Color me yellow


Color me yellow - Part 5 of a 9 part poem on mixed media

Color me yellow – Part 5 of a 9 part poem on mixed media

Don’t you just love the color yellow? It’s such a cheery color. It makes me think of the sun, sunflowers and summer.

Did you know that yellow resonates with the left side of the brain, which is the side of logic? It’s considered non-emotional, and can make one more analytical.

Yellow for me says ‘FUN’. Who doesn’t like fun? It makes me think of the sun waking me in the morning and kissing my brain, stimulating serotonin function.

What does yellow say to you?

70 thoughts on “Color me yellow

  1. Yellow gets a bad rap, being linked with cowardice. I like your take on it better – makes me think of all the beautiful things i love in shades of yellow: dandelions, golden light, buttercups, children’s hair (sometimes), bumblebees, fall on the prairies…
    Thanks, Staci – it’s great to slow down and think on the beautiful shades of creation – not a grey world at all!
    God bless you and all your family.

    • Awwww, thanks so much Rob. I never would have thought of yellow as being associated with cowardice. I always think of it as cheery. In my research though, I did find out that it can also cause aggression and is totally non-emotional. Interesting eh?
      Yes, you are so right. It is not a grey world at all. Especially when it’s splashed with His colours.
      🙂

  2. Yellow is to optimism, fun..,,grt take
    Graceful work…those eyelashes are so cute….girl and the sun .lolzz 😀
    @ yellow resonates with the left side of the brain…thnks i didn’t knew tht

    • Thank you so much Saaransh. Oh yes, definitely optimism. It really does say optimism and fun.
      I’m so glad you like the eyelashes. I love the whole whimsical girly thing.
      Yea, I was surprised by that little piece of information @ yellow being so left brain. I still think that it can evoke emotion though. Hahaha.
      Have a great day.
      🙂

  3. To me, yellow is sunshine, summer and the beach. It’s vacation time and warmth – all good things! I loved your artwork. Is it a combination of pencil and brush?

    • Oh yes, totally agree. Summer, sunshine, beach, fun, etc. Yellow screams those things I think. Speaking of vacation… I’m off to a wonderful place called ‘Caldas Novas’ for about four days, leaving Sunday night. While Daniel is in Lebanon, this will be good for me and the kids to have something to do, and have fun.
      Awwww, thanks so much. I’m so glad you ‘love’ the artwork. I actually used watercolour pencils with a brush. I also used a bit of watered down acrylic, a couple of gelli-roll pens and a couple of distress markers. Oh yes, and a pencil.
      Have a great night Rob.
      🙂

  4. I like yellow and can be very emotional, too. 🙂 To me, yellow is bright and sunny but also warm and comforting. I’ve been in many kitchens that are painted yellow; I think they’re the heart of a home.

    • You know, I don’t get that about the whole yellow being so left brain. I think it causes emotion too. It certainly represent happy and well-being to me.
      Oh yes, yellow kitchens. That makes sense as they are the heart of the home. A cheery and inviting place.
      Thanks Geralyn. Have a great evening.
      🙂

  5. Love the picture! Awesome! ❤️ My mom always told me yellow was her favorite color on me. Yellow isn’t my favorite color on me but my mom loved it. Whenever I have a challenging day ahead I always wear yellow so I can feel my mom some way. I always leave her yellow flowers at her grave. It represents love to me ❤️
    Love this post! 🙂

    • Awwwww Trini. You are so sweet. Thank you so much for your kind and generous comment.
      Speaking of lemons, the base color that I used for this piece in the background is a lemon yellow. 🙂
      And speaking of buttercups… you have given me an idea. Thank you for that.
      Have a lovely day (or evening for you now I guess). 🙂 ❤

  6. Yeppers, yellow is a happy, happy color! And I loved that my granddaughter called it wellwo when she was young. It will always be wellwo to me and remind me of happy, sunny days. Love, N 🙂 ❤

    • Definitely. I can’t see yellow as being anything but happy.
      Awwww, that’s cute @wellwo. Hahaha. And now look at her all grown up eh.
      So sorry it’s taken so long to respond N. Hubby is traveling and things have been a bit busy.
      Hugs and love. :-0 ❤

  7. Yellow = Sunshine, Hope and colour of SMILEYS 🙂 Lovely painting and beautiful look of the yellow crumpled background 🙂 You are so amazing ! Hugs ❤

    • Heyyyyy Himali. I think the snow effect comes automatically every December 1-31. I am on my phone in bed right now. I will have to check tomorrow ok. 😘

    • Wheyey Sweet Himali. I figured out how to put falling snow on your blog. You need to go into your settings, then scroll down to ‘other’. There is a box there that says, ‘Show falling snow on my blog until January 4th.’ Click on that and the snow will start to fall.
      Hope you’re doing well. I’m so sorry it took me so long to respond. Hubby is traveling and things have been a bit busy.
      Hugs. 🙂 ❤

  8. Another lovely piece of art!
    I love yellow, especially in the nature; yellow flowers and fruit, yellow fall leaves… Yellow brightens up everything. Strange thing is that I don’t like to wear yellow. I don’t have even one piece of clothing that is yellow… 🙂

    • Thank you so much Sibella. I also love yellow. I don’t normally wear yellow either. Probably because I’m fair skinned and depending on the shade of yellow, it can wash me out. I do think it’s such a cheery and happy color though.
      So sorry for taking so long to respond. Hubby is traveling, kids have finished school for the year (Brazil schools are out for summer vacation), things have been busy and I’ve been a bit blah actually.
      I hope you are well. Are you?
      🙂 ❤

      • You are very welcome! Yay for yellow! 🌻☀️🍋 Glad to hear from you and I pray those blah moments turn into joy and happiness!
        I’m better, still not 100% but going in the right direction, hope to spend a few hours painting tomorrow and bake some Christmas cookies.
        Love you my friend, be well! 😘💞💖

    • I bet you look great in yellow too. It doesn’t look so wonderful on me unless it’s a strong, bright yellow. Lighter tones can wash me out.
      🙂

    • Yes. I think so too. Good for me that I’m entering the summer season now (although it’s been very summer-like since some time in August).
      Thank you so much for sharing Carly.
      🙂

    • Oh no! Really? Awwwwww. I’m a huge fan of the sun. It does wonders for me.
      Thank you so much Ameena. And I’m so sorry for taking so long to reply. It’s because I was away for almost a week and had very little internet access.
      🙂 ❤

  9. I LOVE yellow now, of course. It was Kylie’s favorite. I think it is funny that it is considered to be a left-brained color because she was so artistic? She was a combo though, not truly right-brained either. This post made me happy to see! Thank you, Staci.

    • Ohhhhh, thank you so much Mark for such a great comment. Yea, I can’t understand how it’s considered a left-brain color either. It’s so cheery and just seems to spark right-brained creativity.
      I’m so sorry it took me so long to respond Mark. I was away at our organization’s national assembly and had very little access to internet.
      Hope you are your family are well.
      🙂

  10. Yellow makes me happy too Staci! Such a bright and lively color, so full of life ! You know what it reminded me of?? The song “Yellow” by Coldplay ! ^_^ 🙂

    P.S Such a pretty artwork, just as beautiful as you are! ❤

    • Awwww, thanks so much Zee. I’m so glad you like the artwork. And you are so sweet in your comment. 🙂
      Yellow is amazing, isn’t it. It really is such a cheery color.
      I hope you’re doing amazingly well sweet Zee. And I’m sorry for the delay in my response. I was away for almost a week, with almost no internet access. Eek. Lol.
      Love and hugs.
      🙂 ❤

  11. This is such a cheery post – if that does. It overdo the to e and feel of yellow – we actually have a soft yellow in the kitchen these days – a little tired of it – but was fresh for a while – and I really like the art with the girl in the yellow dress – side note – I rarely wear yellow – not good with my light skin tone –

    • I can’t wear much yellow either. It washes me out. But I can wear a stronger, brighter yellow. And usually if it’s together with blue. Blue is a good color for me.
      Thanks so much Yvette. I will be by soon to check out what you’ve been up to.
      🙂 ❤

      • Well take your time dropping by – haven’t been able to do too many posts this month and it is always nice to start to miss someone – ya know? Ha! So always take your time – I did not get to listen to the songs and will be back later once I do – but u know I love your voice!

      • Thanks so much Yvette. I was suppose to be traveling by now, but my daughter was sick all day Christmas and I was sick all day yesterday and we still aren’t 100 % yet. We will travel tomorrow morning. I will definitely be by today ok. Hope you had a lovely Christmas celebration with family. We had a wonderful time together with two other families here on our base. No rush or fuss. Just good simple food, fellowship and fun. Yeah!
        🙂

Leave a Reply

