Jar of Clay – Etheree


jar of clay 2

I saw the most amazing photo of a life-like sculpture yesterday.

6fb9370ed505552169dd195c2f84a271

Sam Jinks sculpture. Not a painting…not a photo… But an incredibly life-like sculpture.

Isn’t this an amazing photo? It makes me think about the cycle of life. We come into it as a tiny baby, live a ton of experiences, strive for eternal youth, but it’s no use. Sooner or later we all reach the winter of our lives and all of us have the same mortal destiny. We come into this world a little baby naked and we leave it naked.

I believe that the body is just like this jar of clay. It simply houses me. This jar is functional and serves a purpose. Along the way, in it’s fragility, it chips and cracks as it experiences the bumps of life. The beautiful thing though, is that God has made a way for me to shine. Within me, he has placed His very self, which is an eternal treasure that doesn’t waste away and decay. A treasure that daily fulfills and transforms me into something that meshes with this treasure.Β When this jar has served its purpose ,and who I am is released from it’s hold – ahhhhhhhhh – now that’s freedom.

Do you ever consider the cycle of life and how brief and fragile it really is?


The Etheree poetry form consists of ten lines. Each line has a syllable count as one higher than the line before – 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10

I have just returned from an amazing mini-vacation in Porto Seguro, Bahia, Brazil. It was an amazing four days. I will post some photos soon. I will be packing up the rest of our stuff and moving south this week. Busy times. It may take me a while to respond to any comments.

45 thoughts on “Jar of Clay – Etheree

  1. I love this ❀️ the picture you used is perfect and your imagery…superb Traci 😊❀️

    • Hi May. It seems like it’s been so long since I’ve been here on WordPress. I was on a mini-vacation. Nothing beats rest, relaxation, sun, warmth and a Brazilian beach :-).
      Thank you so much for your kind words. Isn’t that just the best picture? Can you believe that it’s a sculpture? It looks like real people, doesn’t it?
      Hope you’re doing well.
      Hugs.
      πŸ™‚ ❀
      p.s. just to let you know, my name is actually Staci. No worries though. Just saying. πŸ™‚

      • I should have my eyes checked… And re-read before pressing reply 😱😱
        So sorry
        I’m glad your vacation was fun and relaxing 😊
        And yes I agree that the sculpture looks almost alive
        Big hugs Staci ❀️

  2. That is amazing! So lifelike! Yes, the cycle of life is fragile and frail, yet eternal at the same time. Safe travels during your move, Staci! I look forward to photos of your vacation.

    Rob

      • It must be difficult to move. I know that when I had moved in the past, it was bittersweet. So many wonderful memories associated with my old home, but it was like leaving a childhood friend. My heart was heavy, yet the promise of a new home, a new life, and new adventures soon won me over. I sincerely wish the best for you and your family in your new home.

        Take care, my friend….

        Rob

  3. Yes, I do think about that. I first started thinking about that when I was 4. It made me think that I didn’t want to spend my life collecting things, and rather spend my life giving what I had inside me to the world, so I taught myself to read and write and decided to become a writer! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    4 years later, when I was 8, I started publishing poems in the local newspapers about how we were all unique πŸ™‚ Hihihihi πŸ˜€ (I used the metaphor of snowflakes! πŸ™‚ hihihihiihi )

    I love your poem very much and I love that photo too! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Lots of ❀ ❀ ❀ to you! πŸ™‚

    • Ohhhhhhh Trini, I’m so sorry. I must have gotten all caught up in the crazyness of my life right now that I somehow missed this.
      That is so awesome how you were only four, and having such mature thoughts. And you taught yourself how to read and write? Wow. I’m impressed. And publishing poems at eight years of age? I’m blown away Trini. That is very impressive.
      Thank you so much for your sweet words and for appreciating my poem.
      And tons of ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ ❀ to you too sweetie.
      πŸ™‚

  4. I must admit Staci, this is one of most wonderful picture I have seen. Yes, the miracle of the cycle of life, so mystical and so magical. It is very brief and fragile, we have to balance the certainty and the uncertainty, the sweet and the sour, the beauty and the ugly, the good and the bad…a very interesting paradox many times so intriguing.

    The analogy of jar of clay…we all have a role to play and we may not always like the role we play but life has its own ways of embracing the body and the soul plays it beautiful role…yes, there is no difference when we are a baby and when we are old, we almost behave the same…our activities alike, perhaps that’s how our life and living are designed to be…

    All said and done, our life is really beautiful and cheers for the beautiful thoughts and a real beautiful picture…kudos to you
    πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Nihar. πŸ™‚ Yes, I couldn’t resist posting that picture. Can you believe that it’s just a sculpture and not real people. It looks so life-like.
      Ah yes, the cycle of life. Like the Bible verse that says, “From dust we were made, to dust we will become.”
      Yes, life is beautiful. We must soak up our moments.
      πŸ™‚

      • Yes Staci, couldn’t believe it is a sculptor, just magical…sometime an art makes us think deep and inspires us to do great things in life…
        Cycle of life, yes…dust we are made and dust we will become, so much true…life’s beauty is what defines our existence.
        πŸ˜€

  5. This reminds me of something I read in Unglued by Lysa Terkurts (sp?) – she talks about how Michalangelo carved out ‘David’….. and how God carves us out- that we are all a work of art inside- a masterpiece that has not yet reached perfections and in those tough times we need to just remember that God is still chiseling; still working on us -as a way to help us forgive ourselves for our own imperfections and to just continue making progress.

    • Oh yes, I’ve read about that book. Actually, I read the first chapter, and liked it. It was offered for free on the Proverbs 31 website. I have thought that for a while now – that we are works of art. Have you ever heard the song, Poiema, from Michael Card? He goes into this too.
      πŸ™‚

  6. I LOVE your artwork behind the lovely words of your poem, Staci. You are just so darn talented!!! And the sculpture…WOW! It looks life like. I think Joyce Meyer says that, “we are cracked pots that God shines His light through!” I always liked that. It’s almost as good as Beth Moore’s comment about “deviled ham,” when talking about the possessed pigs in the Bible! lol Will be praying about your packing and move!

    • Awwwwww, this comment makes me smile. Thank you so much Kirsten. I’m so glad you like it. I had an idea in my head of what I wanted to do, buy then I just couldn’t get a good background going. THen I decided to go with all black, and then add splashes of light and yellow. Anyhow, I thought it worked.
      Thanks so much for praying Kirsten. My house looks like a bomb went off at the moment. It’s so much work. Argh. We leave super early Saturday morning. Like 4:30 early. Eek.
      Thanks again.
      πŸ™‚

      • Actually, it got moved for tomorrow. Definitely will let you know how it goes. πŸ™‚ Oh, could you please pray that God would open the doors for us to get into the apartment that we were told we would have? The people who are suppose to be moving haven’t left yet, and we don’t know when they are going to. My mom arrives on Feb 11th and I’m a bit worried about this. Thanks Kirsten.
        πŸ™‚

      • That is understandable that you are concerned especially with your mom coming!! I will be praying. What time tomorrow are you all moving?

      • About 4 or 4:30 am. It’s because we want to see how far we can get right at the beginning of our 11-12 hour drive, with as little traffic as possible.
        Thanks Kirsten. I have to confess I’m totally worried right now. The couple that are in the apartment that we are suppose to move to have shown no signs of moving yet (or at least, as far as I know).
        Thanks again.
        πŸ™‚

      • The apartments are on the actual YWAM Base. Just found out that they aren’t leaving the base anymore. However, they will be moving to a different spot on the base, but I think they’ll renovate that spot first. Sooooo, who knows when they’ll move. The good news is that there’s an old orphanage at the base that’s not being used anymore that they’ve recently redone. It has furniture and is nice, so they say. We can stay there as long as we need, until something comes up that suits our needs. God is in control. Let’s see what He has for us.
        Thanks again Kirsten.
        πŸ™‚

      • I know what He has for you will be good! It might even be better than you hoped for! He likes to do that :-). I will continue to keep you in my thoughts and prayers during this process. It can be hard when are plans are suddenly changed and we feel ike we are in limbo!! The old orphange sounds neat! Im glad you can stay there as long as you need!!

  7. Beautiful poem and imagery, Staci. and welcome back!
    I abused my body quite a bit with my boozy days, so I didn’t have much respect for that clay. I believe that our bodies are meant to house our spirit, and it’s up to us to do what we can to ensure that vessel is healthy. Doesn’t have to be all dolled up all the time or cut / buff, and it can be, but that’s not the focus. I am finding more and more the mind-body-spirit connection is a strong and holy one. Best to do to honour it in all ways.

    thanks for this…and nice to see you back πŸ™‚

    Paul

    • Awwww, thanks Paul. I’m not really back actually. Well, I’m back from vacation, but I’m so incredibly busy with our big move south that I’m a bit out of whack. I loooooovvvvveeee routine, and that’s flown out the window at the moment. My mom is coming Feb 11 and will be here for a month. Sooooo, that means no routine for this girl until mid-March. Anyhow, I’m not going to be too active here until it’s all wound down.
      I totally agree with what you said Paul. All of it.
      Bless you and hugs.
      πŸ™‚

  8. Life is certainly brief and fragile and I’m reminded of that everyday. Already we are halfway through the year and everyday, time flies by. Lately I am learning to stop and smell the roses, appreciate nature, and focus on activities and things which have meaning to me πŸ™‚

    • Oh my gosh, I’m so with you Crystal. Me too. I started having memories from my childhood and adolescence, and they seemed like yesterday. Time really does fly by sooooooo fast. We need to focus on what is really, truly important.
      You keep drinking in your moments. Those are what really count.
      Thanks Crystal.
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

