Take Me Deeper


Take Me Deeper

My word for 2015 is ‘CREATE’. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while now, you already know that ‘create’ has been a strong word in my life for the past couple of months. I really want to do it all: poetry, song writing, photography, mixed-media art, design, etc. I have joined a new on-line faith-based community called ‘His Kingdom Come‘, and am excited about growing in various art forms. I have been asked to be the lead moderator for the poetry group, which will allow me to continuously challenge myself to grow and produce quality content.

Take Me Deeper Journal Cover w caption

The above photo is the journal cover I created for this journal. The girl is also wearing black shoes, but you can’t see them here. I haven’t completely finished it yet, but will work on it here and there. I hope to have a book full of creative works that I have produced by the end of the year.

Do you have any New Year’s resolutions? Do you have a word that is strong on your heart for 2015?


Just a quick note to say that I will be sooooo busy until mid-March. My family and I are moving from north-east Brazil to the south-east, so we will be packing up all week. Then we will take a mini-vacation to the beach in Porto Seguro, just to come back and prepare to move. Apart from all this, I will also be starting to home school our oldest, who has Asperger’s syndrome (school year starts in February here) and will be unable to read or comment much. Then my mom is coming from Canada for a month in February. If you write me a comment (and I loooooovvvvveeee your comments) I will reply, but it may take me some time.

 

46 thoughts on “Take Me Deeper

  1. A great word to pick. I think your word might be mine as well. Good luck with the move and everything else this year! Have a wonderful day. Always enjoy your posts.

    • Ohhhhhh YEAH Benjamin. I’m so glad we have the same word. Can’t wait to read your work this year. If you notice that I haven’t entered your blog to read any new posts, please let me know. I really don’t want to miss yours okay.
      Thank you so much, my friend.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  2. 2015 looks to be quite eventful for you, Staci! Will the move mean that your local temperatures will be a little cooler? Take care, my friend. I hope that your new home and location will be wonderful! πŸ’—πŸ’—πŸ’—

    • Very eventful Rob. I’m a little daunted. I think this mini vacation will be much needed. First to recuperate after all the packing and second to rest up for the big whirlwind ahead of me.
      It won’t be much cooler. However, where I will be living is surrounded by trees, a late and hills, so that’s very helpful.
      Thanks so much Rob.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  3. Oh, I looooove that journal cover!! πŸ™‚ You are so talented!! πŸ™‚ I love the word create! πŸ™‚ It is so positive! πŸ™‚ I am so looking forward to seeing your amazing creations!! πŸ™‚ ❀

    • You bless me Trini. Thank you so much for such an encouraging comment. I also love that word, ‘create’ There is something magical that happens with the creative process, don’t you think?
      Thank you again Trini, sooooo much.
      πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Ohhhh, I couldn’t have said it better myself Trini. This is such a true statement. That’s exactly what I want to do – carry my creations with me out into the world.
        πŸ™‚ ❀

  4. Amen and amen. Oh yes, yes, yes, take me deeper into your loving presence, Jesus, the lover of my soul!!! Love this post and your journal mixed media. You are off to a great start in a creative new year, and I hope I’m right behind you. Love you. Thanks for all the prayers of late. I got a cortisone shot in my knee today and am hopeful the morrow will find it better even if I do have the worst migraine I’ve had in years. N ❀

    • Awwww, thank you so much Natalie. I’m so glad you ‘love’ this post and the mixed media. I’m trying. I’m sure that you will produce wonderfully creative stuff this year too.
      You’re more than welcome for the prayer, N. That’s where the power is, right. But hey – migraines? That doesn’t sound very fun at all. I had horrible migraines during both of my pregnancies. Are the migraines from the cortisone shots?
      Blessings πŸ™‚ ❀

      • You are so welcome. I hope that we both have a very creative year! Staci, when I turned 25 I started having headaches every day and at least two or three a week were full blown migraines. This went on for decades. Then sometimes in my 50’s a doctor started me on a medicine that for the most part stopped most of the headaches. However as it turned out that med may have been what led to my stroke in 2012. After that they started me on a different med that has worked very 99% percent of the time. However, once in a while for whatever reason one of them breaks out. It could have been the cortisone shot yesterday and/or something I ate as some foods seem to trigger my migraines. The one yesterday was the worst one since my stroke but other than a little nagging one in the back of my consciousness it’s leaving thankfully. Hugs, N ❀

      • Oh my goodness. That does not sound fun at all Natalie. My grandmother also suffered with migraines. I never have. Only during the pregnancies. That makes me thin that it was hormonal for me.
        I wonder why you, and others, suffer from them.
        So sorry to hear of your sufferings N. Really.
        Love and hugs.
        πŸ™‚ ❀

  5. well your deeper poem seems like it would be a great song….
    and the new group sounds really fun – and I like your word of the year.

    I know some folks do not like setting goals or they have moved away from resolutions – but still – this time of a new year can be so awesome for planning and just new focus and well – my aims? one big one – body alignment – I have been slacking on my yoga since early March – argh – and I have been working out )treadmill/bike) but need to stretch and just want to improve posture –
    anyhow, happy new year and may you “create” great things in 2015 ❀

    • You think so? Who knows, maybe one day it will be a song.
      Yes, the new group is going to be great for me to constantly be challenged to grow.
      Haha, my word of the year. You know, I’m not a resolutions person, nor word person. Buttttt, this word, ‘create’ has been so strong for me over the past few months – plus with this new online creative community – I decided to go with it (there’s a group working on their ‘words’ within this community).
      Your goal sounds great too. I think I need to be doing the same thing. I constantly have shoulder, neck and upper back tension and pain. The problem is that I think it comes from the way I sleep. I know all about stretching and pilates and all, being I used to teach physical conditioning classes, and incorporated pilates in them. Hmmmmmmm.
      Anyhow, happy 2015 to you as well Prior.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

      • thanks for the new year;s wishes – and argh – the thing about yoga (and pilates and “callanetics” -) and working out in general – is just getting into the habit – right?
        and my word this year – well it might be “go” – ha! lol
        anyhow, that totally felt like a song – or maybe it is just cos I know you sing and that filters what I see…

      • Hahahaha. Well, getting into the habit with working out is not that difficult for me. I’m addicted. Did you know that exercise can be considered a healthy addiction. I just can’t give it up. I feel so cruddy if I do.
        Hahaha, yes, ‘GO’ is a great word. Like, “Just do it”, right?
        Thanks Prior.
        πŸ™‚
        p.s. What is ‘y’ for in ‘yprior1’?

  6. Wow! Wonderful cover for your journal. I think ‘create’ is the perfect word for you, Staci! I think your poem would make a beautiful song. When do you start moderating? I hope you are feeling better. We will keep you in our prayer basket! I look forward to all the wonderful creations you will create in 2015. I think I might make a journal as well!! I like that idea πŸ™‚

    • A song? You think? You’re the second person that’s said that. Who knows. Maybe one day it will be. πŸ™‚
      I started moderating some time back actually. I think the beginning of December. They’re actually hoping to find other moderators for the writing group, if you’re interested at all. As for me, I can only do the poetry and song writing thing. No fiction or prose for this girl πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      THank you so much for your prayers. REally. They’re so appreciated.
      Ya, you should make a journal. I’ve never been one for a regular journal, but this year I’m going for it. Same with the word thing. Hehehe. But ‘create’ has been such a strong word that I can’t just let it go.
      πŸ™‚

    • Awwwww, thanks Diana. I’m just a newbie. Trying to figure things out in the mixed-media world. Soooo much to learn, and so little time. But yes, just like you said, ‘onward and upward’.
      How has the return to homeschooling been going?
      πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Guess why I posted?! Many of the families were so sick so we postponed meeting one wk!!!! LOL. Can’t believe you’re blogging on vacay. Tsk Tsk.

        (I crown you V.I.P. blogger.)

      • Hahahaha, I’m not on vacation until Sunday. At the moment I’m just packing. My house looks like a bomb went off right now.
        Ahhhhhh, that’s great you have another week off. You must be sooooo happy.
        πŸ™‚

      • “My house looks like a bomb went off.” Well, I have no excuse. πŸ˜›

        I’m just glad for the breather to be able to get back to responders. Am quite behind on that. And I don’t remember if I mentioned it but we do school year-round. It’s just our group mtg that’s on break. We did some school through the holidays and he did his math on the way to the beach, his last bday. I decided an education’s the best gift I could give him. LOL!

      • Love it D. No, I didn’t know that actually. I imagined it was the group thing on break, but I didn’t know about the year round thing.
        I tried to continue reading in English with Caue, but he knows it’s summer, and being an Aspie, he’s all about classification. Ugh. I’m telling you, it is really a challenge with Aspergers.
        πŸ™‚

      • so pretty πŸ™‚ Much love to your project!
        I am finishing up a journal book to go along with my book of healing thoughts I published recently. That was quite the project. Lots of love poured out though.. I wish the same for you. ❀

  7. You have a LOT going on there, my friend! I got tired just reading that all. ha ha. You’ll have to “create” some space for yourself and your art to keep some perspective while everything whirls around you these next few weeks. Deep breathes, pen to paper, brush to canvas, finger to piano/guitar. Prayers. I think Create is a blessed word, and I think it goes beyond the obvious craft of expression. I think we can express things in our lives in a creative way, regardless of the method. Even how we express our love to God can be done in so many creative ways.

    Thank you for sharing this and all that you share of yourself. I wish you the best in this new phase of your life there in big Brazil!! Safe travels!

    Paul

  8. Beautiful poetry as always Traci ! and all the best with the move and everything else that is happening in your life right now …I am sure you will be a great teacher to your daughter …Much love to you always! ❀ ❀ Will await your proper return in March πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But hope you can still stop by now and then before that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Big Hugs!

    • Awww, thanks Neha. You’re sweet. Actually, my daugher will be in school. It’s my son that has Asperger’s Syndrome and hates school. Poor guy. He has hyper-sensitive hearing and freaks out with the noisy school.
      Of course I’ll be stopping by. How could I possibly not. I’m hooked to WP and all my lovely blogging buddies, like you.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  9. TRUST is my word for 2015. I trust in the universe that whatever happens, happens for a reason, I will also learn to trust myself and to trust more in my abilities. I want to let more people into my heart, I want to trust more easily and stop building walls of steel around me. πŸ™‚

    • Hey there. Great word. Opening up, being vulnerable, can be a very difficult thing to do. However, it can also be very freeing. Sometimes we think we’re protecting ourselves when we build these walls. Like armor. However, we all miss the many awesome blessings that come from letting people in. And that’s what we were made for, right? For relationship, connectivity and community. Without it, life is sad.
      Kudos to you, my friend. May 2015 be a year of great advancements and opening up, and learning how to trust.
      πŸ™‚

  10. Year 2015 is certainly going to be a colourful and creative one for you! Beautiful poem and drawing! I am looking forward to see your creative arts πŸ™‚
    I don’t have specific resolution this year, just hope that it will be a good and positive one πŸ™‚ Best wishes Staci!

    • Thanks so much Indah. I’m so glad you liked the poem and art. I really am hoping for a growth in creativity this year. The only problem is that I want to do too much, and i’m not willing to give up on any of the areas :-). We’ll see what happens.
      I hope you have a great and positive year too.
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

