Lemons & Lessons


Lessons and lemons

Lemons are sour, but with the right ingredients they turn into a refreshing, sweet treat. We’ve all heard the saying, “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade”. That’s one of the decisions I made at the beginning of this year. To make lemonade with the lemons life throws at me.

It’s no wonder they’re yellow. Yellow is such a cheery color. One of the additudes that yellow symbolizes is optimism.

There is a small, yet very powerful passage in the Bible – “Do everything readily and cheerfully—no bickering, no second-guessing allowed! Go out into the world uncorrupted, a breath of fresh air in this squalid and polluted society. Provide people with a glimpse of good living and of the living God.”

There is so much negativity in the media. So much fear-inducing information. It is easy to complain and grumble about it all. It is also easy to complain and grumble when things don’t go our way. When our comfort and personal peace is being threatened.

Life will always throw us lemons. The secret lies within what we do with them.

Yes, I think I’ll squeeze mine into some refreshing water and add some sweetener.

How about you? How do you handle the lemons life throws at you?


Original illustration and Tanaga poem.

 

71 thoughts on “Lemons & Lessons

  1. This is just wonderful, my friend! I find you to be a breath of fresh air in this polluted society, a God colored girl in a grey world! This is you! ❤ One of my doodles is about lemons and making lemonade. Great minds thing alike! 😀 Love and Hugs!!!

  2. I once read: “When life gives you lemons, sell them on eBay”. 😀 To be honest, I get a bit down when life gives me lemons, but I usually use those moments to motivate me. I suppose that we’re going to be getting lots of lemons in 2016, especially in the US. It’s election time, and both sides will be slinging the negativity. Thank goodness for yellow and all it represents. Flowers, sunshine and summer. 🙂

    • Hahahaha. That’s great. E-bay. I get down when life throws me lemons too. I think we probably all do. It’s so tough to not complain, but I’ve realized also that complaining gets nobody anywhere. Especially complaining around family members. It just causes tension I think.
      Yes, here here to what yellow represents. Makes me think of the REM song, “shiny happy people holding hands”.
      🙂

  3. Such a simple saying, but so difficult to actually apply it! Really means making the best of everything, and yes you can take something negative (sour) and make it sweet 🙂

    • Oh yes, tell me about it. It’s very difficult to ‘walk in the opposite spirit’ so to speak. It takes practice, but it’s possible.
      Thank you so much and have a wonderful day/night.
      🙂

  4. Love the art!
    What’s the song?
    Lemon tree very pretty, and the lemon flower is sweet, but the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat.
    Except for lemonade, lemon pasta, lemon curd, lemon cake, lemon cookies, lemon chicken, lemon garlic venison….
    I love lemons in general.
    The lemons in life are just exersize equipment to make us stronger. 😊

    • Hey Wendy, I was looking over my comments here in the lemmon post and realized that my reply to you went as if it was a brand new reply, instead of being directed to you. Anyhow, I’ve copied and pasted it here for ya. Hahaha. Sorry about that:

      Ha! That’s great. Love that @ exercise equipment.
      Never heard that song. Who’s it by?

  5. I love lemons 🙂 and I am with you that this year, I will make lemonade with the lemons life throws at me! Keep being positive! Thank you for wonderful spirit and beautiful art!

    • Oh that’s wonderful Indah. Good for you for making that same decision.
      Thank you so much for your sweet words of encouragement. I’m blessed by you.
      🙂 ❤

  6. Sometimes that is a hard task, depending on how bitter the lemons. I have to keep thinking about the ultimate goal given by our maker to keep seeing lemonade.

    • And I know you’ve had some very bitter lemons thrown at you Mark. I think you’ve done a great job making lemonade. You are so right about how to keep seeing the lemonade. Our eyes need to be fixed on our maker. I think that’s the only way really to get through this life, especially with the bitterest of lemons. Definitely not easy.
      Thanks Mark.
      🙂

  7. Staci, this is such a wonderful analogy and yes, lovely lessons of life. Indeed the surrounding and the media, including the social media is full of news and issues that keeps us depressed and distressed constantly hearing about negativism and disturbance in our society. Life is already loaded with so much complexity and we keep facing such multiplicity of problems, it is so important for us to look at things differently and do things in a different way to address and handle such issues. Lemon has all the properties as rightly pointed to give some succor in our life, right from the color which is itself refreshing to our eyes and yes how we treat the taste and how much sweeter we add makes all the difference.

    How do we build our tenacity to handle things, and not keep complaining and grumbling at life, I agree there is no end to it, day in day out, home or office, travelling or not travelling, meeting or no meeting, chatting with friends or sitting idle, no place is devoid of problems or issues, we just cannot escape the reality of life and problems are an integral part of life, the key lies in the acceptance of the problems and acknowledging the reality. Beautifully said the art of living lies in converting that lemon into lemonade, true life lessons…

    Thanks Staci for such a refreshing thought.
    You too have a refreshing weekend.
    😀

    • Thank you so much Nihar. Oh yes, lovely lemons. They are sour, but with the right ingredients become a tasty and refreshing treat, right? It’s all about attitude, isn’t it? There is sooooo much negative news in the media, and then we complain about every tiny little thing. As if we are the centre of the universe. Hahaha. I think that looking at things with different glasses; things such as obstacles and difficulties in our lives, then we can make the passing of it sweeter. Like allowing those tough times to shape us and teach us. We would end up being a lot less negative and a lot more happy too.
      Thanks Nihar. Have a wonderful rest of the week.
      🙂

      • Yes Staci, you right we have to become more sensitive and we are becoming more finicky for every little thing…losing our patient fast and getting anger and developing the uncalled for anxiety…yes when we switch on the news channel and the floodgate of negative news hit us from all corner, we are desperate to discover that a small bit of good news, positivity around us…really don’t is that we have become cynical or things around us has really changed.

        Yes, you are right we have allow the time tough to pass by and we need be learn the art of facing it and shaping our life…
        Indeed, lot to learn from the lemon, though sour we can turn it to our taste with that little bit of sweet, life needs that little moments of joy to spice up our life…
        You too have a lovely week ahead..
        😀

  8. Well…for the longest time I was focusing on the sour side of lemons but I am slowly but surely learning to make lemonade out of them too. I love lemonade btw 😀
    I read somewhere, “If life gives you lemon, sequeeze them in people’s eyes”, Hahaha and probably run the other way afterwards is a good option ! 😀
    And there was this another, “If life gives you lemons. Keep them. Because Hey, FREE LEMONS!!!” 😀

    • Oh my gosh. I don’t know how I missed responding to this comment. I’m so sorry Zee.
      I, like you, used to focus soooooo much on the sour side of lemons. It’s just a recent thing that I’ve started to make the lemonade. Hahaha. (I’m a fan on lemonade to btw).
      And that’s hilarious @ “If life gives you lemon, sequeeze them in people’s eyes”. I can’t say that I would actually do that, but the desire could be there. Hahaha.
      Love the free lemons too. Hahaha.
      Hope you’re doing well sweetie.
      🙂 ❤

    • Hahaha. We don’t get many lemons here so I have to settle for limeade. But yes, definitely something yummy from the sour.
      Thank you so much Lorrie. You always say the nicest things.
      🙂 ❤

  9. Interesting post for me because earlier today, I was thinking about how God can take something broken and make it beautiful. Perhaps because I had just seen a poster explaining Kintsukuroi- to repair with gold; the art of repairing pottery with gold or silver lacquer and understanding that the piece is more beautiful for having been broken.

    One of my tag lines is: take lemons, make life!

    • Oh, that’s great. I’ll have to Google that and read up about Kintsukuroi. I’ve written a couple of times on this idea of suffering, or struggles/pain producing beauty and growth. It’s not easy, nor fun while going through it, but it truly does make cause beauty. It seems like life lessons and deeper understanding comes with the struggles and trials as well.
      I remember when I was on a bus in India. I was with a team of people and we were driving right through the night. The bus broke down part way and it was raining. As we continued on our journey, every time the bus would stop, the rain would gather and fall down right on top of my friend that was sitting next to me. He was a young guy of about 18, but had the maturity of a person much older. He would just smile and say, “Ahhhhh, do all things without grumbling. Bible application.” Until today, he is one of the greatest examples I’ve had in my life. I ended up lending him my umbrella. Even took a picture of him with the umbrella open in the bus. Hahaha. Poor guy was sick the next day.
      🙂

      • Perspective right? I think suffering can produce great beauty if we have the right perspective and depending on where we anchor our beliefs. Otherwise it can produce something very ugly. Your friend had a good perspective 🙂

      • Oh totally. I’ve posted before about just exactly that. The idea that suffering and pain can be our teacher if we allow it. If not, it can crush us.
        Hahaha. Yes, that friend has the best attitude. I thought he was so fake and too goody goody when I first met him, but then I started to really like him. We spent a year together training with YWAM in Hong Kong.
        Have a great week Timi.
        🙂

  10. So true. I use to respond negatively to challenges, but now I see them as opportunities to strengthen myself and grow. I do believe that when life gives us lemons, we should make lemonade. Who knows, what we thought to be a bad thing could actually be good in the end, much like lemons 🙂

    • Oh I sooooooo hear you. I used to be so very negative and pessimistic. My husband would say to me, “that’s right Staci. First freak out, then think.” Something like that. Hahaha. He and I are extreme opposites. Maybe that’s we work so well together.
      I agree also about the ‘bad turning out good’. Like a blessing in disguise, right? All things work together for good, right?
      Speaking of lemons, I bought two yesterday to make lemonade here at home for dinner. Hahaha. We don’t normally get lemons here, just limes. Sooooo, when I saw them, I couldn’t resist.
      Bless you Crystal.
      🙂 ❤

  11. I love, ‘Do everything readily and cheerfully’. Our attitude toward things definitely influence how we feel. It isn’t always easy but we should try to do things in a happy, cheery way, because even if at the time we do not feel happy if we continue to act positively, we will eventually become happy. I love lemons––color, smell, and taste. I would make lemonade too. 😉

  12. How abt a lemon cheese cake? ….hahha
    Loved this, ‘hidden in attitude, tongues with word of gratitude’
    Wow what a lovely passage from the Bible…..u add such insight to ur readers 

  13. Hey stac! So glad to drop by and see a few new posts! Yes! And side note – you are one of my very favorite Christian bloggers – more on “why” another time- but I am thinking about this project blog idea for February and might link you in a post this month- is this cool? I assume so but also want to give you a heads up!

Leave a Reply

