Forgiven Woman


Jpeg

Forgiven Woman – poem on mixed media

Have you ever wanted something so bad that it didn’t matter the circumstances, you went for it? That’s what happened with this woman. She knew she was dirty. She knew her life was empty and aimless. She knew that nobody respected her, especially the religious folk.

She had heard about this miracle worker and how he accepted all that were broken – the outcasts and those that society despised. She knew he would accept her. All other men looked at her as an object to be used and thrown away, and this stripped her of every ounce of dignity she had.

That’s what I love about this man. Grace, pure grace. And unconditional love. Coming to Him with a brokenness and an understanding that there is great need for forgiveness.

Have you ever wanted something so bad that it didn’t matter the circumstances, you went for it? Tell your story. πŸ™‚

80 thoughts on “Forgiven Woman

  1. That is beautiful Staci and the painting itself tells a story! We all are broken in one way or the other, but Our Father is a great healer and His Love and Grace ever present even when we don’t feel loved, appreciated, cared for, etc. ❀

    • Thanks Sibella. Hard to comprehend such love, but as He heals us, it gets easier and easier. And what love…
      The art piece isn’t my favorite. It didn’t turn out exactly as I would have liked it to. Oh well, I guess that’s why they say, ‘practice makes perfect’. πŸ™‚

      • Yes, it is hard for the human mind to comprehend unconditional love, but it’s a great gift to us and I’ll take it every day.

        The artwork is beautiful to me. In conveys her vulnerability and brokenness.

      • My inspiration was actually the woman that went into the Pharisees house and wet Jesus’ feet with her tears and washed them with her hair. A beautiful story of brokenness and forgiveness.
        Have a wonderful weekend Sibella.
        πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Yes, I agree and I really loved your post! Thanks and have a super weekend to, my sweet and wonderful friend! πŸ’žπŸ˜˜πŸ’–

      • I clicked ‘send’ before I was done lol

        I also wanted to say that I love the background and the colors of the light which I see as a sign of hope in front of her! πŸ™‚

      • Thanks so much Sibella.
        I wanted to capture the sense of being broken, and that in being broken, her true colors can shine through. I think you know what the light represents eh. πŸ™‚
        ❀

      • Yes, I do know! Those cracks are places where light enters in and heals us, so we can shine brighter than ever! ❀️

  2. It’s been a long time since I’ve wanted anything so badly. Most of those feelings were from my youth, and I’ve tempered such things as I have aged.

      • Fame, fortune, material things. Now, I’m content if my tomato plants provide me with natures gift. It was a transformative thing, although I can’t pin it down to a solitary event, but one that changed me. Once my children arrived, it seemed that my wants and desires mattered less and less. Perhaps it’s just the grand design of life and how we’re suppose to act?

  3. Beautiful, just beautiful.
    I spent a year going after a job with everything I had. I was singular in my thought to succeed and end my career with an awesome company. It all fell to pieces in the most unexplainable way. As if all my talent was turned off, nothing went right.
    Now, I’m 6 months in my “time out” and I wonder if I will ever go back. I’m wonder if not going back will be the end of my marriage.
    Wondering, waiting.

    • Really? Oh my. End your marriage? That’s heavy Wendy? Why would it end your marriage? I hope you’re ok. Hey, if you need to ‘unload’ or just share or anything, please email me ok.
      ❀

      • Thanks my friend. He’s forgotten, I’ve forgotten, I’ve let go of my place. A queen cannot let her crown fall. Her king depends on it.
        He thinks I’ve let him down. I have to help him remember that I’m still the queen.

      • Darn right, you are. Hahaha. I don’t get it though. How does he think you’ve let him down? Just because you haven’t been working for a while?
        I hope things get totally worked out for you, my friend. It’s not fun when there’s conflict and tension in the home.
        πŸ™‚

      • Awwww, thank you so much Wendy. You’ve encouraged me with your kind words, my friend. I’m so pleased and thankful that you find my posts inspiring and uplifting. May they always do that for you, and all that read.
        Have a wonderful weekend Wendy.
        πŸ™‚

  4. Staci, your poem and artwork are so powerful! When I was younger I would be relentless when I wanted something – more money or better job, forced relationships, new purchases. None of those things ever filled the hole I had. Only acceptance, self love and a faith in something greater than me could. I no longer try to force people or situations to be what I want but will occasionally ‘slip.’ I then go back to acceptance and faith and remember those never fail. Thanks, my friend!

    • Thank you so much Geralyn. I have to confess that I was a big wuss when I was younger. I have a lot more guts and gumption now to go after something I really want. Of course, those things don’t fill me, but it’s because of my faith that those desires come, and go after them in faith.
      Thanks again, my friend, and please have a wonderful weekend.
      πŸ™‚

  5. Hello my dear friend Staci!! Wow!! Wow!! This is powerful…and it is heartwarming. Yes, to have the icky film of shame removed…beautiful! Your work seems to be rising to a very profound level…and I mean your art and your words…and the way you marry them! It makes me feel good when I see your name in my inbox…I just know that I am going to be uplifted!! Much love to you dear sister! I hope you have an incredibly blessed weekend! ❀ ❀

    • Thank you so much Lorrie. I am so encouraged by your kind words. I know you already know that I am passionate about artistic expression, and it just keeps growing (this passion). I really, really, really want to make intentional art. You know, like art that isn’t just visually nice to look at, but that shares a message. I love marrying poetry and art together.
      Thanks again Lorrie. You always leave me the most uplifting comments, and I am so thankful for you.
      Love and hugs, dear friend.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  6. Great post, Staci! Like I said in mine yesterday, grace upon grace upon grace upon grace and so on… I have made some bad choices in my life at times and been down so bad roads, but I’m not going into that here. We are all sinners who fall short of God’s Grace, but that’s the work Jesus did on the cross. He died for our sins. And I do know that of we ask Him with a contrite heart the Lord promises to forgive us of all our sins, and I put my trust in that. Hugs, N πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Oh yes, grace, grace and more grace. We can’t get enough of it, can we? And thank God for that. I know that there are times that I ‘feel’ so distant from God. At times like these I like to thank Him that His love for me, and His acceptance of me is not based on feelings. Good thing, because I’m somewhat of an emotional person.
      Have a wonderful week, dear friend.
      Love and hugs.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  7. This really touched my heart πŸ™‚
    Kind of when i wanted my family to stick together , i almost gave up my studies and came to Maldives , but there are such people who will talk you through out it , and they are such wonderful people n my life i will always be in debt to. I have been on a phase that i have done things and i regret them. But it all led me to be a better woman . Wonderful poem Staci. Xoxo

    • Ohhhhh, I’m so glad this touched your heart and impacted you. And thank you so much for sharing your personal experience here. It’s wonderful to have special people in our lives that we can talk too.
      I think we’ve all done things that we regret. It’s part of human nature. I, for one, believe that we live in a fallen world, but that we have a beautiful creator that is full of grace, and made a way for forgiveness to happen. Good thing. If not, we would be all out of luck.
      Are you originally from the Maldives? Where are you now?
      Have a wonderful week Her Excellency Idiot.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Ohhh, I would love to visit the Maldives. I have been many places in the world, but never to the Maldives. If I ever get the chance, I will definitely take you up on that. πŸ™‚
        Also, if you ever want a vacay, you too are invited to brazil.
        πŸ™‚ ❀

  8. Pingback: ForgivenΒ Woman | Crimson Awakenings

  9. This poem is really powerful and spoke to me. This shows the redemption that we have and can receive through God. I can relate to in the mistakes I’ve made and wishing to go back in time to start again. But as your poem explains, redemption is that starting again–God makes all things new πŸ™‚

    • Oh yes, He certainly does make all things new. We are new creations when we come to Him and receive His gift of grace and forgiveness.
      I’m so glad this spoke to you Crystal, and thank you so much.
      Have a wonderful week. Fingers crossed that employment doors will open up.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  10. Indeed such a beautiful poem and it encompasses a whole new perspective…it is still ringing in my ears and I trying fathom the depth and the profound thought embedded inside the words.

    Yes, many times in life we want certain things so desperately, we give a miss to everything and take things on a stride and try to fight the system out and the things we want get done, get it done…circumstances is challenged and status are questioned and we go that extra mile to reach our desired destination.

    There are these lovely people all around and we don’t when and how they come, but they come when we need them and they what we have never expected and take us to the place and space which makes us just not happy but fully elated. We need to rely on our conviction and there is these beautiful hopes waiting to hug us and take care of us, provided we submit ourselves to the good faith of many good people around us.

    Staci, I just loved the power behind the thought of the poem, it is defining and the starting words to state….”silent screams and unheard cries”
    πŸ˜€

    • Thank you so much for your kind words and appreciation Nihar. I’m so glad you liked this.
      My inspiration for this one was the story of the sinful woman that entered into the religious person’s house where Jesus was eating and cried upon His feet, then washed her feet with her hair. She didn’t care that the home was of religious people that would judge her and look down on her. She just new she had heard wonderful things about Jesus and knew that she could find healing and forgiveness of her sins from him. It’s an amazing and powerful story. Jesus treated her like a unique individual, worthy of love and respect. The religious folk didn’t. I guess Jesus showed them what it truly means to practice religion eh. Hahaha.
      Thanks again Nihar, and have an excellent week.
      πŸ™‚

      • Religion and God are such powerful intangibles of our life, we believe in God and we practice religion that is based on our faith, but when done so in good faith and in right way, it changes us and the world around us. The evolved person we become, the more humble and the generous we become, and our belief on God should make us to be bring goodness to life and do good at about people and society we live in. But the prejudices and the negative forces pushes us into wrong track and we look to get swayed by the disruptive forces…

        Yes, the strong faith can change the way others look at us and such powerful stories only reinforces our belief on God and the way we think and work in such distress time and difficult situations.

        My pleasure to read such powerful thoughts that keep coming from you post after post.
        πŸ˜€

      • Thank you so much Nihar. You always encourage me. I’m so pleased that you enjoy my posts.
        Yes, you are right. Religion and God are very powerful intangibles. I’m not big on the whole ‘religion’ aspect and all. I firmly believe that God wants a relationship with people. That we were made in His image and likeness, and so we desire that relationship, because he is a relational God. I also believe that’s why we are creative beings as well. He is the creator of all, and so it’s in our nature to create. I think it’s normal to be ‘religious’ in a sense. Religion gives moral guidelines and is an man-made institution for the following of these guidelines. When I talk about relationship with God, I believe that what is good, right, moral, just, fair, etc is something that naturally flows out of that relationship. As you already know, I believe that we are all sinners. We have all done wrong. I also believe that we need forgiveness. Religion, I think, is man trying to find God’s forgiveness through the way he lives. Like trying to do good deeds and be a moral person and all. But relationship causes the natural flow of that to happen. Although I do still believe that we will still sin, even though in that relationship, but no longer ‘willfully’ sin. Sin is in our nature. We were born into it, and until we leave this material world, we will struggle with it.
        Phew. Ok, now I’m just going on a band wagon here. So sorry Nihar. I don’t even know if any of this is making sense. I hope it does.
        At any rate, please have an amazing day, and rest of the week.
        πŸ™‚

      • Not at all Staci, I love this wonderful perspective you keep sharing and it is always an inspiration and revelation for me.
        Indeed it so true that we have not seen God but there is a believe and firm one that there is this Almighty who is somewhere within us and takes care of us, guides us and tells us how to live life. But we are human beings and once one earth and in midst of nature, we keep nurturing our nature and look at things in life and how to learn and live life. In the process we commit so many sin and nothing wrong in doing so, but learning and not repeating sins make life look beautiful and better.
        Religion is way of life and we all have our set of beliefs and these govern our way of thinking and living life, religious believes are fascinating part of our life and when we look at different religion and look at the practices some are common and there are others which has totally different and we find it difficult to accept and appreciate, then comes the challenge of alignment. Accepting different view points and different ways of living life is art of living. The relationship between God and Religion remains a mystical one and that mysticism keeps has hooked and going…
        Thanks so much and you too have a lovely weekend.
        Take Care!!!
        πŸ˜€

      • Nihar, reading your comment here made me think of something I read this morning. Actually, not just this comment, but also your last comment concerning religion and all. I’ve been reading some of Jesus’ teachings lately and there was this one where He spoke about being the bread of life. I wanted to do some further study so I went into a site that I have liked to read in the past. I wanted to share with you something that the author wrote, which I found phenomenal:
        “If there is anything the history of human religion tells us, it is that people seek to earn their way to heaven. This is such a basic human desire because God created us with eternity in mind. The Bible says God has placed [the desire for] eternity in our hearts (Ecclesiastes 3:11). The Bible also tells us that there is nothing we can do to earn our way to heaven because we’ve all sinned (Romans 3:23) and the only thing our sin earns us is death (Romans 6:23). There is no one who is righteous in himself (Romans 3:10). Our dilemma is we have a desire we cannot fulfill, no matter what we do. That is where Jesus comes in. He, and He alone, can fulfill that desire in our hearts for righteousness through the Divine Transaction: β€œFor our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God” (2 Corinthians 5:21). When Christ died on the cross, He took the sins of mankind upon Himself and made atonement for them. When we place our faith in Him, our sins are imputed to Jesus, and His righteousness is imputed to us. Jesus satisfies our hunger and thirst for righteousness. He is our Bread of Life.”
        –I know it’s a bit long, but I really loved what he said about religion, and how it’s basically humans trying to make their way to God. If you would like to read the whole article, you can do so here: http://www.gotquestions.org/bread-of-life.html
        Anyhow, I’ve opened up to your blog and see you have something about the flavours of India. Yeah! I’m off to read it now.
        πŸ™‚

      • Indeed Staci, this is something very powerful, I agree a perspective not easy for all of us to comprehend…desire in life and nothing we can to earn our way to heaven. Sin is an integral part of our life and living. We all commit sin, some knowingly and many unknowingly. We all say we should deserve to desire but what all we should do to deserve to fulfill our want and aspiration. The only we feel to be righteousness when we repose our faith on God and way to reach the heart of God is through the path of religious belief. Will definitely read “Bread of Life”…

        I was discussing and one of my friend suggest I should see the movie “Heaven can Wait”, i don’t know whether you have seen it and if not you can watch it and we can have a discussion on the same, as it was highly recommended by my friend.

        Indeed God has placed eternity in our heart…it is for us to look at it the way we want to do so.
        πŸ˜€

      • Heyyyyy, that’s a great idea Nihar. I will check it out online and watch it. Then we can discuss it. Let me know when you watch it ok.
        Have a great weekend. I guess yours has already started eh.
        πŸ™‚

      • Yes, Yes Staci…we will watch it and catch up on an insightful debate, I look forward and I am sure we shall have an exciting discussion.
        Not yet, will try to do so this weekend…
        Take care!!!
        πŸ˜€

  11. A beautifully written piece, and such well matched art work. What I want to know is what came first the picture or the words and is it always the way your work starts? As to what I want, it is often what I can’t have, but I aspire to know what I need 🌈

    • Awww, thanks so much Peter. What a sweet thing to say. This one here was the words first. Actually, I started writing it, and thought I was going in one specific direction, but then it changed as I started thinking more about it. I’ve been doing some drawing tutorials online and thought that this back-side figure drawing would fit great in an art piece coupled with the poem.
      Sometimes I write first, then think on the art piece, but not always. Sometimes I get a general idea and some words, and I may have a picture in my mind. It’s not always the same.
      Thanks again Pete, and have a wonderful day.
      πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Vashti. I’m so glad you like it. I loved your last post (the quote one – I left you a comment there) about the whole ‘doing the necessary, then possible, and then the impossible happens.’ I was thinking of it this morning and you know, I believe I just may have the guts to go ahead and ‘just do it’ for some stuff that I’ve been thinking about. I think it’s great that you did.
      πŸ™‚

  12. I love love love this poem Staci, every word you wrote made sense and spoke to me on a very personal level. I’m always at loss of words when I read your work because you always say the things I wish I could say. It’s a beautifully done piece, perfect in each and every way. Their are quiet a few things I want badly in my life but I don’t think I’ll ever run after them at any cost. There will always be something for me to consider, I won’t ever attain those dreams without considering the circumstances and maybe that’s my biggest hurdle….

    • Oh my gosh Zee. I don’t know what happened here. I thought I responded to this, but now that I’m looking back, I noticed that there is no response.
      I love this comment you made. You are so sweet and I am so thankful for your appreciation and sweet words.
      Please forgive this very late reply. It was not intentional.
      Love and hugs sweetie.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Oh it’s alright Staci, happens to everyone of us. It was a pleasure visiting your corner of the blogging world and read your wonderful writing. You are always welcome ❀

  13. Absolutely beautiful, Staci! This could be more story. It is amazing how Jesus can take away our dirty rags and give us robes of white. What a gift to be forgiven. I think the dirtier we were the more amazing His gift is for us! I’m in awe of Him each day!

Leave a Reply

