Killing Me Softly


Killing Me Softly 2-a

Have you ever been deeply impacted by a song? I have. The above poem was inspired by the song ‘Killing Me Softly‘. I actually posted this poem recently, but I wanted to put my own mixed media art piece to go along with it.ย  I had the idea to use a dandelion, because I thought it apropos for the message. Once the dandelion has reached it’s life’s end, the wind comes along and blows its seeds all about, falling where they may. Then new flowers are born. Strong flowers with deep roots. Pesky weeds to many gardeners, that’s how strong their roots are. It makes me think about my own experiences. 10 years ago I sensed that God was sharing a message with me through this song, and just recently I sensed that he was showing me that he has been killing me softly throughout these years. The wind of His spirit came and blew away what needed to die, but those seeds fell and produced new life. New life that has deep roots. New life rid of the old and weak.

Have you ever been deeply impacted by a song? Which song? How did it change you?


Unfortunately, I don’t have the type of brush to be able to do fine details like the swoops on the dandelion. I guess we can’t be pleased with everything we do. If you would like to read the original post that inspired this poem, you can do so here.

Poetry Form: Gogyohka

55 thoughts on “Killing Me Softly

  1. Most music will create memories for me. Hal Ketchum had a song in the early 90’s called I Know Where Love Lives. It’s always a reminder to me that I create my own environment. Whether I’m rich or poor, full or empty, I carry love in me.
    Great post on the Dandelion. You are such a talent. ๐Ÿ˜Š

    • That’s great Wendy. I don’t think I’ve ever heard that song. Maybe I’ll have to see if I can find it online and take a listen.
      Thank you so much Wendy, for the encouraging and sweet words. I’m so glad you like this.
      ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

  2. Your painting is beautiful and so is your poem. I’ve always loved that song by Roberta Flack. She was my favourite singer in the 70s. I really like how the Lord spoke to you through it.

    • Ohhhhh, thank you so much Teresa. Yes, it’s quite amazing how He spoke to me through it. When I first sensed him giving me this song 10 years ago, I thought that he was going to kill others softly through me. Through my songs and writing and all. Then just recently He showed me that it wasn’t that at all. That he was killing me softly. And boy did he.
      Bless you.
      ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Recently, just about any song from Matthew West has had a great impact on my life and the life of my kids – my son in particular. We especially like, “Do Something,” “Forgiveness,” and “Grace Wins.”

  4. Aaah so beautifully expressed. There are so many songs that Impacted me deeply. some of them being “Give me love” by Ed Sheeran, “Breathe Me” by Sia and there’s a looong list after that…

    • Ohhhh, hahaha. I knew you would have a long list. You’re the queen of music, my friend.
      I’m so glad you liked this Zee, and thought it beautifully expressed. Just a simple Gogyokha poem.
      Have a great week sweetie.
      ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I remember Roberta Flack singing this song, Staci. We had it on a record. ๐Ÿ™‚ Songs have always influenced me, and speak to me, depending on where I am in my life. I’ve listened to songs (usually the sadder ones when I’m in a dark place) repeatedly, hanging on to the message of hope that is usually there. The dandelion and your post is a perfect match to the song.

  6. Music has always touched me in a way that nothing else does. Lyrics can be powerful to build or tear down depending on the artist. Killing Me Softly used to be one of my favorite songs! This a beautiful piece of artwork and the words are amazing, Staci! You are so gifted. Get your artwork up on Fine Art, woman!!!!!!!

    • Hahaha. Thanks Kirsten. Yea, Daniel’s going to photograph the art for me. I really do have to get to it don’t I? I’m such a procrastinator. Or maybe it’s just the CADHA coming out. Hahaha. So much I want to do, so little time.
      ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I’m glad Daniel is going to photograph the art for you. I can’t wait to see your art up on that site! People are going to love it!

      • I sure hope so. Haha. Hopefully I know how to market it. I’ve pinned a Youtube article about how to sell your art from this painter I like to watch. Haven’t watched it yet. Could have nothing to do with what I need, but it’s a start.
        ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Music is sort of my weakness, anything with Ed Sheeran get’s to me, Christina Perri, Mumford and Sons, ColdPlay.. I am currently obsessing over Adele’s new single Hello.

    • Oh yes, I think I’ve heard of Adele’s new song. I’ll have to check it out and make sure I know which you’re talking about.
      Have a great week Jennifer.
      ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Stripping away another layer – fantastic word picture! Parts of us must die so that we can become new creations. I know that truth, but to be honest the process can be painful. I have to remind that then end result will be worth it! And it always is with the Lord!

    • The process is totally painful. Not always, but mostly. And the end result is more than worth it. It’s very freeing actually.
      I’m so glad you enjoyed this.
      Have a great week.
      ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I love how you compared the dandelion and song to God transforming your old life to something new, stronger and better. I find that extremely encouraging for myself. There are so many songs that meant something to me. One that comes to mind is “Because You Loved Me” sung by Celine Dion.

    • Thank you so much Crystal. I’m so glad this spoke to you. Yea, I’ve been into finding ‘God analogies’ in nature for the last little while. I think we can learn a lot about God and our walk with him through things we see in nature. It’s been quite revelatory for me actually.
      Hope you had a nice weekend, and that you have a great week ahead.
      ๐Ÿ™‚

      • So far, so good. Busy and a bit stressful, but that’s life, right.
        ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope your week has been going well. Anything new on the job search?

      • So far with the job search I found a temp job helping a company with data entry, but I have yet to get a start date, so I may have to keep looking. However, I am hopeful something good will come along soon. Thank you Staci for asking and have a wonderful weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ohhhhhh Himali, my friend. So good to see you here. Thank you so much. I’m so glad you ‘love’ this poem. Yes, life is full of cares. And beauty too. โค
      How are you anyhow? What's new with you?
      Have a great week.
      ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

  10. Super awesome! I am influenced by music all the time. In my dark days I listen to Gospel and Christian music and I am lifted up and ready to face the challenges. Pentatonix music works wonders on my heart and soul! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Pentatonix is awesome. I will be doing a devotional based on their version of “The Little Drummer Boy”. It’s for an online faith art community actually. Many different people will be doing devotionals based on different Christmas songs, and I got this one and, “Breath of Heaven” by Amy Grant.
      Thanks Sibella. I actually want to redo this painting because I don’t like how the dandelion turned out. I bought some new brushes that I hope will do the whole swooping thing that I need for the petals.
      ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

  11. Ah! I LOVE IT! I ADORE IT!!!Wow, Staci…I remember that post…and what you have created here is fantabulous!!!! I love the colors…they were my wheelhouse colors like crazy a few years ago…and I can’t seem to shake them!! Thank you for the beauty you put in the world!! โ™กโ™ก

    • Awww, thank you so much Lorrie. I’m so glad you liked this. Yes, those colors. I didn’t want to do just a sky scene. And you know how I love mixed media. I wanted some type of texturized/mixed media background, but wanted to keep blue the dominant color.
      Bless you, dear friend. You always bless me.
      ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

Leave a Reply

