The Escape… …The Return


Many people post-Christmas go through the blahs, get depressed, feel down, etc. It’s no different for me. I haven’t been very present here on WordPress these past few weeks, due to the season. I am a person that loves routine. When I don’t have it for any great length of time, I get depressed. Soooo, I’m reblogging this poem I wrote a while back. It’s very befitting for how I’m feeling right now.

A God Colored Girl in a Grey World

The Escape The Return.jpg

a longing
to escape
jump off the world
take a break

searching out
hope to find
a place of solace
peace of mind

raging emotions
battling for space
depriving spirit
trembling base

stop and pray
breathe in deep
pray to him
start to weep

suddenly
i see his face
home again
in his embrace

Have you ever felt like you wanted to jump off this roller coaster ride called, Life? Like you wanted to say, “Good bye world. I’m going to get on the carousel now with the pink ponies, bright lights and cheery music?” I have. In fact, that’s how I was feeling yesterday, and the start of this poem was birthed.

Earlier this week I wrote another poem, due to the stress I was under. It sounds like I’m trying to be a bit of kill joy or downer. That isn’t my intention though. We all have bad…

View original post 107 more words

27 thoughts on “The Escape… …The Return

  1. I think a lot of us feel like this sometimes. I know I have too many times. But sometimes the world isn’t ready to say goodbye, even if we are. I think an escape and return can keep us moving forward. We should never underestimate the power of a resurrection in any form.

    • I love this Benjamin. I am very emotional right now. I can’t handle too much stress and little alone time. I really need that space of my own. If not, depression gets the best of me. I love how you said, “never underestimate the power of a resurrection in any form.
      I hope you had a very nice Christmas, my friend. Do you have any plans for New Year’s?
      I appreciate you.
      🙂 ❤

      • Yes, I think we have to resurrect ourselves in order to fight against depression and other emotional hardships of life. Ebbs and flows are deeply ingrained into this world we live in, but we can move within those tides rather than against them.

        I hope you’ll be okay. I know the roads depression can lead you down; make sure you don’t walk those roads alone. I’ll be thinking and praying for you.

        Thank you. That’s always nice to hear. I appreciate you, too 🙂 Honestly, I do. You’re more special than special permits. Don’t forget 🙂

        And I don’t have any set plans, but I’ll make sure to be around somebody I love. Have a great New Year’s, also. Try and find time to relax.

      • Very true Benjamin. If we allow ourselves to drown in depression, it will just get worse.

        I have suffered with depression and anxiety disorder for a number of years. I actually take meds because if not, I don’t sleep. It’s under control though, which is a very good thing.

        I’m so thankful that you’ll be thinking of and praying for me Benjamin. Really I am.

        “You’re more special than special permits. Don’t forget :)”
        –Ohhhhhh, my friend. You’re so sweet. I’m touched and grateful for meeting you.

        I hope you have a wonderful new year’s with somebody you love. And I will definitely try to find some time to relax.

        Thanks again sweetie.
        🙂 ❤

    • It’s the reality of many right now, I think. Even though I live south of the equator, and the sun is shining and it is hot, I still get depressed. I think because of the lack of routine and alone time in my life right now.
      You are more than welcome Valleygrail.
      🙂 ❤

  2. Pingback: » The Escape… …The Return

  3. I hope you are feeling better dear Staci! I send you love and hugs from across the pond 🙂 (actually across the oceans as I am in Mumbai on hols visiting my parents!) And I know how you feel..for I feel that way too..albeit in a different sense..Take care of yourself!

    • Awwwww, I’m jealous. I want to go to Mumbai. Actually, to Goa too. Get in some beach time. hehehe
      🙂
      Have a blast with your parents. My mom’s coming south to visit in February. Yeah!
      Thanks Anjali.
      🙂 ❤

  4. I often feel like this. More than i dare to admit actually.
    I hope you’re feeling ok Staci ❤️
    How I cope usually? Silence my phone, dive in a book, don’t contact anyone, and sweat it out in intensive workouts 👍

    • Me too. I’m just out of routine, and I LOVE routine. I feel like there’s chaos in my life and I’m unable to get things done when I don’t get time to myself and have my routine in place.
      heyyyyy, sounds like my kind of escape. I’m a fitness junkie myself.
      Thanks May.
      🙂 ❤

  5. Hi Staci, I hope that the house sale has relieved some of your burden. I think that this is a very timely post. We all carry so much stress at times that I think that jumping off of the carousel is a natural feeling. Enjoy your celebration tonight and raise the goblet high. 💗💗💗💗

    • Heyyyyyyy, yes. We are even going to take a few days to go on a beach holiday. Yeah! Come mid-January I’ll be drinking coconut water right out of the coconut and jumping some serious waves.
      And I did life my goblet.
      🙂 ❤

    • Awwwww, I feel so cared about. I’m a little buckaroom. I’m better today, in spite of the raging headache I had all morning.
      Love and hugs to you, my sweet MN.
      🙂 ❤

  6. Whoop hoop! Ah heck it keeps autocorrecting it…you know what I mean!!! Congrats on the sale of your house, Staci!!! Answered prayer! I hope you are feeling better today!! I think this is an honest poem. Those kind of poems are cathartic!! And don’t ever apologize for being honest in your poetry…the raw emotion is what forms a poet. Xoxo

    • Hahahahaha, gotta love auto correct.
      Thanks Kirsten. Yes, answered prayer, definitely.
      Don’t you worry, I won’t apologize for being honest in my poetry. Raw emotion makes for really great poems.
      🙂

      • Raw emotion really does. Look at all the Psalms…pure raw emotion. One if the things I encourage our clients to do is to write the Lord a Psalm expressing every emotion they are feeling – good or bad. It’s amazing what happens when they do that!!

Leave a Reply

