A Child’s Faith


A Child's Faith

The faith of a child
Knowing He’s in full control
Resting securely

To be like a child
No longer doubting His word
Great measure of trust

My child-like longing
Cocooned snug in His presence
Leaving lies behind

Do you  ever get confused when it comes to philosophy and worldview? I do.

I’m not saying that I’m doubting my faith. Nor am I struggling with what I believe. I would never leave the one who set me free and gave me meaning.

I will never understand it all – The world, philosophies, ideas and so on. I get confused. Unable to be still and at peace. When that happens, I need to just come back to what I know, leave things in the hands of my more-than-competent creator, and realize that I am an individual – unique, cherished, precious, lovely – in the eyes of He who carefully crafted me and breathed life into my being.

Oh to be like a child.

Do you ever get confused with the myriad of ideas and philosophies floating around out there?

32 thoughts on “A Child’s Faith

  1. I do not get confused on my beliefs, I get confused when folks play rhetorical games with me, sometimes, sometimes God gives me the means to say what needs to be said when I don’t get in the way.

    • I hear you. I am a very strong feeler, and my experiences with God have been very intimate and emotional. Being married to a very strong thinker has helped me be more balanced, thank God. When I get frustrated or confused or have questions about something that I can’t seem to grasp, I ask him. Oftentimes it’s like a breath of fresh air. All of a sudden everything makes sense. He’s been traveling, but returns today. Believe me, I have a lot I want to talk with him about. But apart from that, it’s not that I’m confused, so to speak, it’s more like trying to grapple with the noise of the world, skepticism, heady topics. But as I mentioned in my post, I come to God with all of this stuff and I remember the things that He’s shown me in the past, and I remember how tiny I am, and how great He is.
      Thank you for sharing.
      🙂

  2. Yes I do. There are times in my confusion that I question who is right and who is wrong. I also question if there is a right or wrong. At the end of the day, these questions give me strength in my core beliefs. These are like the devils challenges in the desert.

  3. “To be like a child”… profound and accurate metaphor in my opinion, because we are God’s children… yes, we may get “confused with the myriad of ideas and philosophies floating around out there”, but we have to find a “place” or a “state of mind” to focus on our “true self”… and ask “what do I really believe in”, “what do I really think” – and from silence will emerge wonderful answers if we’re able to listen to the voices of the spiritual world. Thank you Staci 🙂 And much love to you!

    • Hi Frederic
      I’m so pleased you commented here. I value what you think.
      You know, it’s not that I’m confused, so to speak. I know where my faith is and where it lies. However, I am a strong feeler, and at times I find it difficult to deal with a lot of the noise that the world throws at me. Especially the ‘heady’ stuff. Everybody has an opinion, and everybody has their struggles. My struggles are not in whether my faith is in God, Jesus, the Bible, etc. It’s the polemic stuff. That’s why I wrote this about having the faith of a child. Children don’t ever question whether or not their parents will be there for them, or whether what they say is right, or wrong, is in fact right or wrong. They don’t worry if their parents are going to provide for them. They simply go about their lives learning and growing and being influenced by their parents and their surroundings. My highest hope is that I would be influenced by God, my Father. Because ultimately, he holds the keys to all love, wisdom and truth.

  4. Let the child in each of us until we live as that’s the most gifted thing you can have and we don’t need to understand all the philosophies as long as we believe in love and humanity in basic level….I can totally relate what you expressed…love

    • Ohhhh, thank you so much for your lovely comment. I’m so glad you can relate to this. It really is a gift to have a child-like faith, isn’t it?
      🙂

    • Ohhhhhh Trini, I can’t believe that I didn’t reply to this beautiful comment of yours until now. Somewhere along the way I missed it.
      Thank you so much, my friend. I know that you are such a lover of child-likeness. Actually, you shine with that child-likeness and it’s beautiful.
      🙂

  5. I like your poem, in the way it presents the sense of trusting like a child. I recall these lines as well, “When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me.”

    It gives me strength to confront the worldviews & ideologies of the times, and learn how best to articulate mine. Thanks Staci for sharing.

    • Hi Timi. Thank you for your kind words and for sharing.
      I’m not really confused when it comes to my faith, God, the Bible, so to speak. It’s more like the polemic stuff that’s constantly thrown at me. In writing this, I had in mind the scripture that talks about having the faith of a child to enter the Kingdom of Heaven. There are so many worldviews, opinions and ideas floating around out there. Being such a strong feeler, sometimes it seems to cloud my thinking. Just today I was having a quiet time in the morning and I started remembering all sorts of passages I’ve read before and things I feel as if God has taught me in the past. It was like His spirit was bringing to my remembrance the things I needed to remember. I believe the battle is in the mind and my weapons are based on Truth.
      Thanks again Timi. I love what you said about “learn how to best articulate mine.” It’s so true. These are times of strengthening the faith muscle.
      🙂

      • Oh, I didn’t think you were or that you are 🙂
        I was just broadening the conversation with the thoughts that came to me 😉
        Thanks for letting me share my 2 cents.

      • Oh no, I hope I didn’t sound defensive. I’m sorry Timi if it sounded that way. I didn’t think you were trying to way that I was or am at all. No worries ok. I love your comments and how you enrich the conversation. Your 2 cents, so to speak.
        Blessings.
        🙂

  6. I think there’s a still, quiet voice in each of us that we either pay heed to or not – or sometimes temporarily drown out. 🙂 There have been competing philosophies since the beginning of time. Perhaps that is why Pilate washed his hands and cynically asked, ‘What is truth?’

    I like what you’ve said somehere on your blog – that you don’t claim to have the whole truth, but you certainly have a piece of it. I agree with that… and the still, quiet voice that tries – repeatedly and patiently – to get me to listen. ❤

    • Oh how lovely it would be if we could just be so in tune constantly to His still small voice. What a difference that would make eh. To shun out all of the noise and clutter that is constantly competing for our attention. Hmmmmmm.
      Thank you so much Kate.

  7. Often I think the world is just a philosophy of confusion. But there is truth within that confusion. You just have to know where to look for it.

  8. When I start overthinking things, I remind myself of how children just accept that what will be will be. The biggest thing that Connor and Molly are ever concerned about is what kind of cake they’ll choose at the coffee shop. While we can’t live out lives in ignorance, I think we need to keep hold of the simplicity of thought we had as young and innocent children.

    After all, what is life without cake? 🙂

  9. Pingback: Like A Child (mixed media and kyrielle) | A God Colored Girl in a Grey World

Leave a Reply

