Words


Words

“The tongue has the power of life and death and those who love it will eat its fruit”

The person who wrote the above quote was pretty darn wise. That’s all I can say. I’ve been reading Proverbs lately and all of them have been about the power of words. They teach the skill of speaking life-giving words, and that there’s great wisdom in keeping quiet. Even foolish people are considered wise when they keep quiet.

I’m not one that’s naturally quiet. I talk a lot. I like to voice my opinion. It’s gotten me into trouble before. I also have a short temper, and am not the most patient person. I have been quick to become angry, quick to speak and slow to listen. It’s time to reverse that. It’s hard, but tenacity and perseverance are best friends for such a task.

How about you? Have your words gotten you into trouble before? Do you find it difficult to keep your mouth shut? Are you controlled by your temper?

 

75 thoughts on “Words

  1. That is a beautiful art work, Staci, and beautiful words! LOVE IT! πŸ™‚

    This quote is very true. Words can be soft and beautiful as a feather but sharp and hurtful as a sword. I don’t easily lose temper, but when I do everyone take shelter, because it’s a volcano explosion. Most of the time I am able to control what I say, and the older I get it seems a little easier to keep my mouth shut LOL πŸ˜€
    Great post!!!

    • Thanks Sibella. I didn’t really like how this one turned out, but I’m not totally disliking it. I had this idea of wings flying away from a box chained tightly. The box holding all of the yuck words. Like a Pandora’s box so to speak. I’m so glad you like it.
      I agree. It seems that the older we get, the easier it is to control the temper and keep quiet.
      Man, if you’re a vulcano, I must be Armageddon. Hahahaha.

      • I really like it how it turned out, it seems like it has texture to it and l like the colors and the wings!!!

        Hahaha, that’s funny – Armageddon… Watch out world, it’s Staci! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • It does have texture. It’s tin foil. Can you believe it? One layer of tinfoil, then more layers in specific spots.
        πŸ™‚

    • Hi there Akiraa. I’m so sorry it’s taken me so long to respond. It’s because I never did get this comment in my notifications. WordPress is doing some crazy stuff I think. I’ve missed a whole ton of comments.
      Anyhow, thank you so much for your sweet words. I’m so glad you like this one.
      Have a great weekend, my friend.
      πŸ™‚

  2. Um, yes I have! πŸ™‚ I think we might have similar personalities, Staci. I constantly pray for patience. I also pray to ‘keep my voice low,’ as I can quickly become animated and loud. In my family people interrupt each other all the time to get their point across. I’m guilty of this and know it’s just rude. And, half the time, when I think I know what’s going to be said, I’m wrong. Words are so powerful, for positive and negative. I want my words to be positive and uplifting. I’m constantly working on this. Beautiful art!

    • Oh yes, it does sound like we do. I also talk loud. My father-in-law is constantly telling me to speak quieter. Hahaha. You know, living in Brazil, you often have to interrupt or jump in when you get the quick chance. If not, you just may never speak. Lol.
      Thank you so much Geralyn.

  3. Lovely poem and arts! I am actually a shy person and rarely voicing my anger to others but since living in the Netherlands, I felt it was necessary to voice how I felt even when I got angry over something and I regretted it afterwards 😦

    • Oh really? That’s interesting. How come the Netherlands caused that? Is it because of cultural differences? I know how it is to voice myself when I’m angry, and it almost always doesn’t turn out well. I need to try and wait until the feeling of anger passes before actually speaking. That way I can think logically first.
      Thanks so much Indah.
      πŸ™‚

      • Hi Stacilys, yes, I think I am adapting to Dutch way now πŸ˜€ Dutch people are very direct, they say what they feel and think – most of the time – without diplomacy. Majority Dutch people are honest and perhaps being honest in their trait means they should say things as it is according to their opinion. It could lead to being rude sometimes. Now, I understand bit about the Dutch way, when they started to say something too “direct” then we have to encounter it by saying how do we feel..and that’s something I regretted, because I think if someone is being rude, we should not be rude back to the person..then it’s just going to be a circle of emotion…

  4. Hi Staci,

    I’ve been study Proverbs too lately and what I’ve been getting out of my study is how to impart wisdom and common sense.

    It’s teaching me how to respond accordingly to the offense.

    Because I can go from 0 to a 100…RIGHT NOW! :D:

    They called me Jekyll and Hyde since youth.

    I would say I need wisdom the most when I feel disrespected so I can stop being controlled by my temper and feeling.

    Great post!

    • Hi Vernon, I had a friend once that mentioned that actually. That Proverbs states a lot of things that are actually just plain common sense. Although, within this common sense, there seems to be deeper meaning. Proverbs is a great book to study when you break it down into subjects, don’t you think? Like a study on the power of words, on stewardship, wisdom, etc.
      I have always had a bad temper and was very controlled by feelings. Being married to a strong thinker, complete opposite of me, as well as age and growth, have helped me to recognize these things more and work on them.
      Thanks so much Vernon, and have a great weekend.
      πŸ™‚

  5. Hi Staci! I love the poem. I’m usually not a big talker. I do like to voice my opinions when it counts and I can be a bit of smart ass at times, but like you I’ve learned through the years that words are powerful and should be measured and used wisely. Great post! πŸ˜€

    • Thank you so much Vashti. I’m so glad you like it.
      I wish I was more like you, and not a big talker. Hahaha @be a bit of a smart ass. I guess it’s all in the way we voice our opinions, right? I love how you mentioned that words should be measured. That’s a sign of maturity I think.
      Thanks again Vashti.
      πŸ™‚

  6. Greatness itself. I think the right words must be spoken, no matter what, but the wrong ones must be spoken at times too, so can we learn what not to say, and try to learn from them. But I’d rather the wrong words be locked up perhaps like you show in the beginning. Beautiful art!

    • “the wrong ones must be spoken at times too, so can we learn what not to say, ”
      –I guess it’s all part of growing up eh.
      Thank you so much for your appreciation and kind words Benjamin.
      Hahahaha, yes let’s lock up those bad words together. lol.
      Have a great weekend.
      πŸ™‚

  7. The tongue has the power of life and death and those who love it will eat its fruit

    Thank you very much for this Stace… πŸ™‚ Lots of love ! The art is so vibrant.. Love the textures πŸ™‚

    • Ohhhhhh, so so so SOOOOO glad to see you here Himali. I know I’m not the only one that’s missed your WP presence.
      I have to be honest and say that I’m not soooooo pleased with how this art piece worked out. I don’t dislike it, but I would like it to be better. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for appreciating it. I really like textures, and took my liberties this time with them. Hahaha. I used tin foil as a first texture, then added more in certain parts. Then of course paints and ink splashes and all that messy jazz.
      Have a wonderful and freeing weekend, my friend.
      Tons of love.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Hahahahaha. Yes, isn’t that funny. Probably they’re so used to more talk, that when we don’t talk they think something’s wrong.
      Have a great weekend Wendy.
      πŸ™‚

  8. Oh I’m so much like you Staci, “quick to become angry, quick to speak, short on temper, not the most patient”. I blame most of it on me being an “ARIES” lol No seriously though I’ve been trying to work on myself lately too. My motto for this year was “to become a better person.” There is so much I need to work on as a person. Considering the baggage I carry and all the other things in life.

    There was so much wisdom in your quote. I read it so many times to let it truly settle in. And your artwork, as always is outstanding!! I run out of words to praise it. So so beautiful Staci πŸ™‚

    Hope you have a relaxing week ❀

    • Zee, you are sooooo sweet. Thank you so much for your appreciation and kind words. I’m so blessed by you.
      Believe me, all of humanity is in the same predicament, my friend. We all have tons of stuff that needs working on. Hahaha.
      Have an amazing fun-filled weekend.
      Love and blessings.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Hehehe, Thank you Staci, It was a pleasure reading your wonderful post ! As everybody says nobody’s perfect. We all need some fixing πŸ™‚

        Big hugs ❀

      • Hehe, yes, definitely. And we’ll continually need fixing so longing we’re in these bodies. Hahaha.
        Hope you had a lovely weekend Zee, and that you have an amazing week ahead.
        πŸ™‚

  9. Being an introvert, I tend to be slow to speak. Though I agree that it has helped me from saying things I would later on regret in anger, I feel I am at the extreme where I don’t want to offend so I don’t speak up when I should. I believe there is a balance and we should strive to know when to speak and when to remain quiet. I want to find that balance πŸ™‚

    • You hit the nail on the head Crystal. It really is all about balance. Something I’ve come to realize is that humans have such a hard time finding that balance.We are extremists. I guess we learn more as we grow older, but the balance thing always seems to be a battle.
      I hope and pray you find that balance Crystal.
      Have a wonderful week, my friend.
      πŸ™‚

      • Again, so true what you said about humans being and doing things at an extreme. Thank you Staci and I wish for you to have a wonderful week as well πŸ™‚

  10. A thought provoking post, Staci. And oh yeh, my tongue has gotten me in trouble on more occasions than I can count. So I have learned and am still learning to temper it and keep my mouth shut when it benefits no one or is hurtful. I am still quite outspoken about some things, and I can be pretty talkative, but then I also have a quiet, comtemplative side as well. In fact I really have to have times during the day when I’m not required to speak at all. Have a great week, missy. Love, N πŸ™‚ ❀

    • I love those quiet times during the day. In fact, although I’m quite an ‘up’ person, I really do value my alone time and quiet. My husband likes to watch the news first thing in the morning, and I want it quiet. I don’t even like the tv on in the afternoon. It bugs me.
      You have a great week too Natalie.
      Hugs and love
      πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Thank you so much Saaransh. I’m so blessed by your kind words. And soooooo happy that you like ‘love’ how I play with colors.
      Oh yes, that quote is very powerful, and oh so true, don’t you think? I like to compare it to what we feed our bodies. If we eat healthy, we are full of life, energy, emotional well-being even. If we eat crap, we cause harm to our bodies. We eventually can get sick (heart conditions, diabetes, etc.), have low energy, feel crappy, etc. So the tongue can do the same. It can promote life or death, health or disease. It can cleanse or be toxic. There’s something I read in the Bible that compared it to a forest fire, “Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole person, sets the whole course of his life on fire…’ Sounds pretty harsh to me. So yes, I totally love that quote that you shared, ‘A wise man once said nothing.’
      Thanks again Saaransh. I sooooo appreciate what you share here.
      Have a wonderful week.
      πŸ™‚

      • The association of food and words is quite interesting u did here…….n the reference from holy Bible is worthy ….. ur posts r alwys amazing ..keep going Staci..stay happy πŸ™‚

      • Hi Saaransh. I don’t know how I missed this comment. I’m so sorry for not responding. It seems like I’m not getting quite a few of my notifications. Ugh.
        Anyhow, thank you so much. You always encourage me.
        Have an amazing rest of the week.
        πŸ™‚

  11. Even more fantastic the second time around πŸ™‚ I love how Joyce Meyer says that “words are containers for power.” I believe that we have to choose whether are words will build up or tear down. Each day my prayer is that my words would build people, not tear them down! Words stick with you. I can still remember both the words that were spoken to me that built and the ones that tore me down. I think it is always wise to think before we speak. And thank goodness, that Jesus is the WORD! xoxo

    • Awwww, thanks Kirsten. And I totally agree with you. We really do need to choose our words, and wisely. The Proverbs are a great book for that. It teaches the skill of using words that promote life. I had a whole ton of the wrong words spoken to me while growing up, and it had such a strong effect on me that words of encouragement were often hard to accept. Thank God that we have the WORD now that restores eh.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  12. Oh, Beautiful Staci!! I find it so hard to believe that about you πŸ˜‰ I, too, have gotten into a jam or two due to my impatience and my tongue that speaks before I think it through! HeHe…yes…a time or two! I can honestly say to you that I am currently working on all of those things…on thinking before I speak because words truly have power…and thinking about what I think…because thoughts have power too!!! I love your art as usual…I believe you are so talented my friend…and so full of love!!! ❀ ❀ right back to you!!

    • Hahahaha. Really? Unfortunately, it’s true Lorrie. I’m definitely a lot more aware of it now, and am working on it, but it’s been a long haul. I used to be very impulsive, acting and reacting before thinking. That’s changed quite a bit, but sometimes I fall with those closest to me.
      Just like you said, ‘words truly have power’ Whoever wrote that saying, ‘sticks and stones will break my bones, but names will never hurt me’ was sooooo wrong.
      Thank you so much Lorrie. Your words of encouragement are so uplifting and I appreciate your kind words and love.
      Many blessings to you throughout this new week, my friend.
      Blessings and hugs
      πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Ohhhhhh, it’s a constant struggle, isn’t it. Feelings can override judgement sooooo easily. Especially for women.
      Don’t give up Melinda. Perseverance and tenacity are the key. And He gives us continual grace.
      Have a great week.
      πŸ™‚

  13. I can relate! I think that my mantra early on was ‘open mouth, insert foot’. My mouth had got me into trouble with friends, family, and work. There were times that I was looked upon to say something controversial, no matter the subject. jj”those who love it will eat its fruit” – so true. While I hadn’t eaten the fruit, I had eaten many slices of its humble pie. Thanks, Staci!

    • Hahahahaha. That’s great Rob @open mouth, insert foot.
      Maybe I should get your recipe for the humble pie. Hahaha. I’m learning and growing. I think age has something to do with it.
      Hope you’re having a great vacation Rob.
      πŸ™‚

  14. Staci, I’m intrigued by the words of your poem, the quote and your commentary, they take my mind a thousand miles away in deep thought. I think it’s easy to be moved to anger, what we do with these feelings is entirely up to us. When I give much thought to your questions, I find that within my conclusions it’s often not my place to educate the ones have made me angry, but it rather it’s an opportunity or a personal lesson for me in patience and tolerance. It’s much easier to react, than to quietly stand back and evaluate the situation and the players involved. I have a rule that I attempt to follow, or at least it works well for me, I have a set time frame to reflect, usually within that time the incident becomes so trivial that it’s no longer worth my attention, time or energy. Lovely post and beautiful artwork, I like how the art reflects your sentiment, with the wings flying away from the darkness heading towards the light. Please continue to enjoy the sunshine and enjoy the rest of your week.

    Take good care, warm wishes,
    Pepperanne

    • I love your attitude here with this Pepperanne. The fact that you are aware of the anger and use it as a tool in building character traits, such as patience and tolerance. And it’s so true what you said about it being easier to react. It’s sooooo easy to react. Especially if you already have temperament that is somewhat impulsive and led by feelings (unfortunately I’m like this. At least I recognize it now and can work on it). I think it’s a sign of character and self-control, as well as humility, to keep quiet and evaluate the situation.
      That is a great rule to have. I should try to do that too @set a time frame to reflect.
      Thank you so much for your lovely and detailed comment. Thank you also for noticing the marriage of the art piece together with the words. I like to call that ‘intentional art’ πŸ™‚ I don’t know if you noticed the dark part has a certain layer of crunchy texture or not? I layerd parts of tinfoil to get that effect, as if to represent the pandoras box of awful words.
      You have a lovely Thursday Pepperanne, and take care.
      Bless ya.
      Staci πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Staci, I did notice the texture, but I had no clue as to how you achieved it, thank you for sharing. I like that, β€œintentional art” very clever! The story of Pandora’s Box is fabulous, one of my favorites. I bet you already know this, all the evils escaped from the container, except for one thing that was at the bottom, β€œhope”. Please enjoy the rest of your Thursday!

        Warm wishes,
        Pepperanne β™₯

      • Oh wow. I knew about all the evil’s being in the container, but I did not know about the hope. That’s powerful. Thanks for telling me. I’ll have to read up more on that.
        Have an amazing weekend Pepperanne, and take good care.
        Staci πŸ™‚ ❀

  15. Pingback: The Winner & Honorable Mention of Nudi Series Chromodoris (1) | indahs: travel story & photography

  16. Very intriguing and well thought out proposition. We all get some time or the other tongue tied.
    The power of tongue and the power of word, yes, each count…the way we use both and never easy to control the use of tongue and the choice of words is a difficult proposition. Many times we fall short of right words to convey what we want to convey as a wise man and also many times we keep using words and make our self appear more like a fool.
    The real power is in silence and the lesser we speak, the more we listen and the more we become wise in the way deal with life. This is such a common experience we all face and keep trying and keep learning and this a life long learning phenomena….
    Hope you are having a lovely week.
    πŸ˜€

    • Hi Nihar. I was thinking about you recently. I really need to get over to your blog. I haven’t had a very good week. I’m struggling with insomnia and don’t really know why.
      Anyhow, yes, words are very important. One can either make or break a child through the words they use. One can nurture a relationship or even break up a relationship through words. The Bible says that the tongue is a restless evil and that “all kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and sea creatures are being tamed and have been tamed by mankind, but no human being can tame the tongue.” It’s so easy to talk down about another behind their back or gossip. And the worse part is that we feel a sense of gratification doing it. I want to learn the art of being quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry.
      Thanks a ton Nihar. I’ll be over your way soon to see what you’ve been up to ok. I have a meeting at my daughter’s school in 1/2 an hour, but shortly after I’ll be over.
      πŸ™‚

      • Not to worry Staci, life is beautiful indeed, and so much to do, these small and big struggle keep coming in life and the moment we overcome, it gives a pleasure and bliss of life, so fulfilling. In all these our emotions and words we use matters a lot, every word counts and every voice we hear makes aware of something new and different. Use of right words is an art and it is also something makes a better person. Listening is never easy though it sounds simple, being a good listener makes us a more evolved and accomplished person, the less we speak the more we hear. Controlling anger is so tough and when we do so, we see the real beauty of life, the bliss is in control not in aggression.
        I understand you are highly tied up, take your time, have a good time at the school…

        Wishing you a peaceful weekend with lots of bliss and joy.
        πŸ˜€

  17. Thank you for sharing Staci, and so refreshing to find your blog. Ill spoken words are so very hard to take back, if at all. I say them, unfortunately it is often with those with whom I love the most….my family.
    Proverbs is such an amazing book. I remember Billy Graham once quoting that for years he has read a chapter of Proverbs each day of the month. When the new month starts, he would begin again at chapter 1. God bless! πŸ™‚
    ~Carl~

    • Oh that’s great. Billy Graham is such an amazing example. The book of Proverbs is a wealth of wisdom too. I like to take a specific topic at a time with the Proverbs, like I did with ‘The Power of Words’. I have a Bible that has a bunch of topical studies, all focusing on the Proverbs.
      Thank you so much for sharing here Carl. What a blessing to have met you. I’ll be heading on over to your blog shortly too.
      Blessings πŸ™‚

  18. In Hindi there is a proverb. “kaamaan se nikla hua teer’ or zaban se nikla hua lafz’ kabhi wapas nahi aa sakta hay” It means that words are like arrows, if shooted they can never ever be taken back.

    • Ohhhhhh, hi there. I’m so sorry it’s taken me so long to respond to your amazing comment. It’s because I never got it in my notifications and just happened to see it now.
      Thank you so much for sharing that Hindi Proverb. It’s awesome, and so true. Words are arrows, and we have to be very careful with them.
      Are you from India? I’ve been there twice. Once in 2000 for a few weeks, and then again in 2008 for a few months (hubby was doing a course there). Amazing country.
      Have a wonderful weekend.
      πŸ™‚

  19. Pingback: Caught Red Handed | theoldfellowgoesrunning

Leave a Reply

