even longer)–very exciting, and overall a highly enthusiastic reception, The formal premiere is at the beginning of May. Again, thank you for your sensitive piece. xo

      • Oh great. So good to receive positive feedback. Glad you did.
        May you have a wonderful premiere. I’m sure that you will be quite busy leading up to it.
        🙂

  6. Brilliant words of wisdom, Staci. Words can bring about happiness and love; they are also deadlier than any weapon ever made if used wrongly.

    I, too, believe in the power of words. During counseling, I tend to choose my words so I don’t kill the spirit of the person at fault. When I’m angry, I rather speak a few words and recoil in silence and move away than brood and seek for ways to retaliate.

    What a child will become depends largely on upbringing. I’m grateful for the parents I have, the environment I grew up in. I want to raise my kids in the same manner and hope they find peers who have good manners as well as talk decently.

    A wise post, my friend. I know your kids are proud of you.

    • Well said Uzoma. I agree %100. Words can build up and they can tear down. It’s up to us to keep a tight reign on our tongue.
      I agree that a child’s character and view of the world largely depends on how they’re raised. The values and lessons that parents pass on to their children are soooooo important. As a parent, I believe that it is extremely important to not only teach with my words, but be a living example as well. I love how the Bible says, “Teach a child in the way he should go, and when he is older he will not turn from it.”
      Thank Uzoma. Awesome comments.
      🙂

  7. Words are truly powerful, sometimes I think they are more powerful than actions. Because though actions can silently say a lot, words stay with us forever. Actions can be explained, but not words.

Leave a Reply

