Urban Melody/Melodia Urbana


Time has been escaping me. Thought I’d reblog this poem, which I believe is so fitting for the world in which we live today. This piece was a collaborative work that I did with a brilliant Brazilian poet/friend, Adriano Yamamoto.
I am working on an art piece/poem right now and hope to post tomorrow. As for now, hope you all have a great weekend, and enjoy the poem.

A God Colored Girl in a Grey World

Urban MelodyMelodia Urbana

This poem is my first collaboration with Adriano Yamamoto, a very talented Brazilian poet. We wrote this poem together considering issues of modern society, consumerism and the lack of affection and human connection. After reading Culture Monk’s post, I just knew this was the topic to go with.

How does this poem make you feel? Do you believe that modern living causes us to isolate ourselves? Do you believe that it’s a huge contributor to the depression epidemic?

View original post

12 thoughts on “Urban Melody/Melodia Urbana

  1. I wasn’t able to read it because I only have my phone with me and when I try to enlarge it, it gets blurry. I’ll check it out when I get home… Have a great weekend, Staci! 🙂

    • Hey Nihar, if you click on ‘view original’ it will take you to the original post and it will be clear. I don’t know why, but for some reason when I reblog my poems in photos it seems to be fuzzy.
      Let me know if that works ok.
      Thanks 😀

      • Okay Staci will do that and check out. Yes, this little technical challenge keeps our creativity side in balance, otherwise we forget there is technicality behind creativity…
        😀

  2. Beautiful poem, I check the original post – truly a wonderful collaboration, Stacilys. The poem pointed out important matters that play roles in our daily life without us realizing it. We consume things that we do not necessarily need 😦

    • So true Indah. Imagine life pre-industrial revolution. Man, that would be soooooo different. And it wasn’t even all that long ago.
      Thank you so much Indah. Have a great week.
      🙂 ❤

    • Heyyyy Himali. I don’t know why but when I reblog an image and poem, it seems to come up blurry. If you go to the bottom of the post where it says, ‘view original’ it will take you to the original post that shouldn’t be blurry.
      Thanks Himali.
      🙂 ❤

  3. I love the English/Spanish collaboration and look of your poem on the page, Staci. I was feeling the heaviness of your urban melody but was lifted by the time I read the last words. Very powerful. Thank you for sharing!

    • Ohhhh, thank you so much Geralyn. I’m so encouraged by your comment. It was really a great experience collaborating with Adriano on this. He is such a talented Brazilian poet. We were going to do another one together, however time and circumstances haven’t permitted. I think we may be able to do so now. Hmmm, I think it’s time to get in touch with him again. Hehehe.
      Thanks again, my friend and please have a very good week.
      🙂

Leave a Reply

