A Meaningful Life (Cyhydedd Fer)


A Meaningful Life

Have you ever gotten stressed out or run down by all of your coming and going? Have you ever felt overwhelmed by all that you have to ‘do’? I have.

I have the amazing privilege of living in a place where my neighbours are monkeys, outside my front door is a coconut tree, and to the side of my house are various banana trees. I have been trying to learn a bit about photography on the weekends, and this photo is one I took of my neighbour. It makes me think about how we get so caught up in the busyness of life, that we forget about what it means to ‘live’.

Do you ever make a point of stepping back a bit to breathe? What do you consider ‘living’ to be (if that makes sense πŸ™‚ )?


The Cyhydedd Fer is a Welsh poetry form. It is a couplet of two lines, each having eight syllables and both rhyme.Β 

52 thoughts on “A Meaningful Life (Cyhydedd Fer)

  1. Excellent poem and post, Staci. I’m in one of those places right now. I feel like I’m being pulled in a million different directions right now. I’m cognizant of life whizzing past me and I do take the time to step back and regain perspective. For the answer to your question, I’ll quote Gordon Lightfoot:

    Now the thing that I call living is just being satisfied
    With knowing I got no one left to blame

    • Hahahaha. Me too. I love where I’m living now Lorrie. My mom thinks it’s like glorified camping, but it’s beautiful and tropical. I have more photos coming next week to go along with a 5 days/5photos with stories challenge that I was nominated for. There will be more monkeys, flowers, spiders, banana trees, and who-knows-what-else… πŸ™‚ I’m really enjoying getting to know more about photography.
      Thanks so much Lorrie, and many blessings and hugs to you.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

      • I’m so happy for you Staci! It is exciting to be somewhere new and to be able to go out and explore your environment with such passion!! πŸ˜‰ I look forward to your posts β™‘ Much love friend!

    • Isn’t it though? My new surroundings definitely give me the opportunity to appreciate nature and moments. Yeah! So glad you relate to this N.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  2. Beautiful words dear! I agree completely…
    Tough I live in a flat, I’m still surrounded by nature on all sides… thankfully we have a balcony where there a lot of coconut and banana trees and I love it there. Sometimes the beauty of the sun set captures my heart and makes me stare at my surrounding blankly… as if I’m just lost in some other world where there is only nature and me and the chirping birds and the setting sun… After such encounters with nature I feel full of energy (powerful to be exact.) As if I’ve just interacted directly with the Universe (because I’m a believer.)
    It’s nice to read your post Staci… I’ll just go now and hand around in my balcony for a few minutes now… hehe!
    Thanks for sharing this beautiful pic that you took… It’s great! πŸ™‚
    Have a glorious day dear!!! ❀

    • Ohhhhhh, wonderful. Oh yes, you live in India, right. Isn’t it awesome having such lush nature close by? There’s something truly magical about just taking some time to be in nature and breath and just appreciate the beauty. So renewing and invigorating. I also am a big fan of beautiful sunsets. I never used to pay much attention, but I do now. Noticing the little things that make up life are the truly valuable things.
      Thank you so much Heena for reading and appreciating, and for your kind words.
      Many blessings.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Here here to that Benjamin. That’s my view too. πŸ™‚
      Thank you so much for your sweet words. I’m so glad this resonated with you. I hope you’re getting some nice Spring weather, and enjoying a sunset or two.
      Have a great weekend.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

      • It’s been all rain for days now. No sun and getting cold again. But hopefully warm starting tomorrow. Thanks. I know you’re enjoying the weather down where you are. Have a great weekend also! Here to forgetting less too! πŸ™‚

      • Awwwww, I’m sorry to hear about the rain. I used to live in Vancouver, Canada so I am no stranger to days without sun. I get depressed. Here’s to a beautiful weekend with sun, warmth and fuzzy feelings, my friend.
        πŸ™‚

      • Vancouver is a very beautiful city.
        Benjamin, I have had the amazing priviledge to live and travel all over the world. Wonderful experiences that I wull treasure forever.
        πŸ˜€

  3. This great Staci! Love the monkey picture. I’m sooo jealous that you have a monkey as a neighbor :). Your poem packs a powerful punch in just 2 lines. And what a wonderful message. Xoxo

    • Hahaha. You’re jealous? I’m telling ya, you just have to get over your fear of flying and come for a visit. We can seek out monkeys, and if you’re lucky, we’ll even see a toucan bird. My mom got that opportunity when she was here.
      Thank you so much Kirsten. Oh, and by the way, I finally got around to writing a Tanaga. I’ll post it soon ok.
      πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve had a hectic couple of weeks and have spent most of this week in hotels and halfway across the country. I will then return home for two nights before spending another week away. It’s been busy and stressful, but the stress has been of the ‘good’ variety, if that makes sense.

    I’m very much looking forward to my four day break in a few weeks time! πŸ™‚

  5. So true Staci! I’ve been running around lately but it’s all wonderful stuff, time spent with friends and family when not working. Feeling blessed but also overwhelmed. Your home surroundings sound amazing and your neighbor’s cute!

    • Hahaha. Yes, spending time with friends and family is awesome, because moments are spent and relationships are nurtured. Soooo, that is a huge blessing, and part of nature as well.
      I know far too well what it feels like to be overwhelmed. I, myself have been overwhelmed a lot in the past few months. I’m thankful for these little moments to breathe and slow things down a bit. πŸ™‚
      Oh yes, my new surroundings are truly amazing. This little guy is just one of many. I even had the privilege of seeing a wild Toucan bird.
      Thank you so much.
      πŸ™‚

  6. Staci, you poem is brilliant and so right on. Do we get so caught up in the whirlwind of life, so much so that we forget to breathe? I think so. Your new life style sounds wonderful, what an amazing environment with nature all around you. Your poems, words and questions always offer much to think about, thank you! Please take good care, and enjoy your weekend!

    Warm wishes,
    Pepperanne β™₯

    • Heyyyyyy Pepperanne. So nice to hear from you, and thank you so much for your kind words and appreciation. I think I’m the one that’s forgetting to breathe today.
      I had a nice, yet busy weekend. Hope you had an amazing weekend.
      Take care,
      Staci

    • I love my little neighbours. I agree. Nature is a great way to rwlax and breathe. πŸ˜€
      I had a busy weekend, but nice, thanks Indah.
      πŸ˜€

  7. Hi Staci! I want to be you for a day. You live in paradise! πŸ˜€ Yes, I too overdo it sometimes and I get run down. I think living is being surrounded by people who genuinely love and care about you and living in peace. A simple life. I would love to live in a place full of nature and where monkeys are my neighbors, at least for a while. Thanks for reminding us about what’s really important. πŸ™‚ xx

    • Hahaha. Paradise? It definitely has it’s benefits here.
      I love what you said about living by being around people who love and care about you. Simple sounds perfect to me. The greatest things in life are the simple things, aren’t they.
      Thank you so much for such a lovely comment. If you ever made it to Brazil, you must stop by my part of it and visit our little neighbours.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  8. Yes, you are right Staci…we all get caught in the daily grind and forget to enjoy the little things in life and things which are close to us get majorly overlooked. You said your neighbors are monkey, that can be interpreted differently. But being close to nature and nurturing the beauty of nature is joy and life is beautiful when we are close to nature…in the whirlwind we forget what it means to live life.
    Lovely thoughts…
    πŸ˜€

  9. Your post made me think of Sreven Curtis Chapman’s song, More to this Life.
    Doesn’t everyone at some point ask this existential question? There’s a hole in our hearts longing to be filled….
    I need solitude every day or every few days to connect to my core, so I can truly live.

    • Hi Timi, so great to hear from you.
      I don’t know if I’ve hear that song. I’ll have to check it out on Youtube. But yes, I believe that everyone asks this question, at some point in their life. For me, it was at 19.
      I hear you about the solitude. I try to get it every morning, right after breakfast. Like you, I NEED it.
      Thanks for the great comment.
      I have been soooooo busy (I feel like a chicken without a head). I’m going to head over to your blog soon.
      πŸ™‚

  10. Hi Staci, nice neighbour! But are you in the jungle? Amazon? When I’m stressed with the busyness of the day I try to focus on the tiny moments, little things around me, registering with photos is a good way to relax.

    • Hi Elizabeth. Hahahaha. Nope. Not in the jungle, nor the Amazon. I live in a slightly rural area. We live on a mission’s base that is pretty big, and the area we live in is very hilly. Sooooo, that means there are hills and trees and flowers, a lake. My mom says it’s like glorified camping when she visits. Hahaha. Not really, but I’m used to it.
      Sooooo, there are tons of trees and there are mokeys, huge spiders, banana trees, coconut trees, all sorts of trees actually. We get big avocados, papayas, limes and the like. I’ve even seen a toucan a few times. Pretty cool eh.
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

