Like A Child (mixed media and kyrielle)


Like a child - poem & art

Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it” –Mark 10:15

It must be the time of year, but I’ve been feeling so uninspired and blah. In Brazil we are heading into our winter, and although it’s often sunny, the temperatures have cooled considerably. One of my more recent posts touched on how my body reacts to climate changes. I get down and depressed.
I wrote the above poem and created the mixed-media piece thinking about how simple and trusting my faith used to be. Little children don’t worry about their lives. They are completely dependent on their parents for everything. A place to live, food to eat, an education, protection from harm. Little children don’t even think of these things. I believe that that’s how I need to be before God. I may be an adult with responsibilities, but if I don’t trust him like a child does their parents, it is so easy to try and do things on my own. When that happens, I am prey to worry, anxiety, fear and uncertainty.
I have seen God do some pretty amazing things in my life. Prayers have been answered and much healing has taken place in my heart and soul. All of my needs have been met, despite the lack of finances, and I believe that they will always be met by Him. I have found meaning and purpose, safety and security, provision and abundance. Yes, I think I will continuously seek to have the faith of a child.
What do you put your trust in?

A Kyrielle is a french poetry form and the rules are as follows:

Four line stanzas (quatrains)
Each line eight syllables long
The first two lines in each stanza rhyme.
The last two lines in each stanza rhyme are the same. Like a repeating refrain
aabb/ccbb/ddbb/eebb
There is not limit to the amount of stanzas.
For more on the Kyrielle, click here.
57 thoughts on “Like A Child (mixed media and kyrielle)

  1. Awww Staci, I really love your poem and your mixed media is fantastic! Yes, the secret is to have such trust in Him like children. It is very hard, so many times I have failed and by following my mind and my plans I achieved nothing but pain… I am learning to let go because He holds everything in His hands!
    Love,
    Sibella

    • Ahhhhhh, yes Sibella. Great comment. I think it’s something we continuously have to learn.
      For some reason WordPress is acting all strange. I had separated the text all properly into four stanzas with a space between each stanza and paragraph, but it will only publish as a block piece. Ugh!
      Thanks sweetie.
      🙂 ❤

      • Yes, life long learning to let go and let God do it!
        About your stanza problem. Type your poem with stanza breaks in a word document, copy and then when you right click to paste into WordPress choose “plain text” option and it should be ok. 🙂

      • That’s what I did at first. Then when it didn’t work, I tried to go right into wordpress itself and do it. Both ways gave the same outcome. Ugh.
        🙂

      • Well, I just went in and pressed the update button, and that seemed to do the trick. It must have been that specific moment that I published that WordPress was acting up.
        Thanks S.
        🙂

      • For some reason it’s showing up all right on the tablet and phone. It’s still all together on my computer. Hmmmm.
        Thanks Sibella.
        🙂

      • Don’t worry about is Stace, it’s a beautiful work of art and that’s all it matters! ❤

    • Awwww, thanks so much Trini. I sweat and strived over this one. Almost wanted to give up. I needed some space all alone to actually accomplish this.
      You’re sooooo sweet, and such an encouragement.
      🙂 ❤

  2. Oh but to be a child again … Not a care in the world
    Truly beautiful and hope tomorrow will be a brighter day Staci ❤️❤️❤️

    • Yes, shhhhhh. What the heck happens to us as we grow eh? Ugh. Thank you so much May. It’s a holiday today here in Brazil, so things are more chill. Plus, the sun is shining brightly, so that makes me a happy camper.
      Thank you so much May. Have a great day.
      🙂 ❤

  3. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this Staci!! You are so darn talented! The mixed media piece is awesome. I’m soooo not talented like that at all. I can’t paint from scratch like you can. I have to look at something and then paint or draw. And I want to be like a child again too. Sending prayers and healing love your way. Xoxo

    • Awwwww, thanks Kirsten. You’re too kind.
      I’m just starting out with mixed media. I had the idea and all, but was inspired by willowing.com with the girl on the swing and all. I can’t do much from scratch myself. Just ideas from scratch, but need inspiration and help in getting it out of the head and onto paper. I hope to one day have grown enough to do all by scratch.
      Thanks so much Kirsten.
      🙂

  4. I love your painting, but this little girl seems sad, tell her don’t be sad and pay attention to the beautiful and free butterfly and dragonfly around her, they mean transformation, she should figure out the transformations occuring close to her or on herself right now. And she should be proud of that gorgeous pink hair, love it! 🙂

    • Hehehehe. Thank you so much Elizabeth. Yea, she doesn’t look so happy eh. I’ll have to consider that for future paintings. That’s great though, what you said about the butterfly and transformation. It’s so true.
      Hahahahaha. Yea, I like the pink hair. So feminine and full.
      Thanks so much Elizabeth.
      🙂

  5. God has been teaching me similar lessons lately. 🙂 I love how your picture is of a girl on a swing, and the rhythm of the poem made me imagine her singing it as she went back and forth….

  6. As a person who was terrified most of her childhood, no way would I want to go back to that time! It is only now at age 60 that I am beginning to have a “child-like faith”. My greatest desire is to live the rest of my life in the absolute knowledge that no matter what befalls me I can handle it because God is there with me. And to live in the MOMENT and to stop worrying about what “might” happen.
    Your poetry and your art work are beautiful! It is so comforting to know that others who love the Lord also struggle from time to time with doubts and fears.
    Thank you for sharing your life with us.

    • Thank you so much for your honest comment queenrobyn. I also did not have a good childhood. I was in fear all of the time because of my alcoholic father. Not fun. I’m sure that a lot of the stuff I suffer today is because of that. The good thing is that I had a good relationship with my mom, and so I never doubted provision and security for my life. She suffered a lot with my dad, but she knew her role and responsibilities as a mother. Good thing.
      Bless you.
      🙂

  7. Hello my friend Staci!! I love your art piece and I love your honesty and aincerity. I know exactly what you mean about weather changes. I spent most of my life heading into sadness as the calendar headed into winter. Now I live in spring/summer all year long and it took a little while to recognize that I didn’t have to get sad for winter. I think you have to make sure you get lots of sunlight…it helps. And you know that it will change…and you know that your faith is strong and loving and steadfast!!! Much love my friend…hang in there. You know you will rise up!! ♡♡♡

    • Ohhhhh, Lorrie. So nice to see you, and thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement.
      The funny thing about the weather, is that I too live in Spring/Summer for most of the year. Our winter sometimes feels a bit like fall, but it’s mostly spring/summer weather. My problem seems to be the cooler temps, after having such warm temps. Plus, the houses here are made of cement and the cool air stays trapped in the house. Oftentimes, it’s much warmer outside then inside when it’s winter. My feet and cold get cold and don’t warm up. Barrrrrr. For some reason I get down and depressed, and even lethargic during these times. Go figure eh. I think I just may take your advice and go outside into the sunlight for the vitamin D and serotonin uplift.
      Much love to you Lorrie, and thanks again for your sweet encouragement. You’re a blessing.
      🙂 ❤

      • And you are a blessing to me too, Staci 🙂 I understand completely…my new number is 80…anything lower than 80 and I am freezing!!! 🙂 ♡♡

      • Hahahaha. Love it Lorrie. When I go home to Vancouver to see my family, and it’s summer time there, usually it’s still chillier than our winter days here. Hahahaha. So funny. When it’s 60 degrees here, I’m in a scarf.
        🙂 ❤

  8. Yes, the other day I was travelling and I saw a child totally carefree, and enjoying his life in the airport, he was running here and there, munching something and laughing and playing with children (strangers) sitting next to him…he was in his own world. Flight was delayed parents sitting next me were worried as that they had to catch one more flight from the next destination. In the minds of parents they were thinking through what to do next, in case the flight further delayed and the next flight they miss what should they do, they were not in present and they were worried and it was reflected in their face and expression. The child was immune to all these “ifs and buts” of life and merrily enjoying his moments, and we all as child have done that.

    You have beautifully compared how we should be presenting ourselves in front of God, and rightly said so we have to like a child genuine, innocent and honest in our confession and God will take care and do what is the best thing that should be done.

    I love this line and it captures the full essence ” I have found meaning and purpose, safety and security, provision and abundance…”
    so touching poem, life like a child…
    take care my friend.
    😀

    • Always great to read your comments Nihar. And thank you so much for the kind words and encouragement.
      Yes, I truly believe that we live in a fallen world, full of uncertainties, strife, suffering, pain, you name it. However, my faith is in God and His care for me. I need to look to Him continually, because the world will let me down, but He never will. I read something so timely today for me from this devotional book I like to read by Sarah Young: “Remember that you live in a fallen world: an abnormal world tainted by sin. Much frustration and failure result from your seeking perfection in this life. There is nothing perfect in this world except God. That is why closeness to Him satisfies deep yearnings and fills you with joy.”
      Thanks again Nihar. Have a great weekend my friend.
      🙂

      • Indeed we live in a world with so much of suffering & pain, and we look at people suffering and try to find a reason why so many people are suffering and why we cannot do something for them, and how can we live in happiness and peace when our brothers and sisters in many parts of the world are caught in war to injustice. The question that keeps us constantly bothering is how to deal with such unfairness and exploitation. People running the state to people who are rich want to run the way that the state and the companies to run…rich are getting richer and poor are getting poorer.
        In such state of helplessness only rescuer is God, we all need to pray for the betterment of the world and well-being of the people. Within our heart most of us want peace and love to spread but they are few who have been subjected to pain and agony of life and want justice for them in any means and any form…and they adopt injustice to get justice, an irony of struggle of life.

        Yes, this is a fallen world and we all need to work towards lifting it up, and when we are in search of perfection in this imperfect world we are are running after illusion.

        God Bless You and Wishing you all the happiness and peace.
        Always my pleasure sharing thoughts with you…thank you so much.
        😀

      • Thank you Nihar. I like how you call the search for perfection within the world running after an illusion.
        Hope you are having a nice weekend.

      • Yes Staci, things are going good and you too must be having a great time.
        Let happiness and peace be the visitors in this weekend to your lovey house and I know you will be the perfect host and they may not like to go back.
        take care…
        😀

      • Awwww, thanks so much Nihar. I hope you had a lovely weekend. I had an amazing weekend. As we are in a new city and things are more organized now, we finally went to a new church, and I loved it. We went with friends of ours and then they came for lunch. It was such a pleasant day. Saturday I just did art, most of the day. Then my family and I went out in the evening for a while.
        Have a great week, my friend.
        🙂

      • Lovely to hear, this is what we can call perfect weekend…exploring a new city is always exciting and richly engaging. We see new things and keep meeting new people and everywhere we go we have something or other to learn or pick up, it is indeed a wonderful exploration of it’s kind.

        Also having friends for lunch or dinner, and chatting on many common areas, recollecting and reflecting on things gone by plus have a day dedicated what we love the most and in solitude with our passion which you did, the art…Family time and time with friend and time for self, you had it everything and that’s why I call it a perfect weekend.

        Wishing you many more such lovely weekends.
        😀

  9. Hi beautiful, I loved your drawing and poem so much, to recapture that sense of carefree, to just give up the angst and be…beautiful honey!! many hugs xx Paris

    • Thank you so much Paris. I’m so glad you liked this one. I love mixed media and am trying my hand at it. I love mixing and matching the different art forms.
      Biiiiiggggg hugs and have a great weekend sweetie.
      🙂 ❤

      • thank you, I wish I had that talent to draw, paint and the like, but I don’t tho, you’ve inspired me to try a few things I’ve been thinking on….mwahhhhh big kiss 😉

      • Ohhhh, yes, yes, yes, please do try those things. You know, I also thought that I didn’t have any talent at all in the whole artsy, painting, drawing area. It wasn’t until I got bit by the bug and tried my hand at it that I was able to see that it was just a matter of me investing time and believing in myself. I’m a huge sucker for eye-candy and couldn’t help but get involved. Hehehe.
        Hugs and kisses to you sweetie.
        🙂 ❤
        Oh, and have a greeeeaaaatttt weekend.
        🙂

  10. Staci, beautiful presentation! Your artwork is stunning, capturing the essence of your poem. A very honest and emotional piece of poetry, beautifully penned! I love the repeat,

    “Just like a child I want to be
    Just like a child again, carefree”

    Please take good care,
    Pepperanne

    • Thank you so much Pepperanne. Oh yes, the repeat is part of the poetry form, Kyrielle. Each stanza ends with the last two lines the same. Kind of like a refrain or chorus of a song.
      Take care.
      🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

