Identity


Identity

Identity:

  • The condition of being oneself, and not another
  • Condition or character as to who a person is
  • The set of behavioural or personal characteristics by which an individual is recognizable
  • the fact of being who or what a person or thing is
  • Characteristics, definition, defining oneself

Thinking back to how I used to be, and pondering all of what I’ve gone through, I consider myself nothing less than a miracle. The need for the sense of identity is very important to human beings, both on an individual and social level. My identity was so lost and confused in the past, but God has brought me through so much.

I love the passage in the Bible where God calls a prophet to choose a new King. The prophet went to the house of a certain man who had seven sons. When he saw the biggest and strongest son, he thought definitely he was to be the new king. God told him ‘no’. In fact, the answer was no for every one of the sons that this man had presented to the prophet. He then asked the man if he had any other sons, and he said that there was one more, but he was out in the fields tending the sheep. A very humble position at best, for that day and age. When the prophet saw this son, right then and there God said, “That’s the one”. God wasn’t looking at his outer appearance. He was looking at his heart. I love that.

Today, I am comfortable in my own skin. I am sure of my identity, and of what is expected of me. I know that what really matters is how God sees me, and He knows my heart. And He should. His finger prints can be found all over it.

Where, or in what do find your identity? Are you comfortable in your own skin, and secure in who you are as an individual and within a group?

82 thoughts on “Identity

  1. Yes, I am comfortable in my own skin. I used to have illusions of who I should be, but they were just that – illusions. I’ve come to learn that people accept me and love me for who I am, and not whom I wish to be.

    • I think we all used to (or do) have allusions of who we should be. It’s so human. Hahaha. Way to go Rob. I’m so glad that you are comfortable in your own skin.
      🙂

  2. Hi Staci, beautiful poem. Sometimes I look in the mirror and I don’t know who I am. Inside I’m still a 7 years old girl, trying to be nice and lovely for everyone, but the mirror says NO to me. Have a great weekend!

    • Thank you so much Elizabeth.
      Awwwww, trying to be nice and lovely for everyone? Like the whole perfect little girl thing right. I’m glad the mirror say NO to you. You need to be you, right?
      You have a great weekend too, my friend. Rest from that busy week you’ve had.
      🙂

    • Thank you so much Teresa. I’m so glad that you ‘love’ this poem and that you like the art too. I love the whole whole whimsy girl thing so I thought I’d do some pieces like that.
      Blessings.
      🙂

  3. Oh, I loved the media piece. So sweet. Great post, Staci! Identity, who am I? That’s a good question. I knew my role as my mother’s daughter. Then I went straight from her home when I married to James’ home. And I learned my role as a wife. Then I had a child, and I learned the role of being a mother. All those identities I know well, but I’ve never been just Natalie, on my own so to speak. I don’t know that it would make a difference, but it seems to me from observations I’ve made of others that being on your own at least for a while helps you to fully establish who you are and what you can and cannot do in your own mind. I do think that my identity of who Natalie really is has become more clear through my blogging as it is my world and my world alone. I speak from the heart, and many times reveal things that perhaps those around me aren’t aware of. I know that I am a child of God and that the Lord loves me, but also know I’m not the child he wants me to be. So now, aren’t you sorry you asked me such a silly question???? Hee hee. Love and hugs, N 🙂 ❤

    • Hahaha. Brilliant comment Natalie. I love it. And HEY! Don’t you ever say you are not the child He wants you to be. You most certainly are. Nobody, but nobody could ever be the child that He ‘wants’ us to be. You know that it’s only by grace. His blood has done it all, my friend.
      I like how you pointed out the things that you have been and are – mother, daughter, wife. These are all things that make up our identity, but above and beyond that, you are first and foremost a child of the king, a citizen of eternity, a unique individual that has a heart smothered in His fingerprints – Yes? I think so.
      Tons of love and blessings, my friend.
      🙂 ❤

      • Thanks for the reminder and kind words, Staci. You are right. I just hate that I disappoint Him so often. I know His grace and blood have me covered, but that should make us even more willing to be obedient and surrendered. Oh well, there’s always tomorrow, “Scarlet.” Much love and hugs, N 🙂 ❤

      • Ohhh, haha. Yes. His mercies are new every morning. I struggle everyday with patience, especially homeshooling my Aspie boy. I fail E V E R Y D A Y. No joke. It’s true. But I’m growing and He’s there to help me through. Thank God.
        Bless you, my friend and tons of hugs.
        🙂 ❤

  4. “Am I seen?”: That question really stood out for me. And I think its very true if you’re comfortable with your identity than you’ll be able to be comfortable with yourself wherever you are or go. Nice work on this one!

    • Ohhhh, thank you so much Benjamin. I always enjoy hearing from you, and your knowing your thoughts. I remember when I was younger, especially fresh out of high school. Holy crap, I was a mess. My entire 20s I went through the wringer. I had a ton of issues that needed to be dealt with. I’m telling you though, I’m sure glad that I’m past that now.
      Thanks again, my friend. And I’m so glad you like this one.
      🙂

  5. You art, poem and post are speaking right to me again, Staci. When I was younger I struggled to know where I fit in and who I was. I went from relationship to relationship trying to figure out my identity by what was reflected back. Not a good way to live my life. Today, for the most part, I’m very content in my identity. I know who I am, what I like and can accept and what I don’t like and won’t accept. It’s taken a long time but well worth all the hard work. On the flip side, I try not to judge. I try to see if someone who might be annoying me has their heart and motives in a loving and positive place….and they usually do. Thanks for the thoughtful post this morning! .

    • Ohhh, that’s wonderful. I’m so glad this spoke to you Geralyn. I think growing up is so tough, especially growing up in a dysfunctional family. I truly believe that our identity starts being constructed within our family setting. I was a mess, and went through the wringer in my 20s. I think there are so many people that start to become more comfortable with who they are by the time they get to their 40s. At least that has been my experience. I have never been so secure and content in who I am as an individual as I am now. Life truly is a school, isn’t it.
      Thank you so much and have a great week.
      🙂

      • I was still going through growing pains in my early 40s when I ended my marriage (I finally realized why I married who I did even though it probably wasn’t the best choice). But, since then I’ve been pretty content and comfortable with myself. What a gift! Have a great week as well, Staci.

      • Oh yes, that must have been hard going through that. I’m glad you’ve come to a place of being comfortable and content with yourself. And yes, that’s the perfect word – ‘Gift’.
        🙂

  6. Once again, I love the artwork and poem 🙂 The question in this post is really something I have to think about. I find my identity in God and the gifts he has given me. However, I struggle to let that shine through in my everyday life. I still feel I struggle to fight acceptance/conformity. Deep inside I want to walk my own path and be myself. It is definitely a work in progress.

    • Thank you so much Crystal. I’m so glad you ‘love’ this. I think this question is a heavy-loaded one eh. self-introspection isn’t something that’s quick and easy, wouldn’t you say? I think the struggle to find acceptance and to conform is a huge one. We were made for community, and so it’s normal to want to be accepted. I’ve fallen in this area before, and kicked myself about it.
      You keep on working, as will I.
      Have a great week and take care.
      🙂

  7. Love love this one Staci! Awesome artwork and words! 🙂
    I am not sure I knew who I was until I learned about God and that was not so long ago. He makes me shine and I am forever grateful for His presence in my life. I can just be me and be confident in who I am. 🙂

    • Awwww, thank you so much Sibella. That means a ton coming from an amazing artist such as yourself.
      I’m with you on how you feel about your identity. I had no idea who I was until God transformed me. It was an uphill battle figuring it all out, but oh so worth it. I also am forever grateful. He’s the one that defines us, and there’s no better identity then that, is there?
      Hope you had an amazing weekend S, and that you have a great week too.
      🙂 ❤

      • I meant every word, My Friend! Your heart shines through your art and poetry and your art I find very unique!
        I agree, without God we are nothing.

        I had a nice weekend: blueberry picking with my daughter Saturday morning, then Michigan Lake beach for the rest of the day and a super lazy Sunday! Can’t ask for more.
        Have a great week too, filled with Love and Light! 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

      • Thank you so much Sibella. You encourage me.
        Ok, now I’m jealous. Blueberry picking? I want some pleeeeeaaasssseeee. 🙂 Your weekend sounds perfect. My hubby is traveling until Wednesday so I was alone with my young kids. Hahaha. I didn’t want to do much of anything.
        Love and light sounds like a great way to spend the week. Thanks a ton.
        🙂 ❤

    • Awwww, thanks Kirsten. And that’s just it – it’s all about Him, isn’t it. He defines us and gives us meaning and purpose.
      Hope you had a great weekend, and that you have a wonderful week ahead.
      🙂 ❤
      p.s. when you wanna Skype? I'm good tonight and tomorrow night. If not, Thursday's fine too. Or whenever actually. Just not mornings. –Blessings 🙂

      • Ugh…would you believe that none of those nights work for me this week 😦 Thursdays normally would, but I’m skyping with my Photography Teacher this week. Would Thursday next week – the 13th work for you? Have a blessed week my friend 🙂 xoxo

  8. Hey Stace, I loved the art work and the poem so much ! The musical notes in the background and the heart on the girl’s dress are so vivid ! Love this idea.. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the story of the Kind and the Prophet. Indeed, humility is so important in life 🙂
    Love & Hugs ❤
    Stay blessed ! 🙂

    • There she is, my kindred friend Himali. I’m so glad you ‘loved’ this art work and poem. I had also thought of putting a finger print in the heart, however I decided not too. I thought it might just look messy and out of place.
      What I love about this David that became king, is that he wasn’t hung up on himself, nor seeking out power and attention. he just simply loved God with sincerity and whole-heartedly. What he did was not out of obligation, nor pressure, but his devotion came out of an intimate loving relationship with his maker.
      Which I believe is totally different than ‘religion’.
      Thank you so much Himali. I’m so glad we’ve met. I’m on my way over to your blog to see if I’ve missed anything these past few days that I’ve been absent.
      Love and hugs to you sweetie.
      🙂 ❤

      • I’ve also been a while away from my blog. At times everything becomes so overwhelming and a break is a must ! Thank you for sharing the story. I really like your posts as they give a kind of message and your art is inspirational. Hope your kids and you are having a lovely day 🙂 Hugs and love 😇😘❤💕

      • Oh yes, I totally hear you. Overwhelming with all the activity in our lives, right. Not to mention just blogging itself. I love it so much, but by the end of the week, after homeschooling and cleaning and all of the activities I’m involved in throughout the week, I just die on the weekend. It’s like I need to get rid of all routine and schedule and stuff.
        And you are, as always, so kind with your words. You know I’m a huge fan of yours too. I’m so glad you find my posts inspirational. That makes me happy 🙂 🙂 🙂
        My kids are having a great day, thanks. My daughter just started back to school this week after her ‘winter’ vacation.
        Hope you’re having a wonderful day too, my friend.
        Hugs and love to you.
        🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

      • I’m having a lovely week. I wish you and your family also a beautiful week ahead.
        Love and hugs to a super mom and my best friend ❤💗

      • Ohhhhh, that’s great. I’m so glad you’re having a beautiful week.
        You are just the sweetest girl in the whole wide world HImali. You always bless me with your words.
        Love and hugs, and have a beautiful and creative weekend sweetie.
        🙂 ❤

  9. I love this Staci!! Your art…and the way you marry the words with it is so powerful …so wonderful! Your energy shines through…and I believe I know exactly who you “are!” ♡♡♡

    • Awwwww Lorrie. You are so kind, and always bless my heart with your words. I’m so glad you ‘love’ this. I’m glad you were able to see my energy shining through this piece.
      I hope you had an amazing weekend and that you have an incredible week ahead.
      🙂 ❤

      • Thank you so much 🙂 My nephew’s wedding was yesterday and it was magnificent 🙂 So much fun…it was a 20’s theme and everyone looked great!! ♡♡

      • Ohhhh, that’s great. I would have loved to participate in something with a 20s theme. I’m sure you had a blast Lorrie.
        🙂 ❤

  10. I already told you, Staci. I love your art and the message in it. Like always!! 😀
    Well… I’ve always followed my heart and intuition for pretty much everything… Already at a young age… I didn’t like and still don’t like to follow the trends or force myself to do some stuff I don’t feel comfortable to do. You kinda know when something is not for you. So I guess it’s part of your identity. You are not always able to define it but you have one for sure.
    And I feel comfortable in my own skin. All I want is to enjoy each and every day. 😀

    • Ohhhh, that’s so great that you don’t follow the crowd, but are comfortable in your own skin. It’s so great when one is.
      Thank you so much for your kind and sweet words too. Big smiles 🙂
      You make sure you totally enjoy this day, my friend. I hope that Nice (that is where you live, right?) is lovely today.
      Abraços ❤

  11. Beautiful beautiful poem. I’ve always thought that if we don’t know who we are, others would define us every day. But discovering your identity is a life long journey in my view. You find out a little more each day if you seek.

    • Thank you so much Trini. I’m so glad you like this.
      Oh yes, that’s so true. Because if we don’t know who we are, we take on the labels handing down to us.
      I totally agree that discovering our identity is a lifelong journey. It really does start within the family structure. As for me, I’m going to be 42 this year, and only at the age of 40 that I started to get more of a grasp and understanding of this all. I’m sure there’s still a lot more discovery, but at least I’ve come to a point where I’m secure in who I am and how I’m defined.
      🙂

  12. My dearest Staci, missed you a lot. Hope you are doing brilliant. On your blog, after a way long time. It is always a happy encounter here. The little girl and the beautiful heart with His fingerprints on it……..had me in complete sense. Love the way it is beautifully done. Stay Happy!
    Reva 🙂

    • Heyyyyyyyyy Reva. So great to see you here. Yes, it’s been a long time, hasn’t it. You disappeared for a while. Then I disappeared for a while. And now were both back and going strong. I must get over to see what you’ve been up to. I actually opened up to your blog the other day, but haven’t had the chance to read yet. Going to now, my friend.
      Thanks a ton for your generous compliments Reva. You always bless me.
      🙂 ❤

      • My pleasure to be here sweetie. Moved out of london. Presently in India. Taking time to settle. Being on and off on WP. Hope to be regular here. Much love to you. Take care.

      • Hi Reva, I’m so sorry I did not respond to this comment. For some reason WP isn’t always giving me my notifications. I just saw this now because I’m going through some older posts.
        Wow, you’re in India. Which city? I’ve been to Calcutta, Darjeeling, Pedong, Siliguri and Jaipur.
        Ohhhh, hope to see you more once you’re settled.
        🙂

  13. The lady in the image somehow represent you: happy and music with beautiful words! You are so talented, I wish I could do drawing and write the rhyme like yours! Great art, Stacilys!

    • Ohhhh, you’re so sweet Indah. Thank you for such a kind compliment. I never thought I could ever draw or paint. Then I fell in love with the visuals of mixed media art and I just had to try it out for myself.
      Thanks again, my friend.
      🙂

  14. Reading your post reminded me of this quote, “Sometimes I think about the people I used to be and sometimes I think about how many of them I had to end. And I often think how many more must I become until I finally learn how to let go and begin” – R.m. Drake

    What a thought provoking post Stacilys ! 🙂

  15. Staci, “Identity” is a beautiful poem. I love that you grace your words with your lovely artwork, I hope that you continue to do this! Have a wonderful weekend, and take good care!

    Warm wishes,
    Pepperanne

    • Thank you so much Pepperanne. I’m so glad you think this is ‘beautiful’. Mixed media art has become a passion of mine and you can be sure that I will not be giving it up any time soon 🙂 I will definitely continue to do it.
      You have a wonderful weekend too, my friend.
      Blessings to you
      Staci
      🙂

  16. This is beautiful! I feel my own skin is constantly changing. Being a mother and wife makes life full of ups and downs. Going through difficult times always changes someone. The core of myself stays the same but my emotions and physical body changes. I’ve never been prouder of my convictions and morals. Sometimes my confidence is lacking. I love this post. It has got me thinking. I suppose I’ve got to be able to accept myself no matter what, as long as I would be make my boys proud.
    Beautiful poem.. Simply beautiful! 💕

    • Oh yes, I know what you mean. I am also a mother and wife. Life can get really crazy, can’t it. To top it off, I am homeschooling my oldest because he has Asperger’s syndrome and we live in Brazil where school did NOT work out for him. Crazy, crazy, crazy. Hahaha.
      That’s so great that you have a strong core. It’s sooooo important. I didn’t grow up like that, but over the years, and going through the wringer during my 20s, I can safely say that I do have that strong core now.
      Thank you so much Carisa, for your encouragement, sweet words, and sharing a bit of yourself. That’s awesome.
      I’m on my way over to see your blog now too.
      🙂 ❤

      • Stacy, I’m so glad I’ve found your wonderful site! Your energy is felt across the waters :-). Thank you for that! You sound like you have several full-time jobs! Wow! Homeschooling is something that would be extremely tedious. I commend you on doing so.
        My 11 year old has Type 1 diabetes, he wears an insulin pump and has done so since he was 6. We moved to a district that had a full time RN. I understand your issues with schools. I’ve dealt with them too. It takes a great mom to handle everything that comes with loving a child who has extra needs attention. I would never trade it for anything but it is difficult. You’re an amazing mother! ❤️💕❤️

      • Awwwww, thankd Carisa. That’s so sweet. The homeschooling is actually quite easy because I use a program that has worked with many kids with high functioning autism. It’s online and the whole curriculum is all planned out already, plus all his marks get saved in his profile. Thank God for that because I swear I have ADHD and I’m not organized at all. Hahaha. 🙂
        Thanks for your kind words Carisa. You’re awesome.
        🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

