Heart Change


Heart Change

Life is all about making choices. It’s also about living in the moment, because that’s all we really have. We need to notice the beauty in moments. Even the tough ones. One thing I’ve learned is that I amΒ constantly changing, growing, learning and transforming. The other thing I’ve noticed is that it’s not of my own doing. I look to someone higher and greater than me for that transformation.

I’ve also learned that I don’t need to believe and accept what popular culture preaches. Actually, a lot of it I reject. This post I wrote a while back is an example of that. I used to believe so much, just because of what society and popular culture preaches. Allowing truth and light to enter my heart and mind, to transform me, to fashion me, to change me, and to heal me has been revolutionary. The great thing is that it hasn’t stopped. This tranformation is continual and will continue until the day I die.

Do you notice the beauty in moments, even the hard ones? Do you allow yourself to learn through life experience? What are your views on society and culture, and it’s effects on your thinking and actions?

50 thoughts on “Heart Change

  1. I find myself rejecting most of the pablum that the mainstream media pushes. How we’ve arrived at a place and time that is enamored with stories about Kim Kardashian is beyond me. I’d rather watch cartoons with my kids than that junk. I’ve learned to research news stories as well, and not take one sides view as absolute. If you read deeply enough, you’ll find varied viewpoints on everything from politics to global warming. I try to find the facts, and eliminate the editorial comments. Did I drift far enough away from your question? πŸ˜€ I try to instill this critical thinking to my kids. Don’t accept things as ‘truth’ unless you’ve taken the time to find out the truth. Intellectual laziness has its consequences.

    • Hahaha. I like that Rob, ‘pablum’.
      No, you didn’t drift far away from the question. Of course not. I love a good conversation.
      That’s awesome that you instill critical thinking into your kids. That way they’ll grow up to not just accept anything that’s being shoved at them.
      Love that @ ‘intellectual laziness has its consequenses’
      Argh, it’s after 11:00pm and tomorrow I’m off bright and early to the beach. YEAH!
      See you on Friday (I think)
      πŸ™‚

  2. Very thought provoking dear Staci! I love the art…the poem…and not the least…your post! It is something I feel as well….this learning…accepting…changing….healing. It has been such a wonderful blessing to be aware of my LIFE! Before, I think I also did a bit of conforming or at least I cared a little about what everybody else thought. Now…I am true to the inner soul of my being…and it feels so right. I know of what you speak…it feels right to me!!! Much love to you my friend…I wish you a beautiful weekend full of kindness and strength!! ❀ ❀

    • Thank you so much Lorrie. I’m so glad you enjoyed this post. I know that you are definitely one that is aware of life and moments. Wonderful. I think we are all guilty of ‘conforming’ at one time or another.
      As for me, I’m off to the beach bright and early in the morning for a mini-vacay. Yeah! It will be nice to disconnect for a few days and enjoy time with my family.
      Love and blessings.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  3. The poem is just amazing Staci. Happy to read about the growing and transformation. Yes, present moments are the only moments we have. However damn hard the present moments be, they still carry a beautiful message..a wonderful experience. Society and culture was there ..it is and it will be always but one should not be limited with that being around. Agree that society influences us immensely but to accept the influence or reject it solely depends upon our inner thought. Nothing is bad…there is always some goodness even in the bad. Go with what nourishes your soul and steer clear from that makes your soul sick.
    Stay Blessed!

    • Oh yes. Great advice Reva. I will make sure that I steer clear from what makes my soul sick.
      I’m so glad you liked the poem sweetie. And hey, welcome back. You’ve been missed, my friend. You disappeared for a while. I hope you are well.
      It is very late right now, and I’m off on a mini-vacay to the beach bright and early tomorrow morning. Will be away for 5 days. Yeah! Hmmmm, I’m wondering if I’ll be able to stay sane disconnected from the blogosphere for that long. Eek.
      See you in a week.
      Love and blessings. πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Thank you cutie pie. Yes..was on a long break. Happy to know about your sweet lil vacation. Enjoy your time and stay peaceful.
        Come back with renewed spirit…and ofcourse good pics and inspiration. πŸ™‚
        Love and Hugs! πŸ™‚

      • Thanks Reva. We had a great time. Definitely a renewal time. Now we have house guests until tomorrow, then more packing and moving next week. Soooooo busy. Glad we had a short break. It was needed I think.
        Love and hugs to you sweetie.
        πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: » Heart Change

  5. Beautifully said. I think we all should go through a couple of heart changes throughout our lifetimes. It gives us the perspective we often miss at first. Hope you’re having a nice Friday!

  6. Hi Staci,

    Yes, life is about making choices and one of the best choices we can make is to live in the here and now. Many try to wiggle out of a difficult spot by living in the past or by projecting into the future.

    Another wise choice is to follow your heart. Regardless what society or your family says about what to believe or not, you heart will lead you only if you’re practicing self honestly.

    Great reminder!

    • Hi Vernon. Thank you so much for sharing here. I agree about needing to live now. Notice our moments. Take in beauty. And not look to the future that may never come, nor lick past wounds.
      Bless you.
      πŸ™‚

  7. Hi Staci, love everything around here, the poem, the photo, and the text. Living the moment and always learning, adapting, transforming, all parts of nature. Popular culture ( I don’t watch TV and I’m very selective with what I read and listen) and men rules can’t dictate what is right or wrong, we need to find out ourselves, and nature is the best teacher.

    • Ohhh, thank you so much Elizabeth. Actually, the photo I took a few weeks ago just outside my house. This amazing moth was just sitting there. Then my hubby taught me some stuff in photo shop. It was my first PS project.
      I’m so glad you ‘loved’ it.
      I watch very little TV too. Especially the junk.
      I’m off to the beach bright and early tomorrow. YEAH! Mini-vacay for me and my family.
      Hope you have a great week.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  8. hi dear Staci. popularity is only a tiny fraction of the universe of things that are great. tony

  9. Few days ago I had participated in Traditional Day…as India is diverse in culture…we were supposed to pick up any culture…and wear their traditional attire and prepare a special cuisine of their culture…the conclusion which I drawn at the end of the event…every culture is unique and beautiful in its own way…every society has it’s pros and cons…we should try to learn something good and valuable from every culture & society πŸ™‚

    • “every culture is unique and beautiful in its own way…every society has it’s pros and cons…we should try to learn something good and valuable from every culture & society”
      –Yes, yes, and yes Aarya. So true. I agree.

      So sorry for the late reply. We were on vacation for a few days, which was much needed.

      Thank you for enriching the conversation here.

      πŸ™‚

  10. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. You are a living example of what that Scripture means, Staci. Never stagnate, continuing to be renewed and transformed. For me, that’s what butterflies represent. So it seems the perfect choice that the picture that accompanies this poem is a butterfly!!
    Hope you are enjoying your vacation!!!

    • Awwww, thanks so much Kirsten. What a sweet thing to say.
      And yes, butterflies do seem to really represent transformation eh. Like the caterpillar turning into the butterfly within the cocoon.
      We had an awesome vacation. I’ll post some photos soon.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Im so glad that you had a wonderful vacation. I know you needed that break. I look forward to seeing the photos!! Btw i tried my hand at doing an actual sketch. No photoshop, just me and my pencil. It was quite fun. You inspired me with all your mixed media art :-). Welcome back and you were definitely missed!

      • Oh great. That’s so awesome. Have you posted it. I’m on my way over to your blog to check it out (if it’s there). πŸ™‚

      • Its on my Kirsten Aufhammer blog on Thursday’s post. There is one post with just the pic and then there is one with thebpoem it inspired πŸ™‚

  11. “All given freely, laid down willingly, body, soul, all of me…” Beautiful and eloquent!
    I think in this line – you have encompassed all the philosophy ever laid down in this world Staci! This very surrender is all that is needed to transcend all the egoic barriers erected by this world.

    • Thank you so much Anjali. You are so sweet. And what a great comment you made.
      Sorry for the late reply. I was on vacation. It was great. Brazilian beaches, sunshine, heat, family, no commitments. Ahhhhhh.
      πŸ™‚

      • Wow sounds like fun! Am away in India too – visiting my parents and family and its time now to get back and am feeling the pinch 😦

Leave a Reply

