The Need


I forgot to put up the photo/poem so am reblogging. Oops

A God Colored Girl in a Grey World

The Need

You have made us for yourself, and our hearts are restless, until they can find rest in you.
~Augustine

I am very affected by climate changes. When itโ€™s sunny and warm, I am happy and full of life. When it is cold and grey, I am lethargic and down. Actually, I get very depressed. Being that we are entering our winter here in Brazil, the temperatures are dropping, and sometimes itโ€™s grey.

I love this above quote by Augustine. It reminds me that my deepest needs can not be met in the material, nor by me. It reminds me that I need to run to one that is greater than myself.

This poem was birthed out of deep depression and great need. I remembered something that the King of Israel wrote sometime between the 900s and 1000s B.C.
โ€œWhy are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me?โ€

View original post 89 more words

4 thoughts on “The Need

  1. Hi Staci, hope you are well there, sad poem! Here is sunshine and warm enough right now, but I wish I could go away, to travel, to dream, sometimes I feel suffocated, I want to run away, I don’t know to where, maybe an imaginary place.

    • Sunshine and warmth are definitely welcome in your part of the world. Especially after the Canadian winter. Ugh. Hmmmmm, an imaginary place eh. Hahaha. Or maybe some tropical island?
      ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

