Blood


Nothing but the blood

Can you imagine a body without blood? Kind of a strange question, isn’t it?

This week I was reading the lyrics to an old hymn, “Nothing but the blood of Jesus”. I’m not a big fan of old hymns, but in the past few months, this hymn has struck a chord with me. Mainly because I was questioningΒ certain aspects of my faith.

I decided to do some research in google on the ‘whys’ of blood and it’s function. Did you know that blood is absolutely essential for life? It carries water, nutrients, proteins and hormones to the parts of our body that need them. It also carries carbon dioxide, toxins and waste along so they can be disposed of. Without blood we can’t keep warm, nor cool off. Blood helps fight infection, bacteria and viruses too.

If you are not of the same worldview as me, you may not be able to fully appreciate how there seems to be a strong analogy between the physical and the spiritual here. I find it fascinating, and quite revelatory.

If you’re interested, this is a great version of the song by Sarah Hart Pearsons.

Have you ever thought about the complexity of the human body, and how it’s different systems work?

57 thoughts on “Blood

  1. Oh my, Staci, that poem is one of your very best! And I loved the graphic you used to write it on. The whole post gave me chill bumps just thinking about Christ’s blood washing over me, running through me, cleansing me o my sins, and then being the offering that grants me salvation!!! Absolutely loved this one! πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Oh wow, what a beautiful thing to say Natalie. Thank you so much for the kind words and encouragement. You made my night. That graphic I created in Picmonkey. Picmonkey has a ‘vampire’ graphics section and I just simply chose a few of the ‘blood’ graphics on a white canvas. I’m so glad you like it.
      I find it amazing how there are such similarities between ‘physical’ blood (it’s functions and our extreme need for it) and His blood. Don’t you think it seems like such a precise analogy?
      Have a great weekend, my friend and many blessings.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

    • You’re so awesome Benjamin. You really do encourage me. And I’m not just saying that. Thank you so much for relating your appreciation for how miraculous and awesome it is the way in which our bodies work.
      Have a super awesome weekend, my friend.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Ohhhhh, lovely Lorrie. I totally agree with you. They are so incredibly complex and intrinsically constructed. I find it very difficult to not believe in intelligent design. And not just for the human body, but for all of creation.
      I loooooooovvvvvvveeeee how you think about this ‘just about every day’.
      Love and blessings to you, my sweet friend.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  2. Staci, a beautiful poem. I find the cascade of thought so fascinating. Here, you have touched on it, β€œold hymns”, β€œfaith”, and the β€œwhys of blood”, resulting in research, how wonderful. I find your poem and commentary so touching. Lovely as always!

    Warm wishes,
    Pepperanne

  3. Actually, we learned the science fact (below) this year (which means I did, bc I’m learning right alongside). And to help him memorize it, I set it in a jazz tune (that begged a red dress swaying by the piano).

    “What are the major purposes of blood? Transportation, protection, communication, and to regulate temperature.” =) I appreciate where you took this, S. Which is what you’re about here. Truly is amazing, the sacrament (visible sign of an invisible reality) that our body is. And congrats on the 1000 follows. =)

    Xxxx
    D.

    • Love it. The red dress saying by the piano. I can picture it even. That’s funny that you set it to a song. I’ve done that with C before too.
      Oh, I didn’t even know I had 1000 followers. Thanks for letting me know. That’s great. I feel like I’m all over the place these days with trying to get accustomed to homeschooling (did I ever tell you that I’m the most unorganized person in the world?), not being settled in my own home, and living in a community setting again. I haven’t had the time to check stats and stuff.
      Thanks for the encouragement D.
      πŸ™‚

      • I’d mentioned it before. Classical Conversations. Rigorous prog but you can go as deeply or stay as light as you want. It is still richer than what he’d get in the schools if you go the bare minimum. Missionaries and military families outside the U.S. use the curriculum, too. You use your own math and lg arts curriculum. Actually, you may commented on the post We Underestimate the Human Brain where I showcase a sample of their memory work.

      • There are families who just purchase the curricula and support, and use them independently even if or because there is no CC community near (and there’s great affordable online support as well, cc connected, with visual aids, etc and songs moms have made up. I’ve loaded some of my tunes). The rest of us find a community so very helpful. Our own group has kids with learning disabilities and challenges. They stay at their own comfortable level. The sheer exposure of the history and everything alone is breathtaking. I love it bc I don’t have to reinvent the wheel. A God-centered perspective on human history and all the subjects has been mapped out for me to simply follow. To music. =) *jig and a jog*

        http://holisticwayfarer.com/2014/04/16/we-underestimate-the-human-brain/

        And we pay something like $6/semester to access the Foundations material.

        https://www.classicalconversations.com/connected

      • Oh yes, I googled it and read it again. Sounds interesting. I’ll have to check out this link you sent. Thanks D.
        πŸ™‚

  4. Beautifully written Stacy, you remind us the essence of life that part of our body and as well soul. Thank you for sharing your wonderful work and beautiful song!

  5. Yes, I’ve often wondered about the complexity of our body, as well as the complexity of the universe we live in and always come to the same conclusion – life was no accident. Wonderful post, Staci, it’s wonderful to read your posts once again.

  6. Wonderful interpretation Staci…yes, we indeed take our body for granted. It is the most complex system nature has produced and the more we think over it, the more we release how lucky we all human beings are…in heart of the matter is the blood, it dose so many functions and how our life is a direct function of the functioning of the blood and it’s flow.
    Such a beautiful lyrics, it can only do justice to the importance of blood.
    Thanks so much for sharing such a nice perspective….
    πŸ˜€

  7. No question, there is a strong analogy between the physical and the spiritual, otherwise we wouldn’t be here. Great poem, thanks for sharing.

    • Heyyyyyy Prior. Great to hear from you. I don’t know why, but for some reason this video is not available. I tried three times to watch it and it just comes up as unavailable.
      How are you anyhow?
      πŸ™‚

      • Well I think there are countries some vids are not available in – but maybe later you can look it up – Charlie Hall is one of my favs. and maybe you should do a version of this song (with your wonderful voice <3)
        and things here are good – March is usually one of our most packed months – and so just trucking along and enjoying it too – have a nice day and welcome back ❀

      • Oh, I will have to do a youtube search to see if I can find it. Maybe someone else has uploaded it as well.
        Awwwww, thank so much. What a nice thing to say. You never know, maybe one day I will do a version of it. πŸ™‚
        You have a great Sunday. I’m heading over to your blog now to see what you’ve been up to.
        πŸ™‚

      • I will try and find a different version too – and thanks for saying you’ll be dropping by – no hurry – πŸ™‚ – and most of my posts this month have been photos from a recent Florida trip. I have loved it – and I experimented with some street photography and really got some nice pics – but I am a little burned out with posting about Florida and so after the next two I will be close that folder. I can still dabble into the pics I took – but I am making two final posts so I can finish the project part of the photos – πŸ™‚

      • πŸ™‚ Actually, I went right to your blog after I wrote this comment, but thanks to the internet connection here, it was taking forever to download the photos. I read through the post, but hadn’t seen the photos yet. Then yesterday we had a huge storm and our internet provider’s tower was blown off by heavy winds. Soooo, yes, I noticed that you went to Florida. The post is still open on my computer, but I will comment on it over at your blog.
        πŸ™‚

      • well I am honored dear Stacilys – and take your time – also, I wonder if I should include smaller images into the post – like I wonder if others have a difficult time downloading. hm – i think I will check on that – anyhow, I have part 2 (and the final) ybor city post coming today or tomorrow – and a dedication to a girl who went missing from ybor city and when I was there the news showed her parents releasing a dove in her memory – I guess she was found submerged in a car – anyhow, sorry to have such heavy news – but here is the thing that bugged me – it turns out it was related to DUI – but they said they do not want to release that because it will interfere with other tips that might poor in related to suspicious activity. I kinda get it – but it is never okay to hold back that info because we all need to see the damage of drinking and driving… anyhow, that has been on my mind this week…

      • The photo thing is probably just because of our connection.
        Oh my, that doesn’t sound very good. I agree, it isn’t good to hold back info like that. Those poor parents. Are they suspecting that she was the one DUI or that she was the victim?
        πŸ™‚

      • well i will have to share more later – it is extremely sad – she drove into a lake. normally the lake access is closed off because I guess it look alike a driveway and someone said when you drive by it you cannot tell that it is lake access – and they say she was “turned around- or confused) – and even stopped her car for 50 minutes on the side of the road – and then when she started again, made the left instead of right – and well, so tragic. But I also was interested because when I was taking my photos at Ybor – I did not go too far from my cousin and mom – and a few times I felt the Holy Spirit kinda remind me to be alert and careful – because it is a party place – and it was a Saturday evening – so I was careful and kept checking in…. anyhow, here is the story

        http://www.wfla.com/story/28240339/investigators-suspected-apryl-foster-was-a-dui-public-not-told

        and I have prayed for her folks and parents a few times –
        have a nice day Stac

      • Oh, that is sad. That’s so great that you prayed for her parents. I read up a bit of the story. Thanks for sharing.
        πŸ™‚

      • I know – I feel so bad because it is another reminder about just saying no to driving if someone has been drinking. and my youngest just got his permit and one of the big “buzz words” now for teens is ‘don;t drive buzzed” – or driving while buzzed is still drinking and driving – and well, obrigado for your reply – have a good day ❀

      • Heyyyyyyy, you wrote in Portuguese. Hehehe. Here in Brazil there is zero tolerance now. Any level of alcohol in the system is considered diu.
        Bless you.
        πŸ™‚ ❀

      • and I like that zero tolerance – and come on now people – let’s just use common sense – use seat belts – don;t cheat on your spouse and don;t drink and drive…. lol

  8. Sadly, my blood seems to have forgotten that one of it’s jobs is to carry antibodies throughout the human body. I seem to have picked up the mother of all cold viruses this week. My blood also seems to have forgotten how to regulate my body’s temperature as well…

    Enough of my sickly moaning; I wanted to congratulate you on another excellent post, they leave me thinking long after I’ve finished reading it ❀

    • Oh noooooooo. My hubby too. He’s had a very sore throat and feels awful. He has to travel on Saturday to speak at a conference. Then he comes back on Monday. Hopefully he’s better by then. Hopefully you are too.
      Thank you so much for such nice words. I’m so glad you enjoyed it.
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

