Connection


 Connection - Ryan McGuire of Bells Design.jpg

Lover of my soul
Will you listen to me
I know you will
My spirit you see
My heart you touch
My soul you shape
My being is yours
I’m here, please take
Me away to that secret place
Where we connect

Do you long for real relationships? Not the fluff ones, which have no real soul or depth.  The superficial ones where you talk about nothing and they don’t have an impact on your life.  Do you long for relationships where you truly sense there’s a connection? I do.

Connectivity.  It’s what we, human beings long for.  It’s what we were made for.  Relationships. 

This poem was written for the one I have the deepest and most profound relationship with.  Do you have a relationship like that with anyone? Is there anyone you can share your innermost secrets with? If not, do you long for that type of connection?

 

 

 

33 thoughts on “Connection

  1. I think that there are levels of connectivity. I connect with different people in different ways, and almost always only reveal a portion to me, dependent on the connectivity. There is never a contrived persona, but there are limits that I place on each relationship depending on how much I trust them. Maybe trust is the wrong term. I trust my children, but there are parts to my life that I haven’t shared and maybe won’t share. Does that make any sense to you?

    • Hey Rob, please forgive me for taking so long to reply. I’ve been without internet at home since Friday afternoon. Still not up and running. Ugh. I’m at my hubby’s office now to try and catch up.
      Anyhow, I agree there are different levels of connectivity. One of my best friends from way back once said to me, “every relationship we have is different.” So true. But there’s only one that that I connect with whole-heartedly.
      And yes, makes total sense.
      🙂

    • Hey there cutie. So sorry for taking so long to reply. I’ve been without internet since Friday afternoon. Trying to get the prob fixed, but it’s still not. I’m at my hubby’s office right now, trying to catch up.
      Yes, I think human beings were made for relationship, whether we’re introverts or extroverts. It doesn’t matter. We all want to share our hearts and be undersood.
      Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m trying to produce relevant and soulfull material, and it really makes a difference and puts a smile on my face when someone speaks well of my writing. I appreciate you.
      🙂

    • Me too Cynthia. And that’s exactly who I’m speaking of here. I read something today that made me think about the meaning of this poem. “The more you give yourself to Me and My ways, the more I fill you with inexpressible heavenly joy.” (Jesus Calling by Sarah Young). I have found that to be so true in my life, especially as of recent years. I’ve had to stop ‘being in the spotlight’ and more ‘in the background’. And as I’ve done so, and pride has selfish ambition has diminished somewhat, I find myself more and more able to ‘be still and know that He is God’. And as I sit there in the stillness of His presence, tears fall down my cheeks with that peace that passes all understanding. In those times (and of course all the time) I know that He completes me.
      Thank you so much for sharing Cynthia.
      🙂
      p.s. sorry for taking so long to reply. I’ve been without internet at home since Friday afternoon and it still isn’t up and running. UGH!

  2. Beautifully written.

    I long for such connection(s) in my own life, but so far they’ve eluded me for the most part. Even my relationship with God is not what I wish it was…it’s kind of this haunting longing that never quite gets filled, with God or with others. Not sure if it’s just me, or perhaps I long for something that can never truly be realized in this life.

    • Hi April. I’m so sorry to hear that. What about when you have your quiet times? I know that I went through a whirlwind of emotions when I was in my 20s. Mostly anxiety and fear. Oftentimes I had very little peace. I’ve gotten over a lot of that now, thankfully. I think life has a lot of ups and downs. Kind of like mountain top experiences and then down to the valley. Keep looking up to the only one that can truly fill that need, my friend. If you ever need to go deeper and talk or unload, please feel free to email me ok. I’d be more than happy to.
      🙂

      • Thank you for the encouragement, Staci–I might shoot you an e-mail sometime. Too much to share in a comment. Let’s just say I’m going through a real wilderness right now, where my faith is being tested and I’m questioning much of what I used to believe and take for granted.

      • Yea, please do shoot me an email. I have also gone through some serious soul searching and wondering and all. There is hope though, so hang on firm ok. Don’t give up.
        🙂

  3. Beautiful poem Staci. You have such a knack of expressing deep profound emotions, thoughts, stories…so effortlessly, and your words always touch me and make me reflect on my life and my self. Thank you 🙂

  4. I think we all need at least one deep connection like this in our lives, I don’t think anyone of us would be able to survive otherwise. Having a deep and meaningful connection with someone is as important as breathing – you can’t live without it.

    • So true Heather. We’ve been made to have that connection. I looooooooovvvvvveeee how you said, “it’s as important as breathing”. Did you know that if a baby doesn’t receive love, they die. You can change its diaper, bathe him, feed him, etc. If you don’t show love, it will die. Hmmmmm… Makes you think eh.
      🙂

      • I can well believe that Staci. Babies need a lot of love and nourishment from their parents in order to thrive. I think it’s a pretty cold and heartless person that can’t show and innocent and helpless baby love.

  5. How empty the sky would be if there was but a single star. So it is with us when we aren’t in community with others. May this Sunday be filled with sunshine and smiles Stacilys!

    • Hi Rita. Yes, so true. And especially with the One who completes me (and you 🙂 ).
      BTW, I haven’t forgotten about the post. I started on it and got writer’s block. Then totally changed up what I was going to do. I’ve written a short Haiku and want to write something along with it and will be sending it to you this week ok (that’s if my internet is up and running again. I’ve been without it since Friday afternoon and it’s still not working. I’m at hubby’s office right now catching up).
      Thanks Rita.
      🙂

  6. The poem is really good Staci, but what I wanted to comment and say is that I hadn’t been to your site in a few days cuz I took some much need time off from all my reading… and I come here this morning and its a whole new world (thank you Aladdin) I love the new layout 🙂 Very nice!!!

    • Hey there. Good for you taking time off. I’m sure you really needed it. I was forced to take time off thanks to my internet company. I’ve been w/o int since Friday. It’s killing me. I’ve been accessing only on my phone which is sooooooooo slow. Trying to get this resolved, but it’s north east Brazil and not as quick. Ugh!
      Thanks. Yea, I really like the monochromatic-ness of this one. Wanna get a better header pic once I get my new camera. Gonna get it in June when in Canada.
      🙂

      • Exactly. Those that touch the inner most cores, those we may refer to as ‘soul-mates’, those sincere beings who love us for what we really are! =)

        I found your blog through Lalarukh’s site. You’re a beautiful writer! And a wonderful human. Stay blessed! <3.

      • Ohhhhh, thank you so much. You’ve made my day (big smile). I’m enjoying reading your beautiful poetry as well. So eloquent and beautiful. I look forward to following you.
        🙂

Leave a Reply

