Carnaval


 

ouro preto 1

Ouro Preto, Brazil – Image by: viagenstentadoras.blogspot.com

It’s Carnaval here in Brazil right now. It started Friday night and goes until tomorrow. Please forgive me for not replying to comments yet, and for being so absent. Things have been busy and eventful. I usually go to Ouro Preto for a day, but this year we are just hanging back as a family and spending time with friends, taking advantage of the 1/2 price movies at the movie theatre and recovering from the first week back to school for the kids (school year starts in February in Brazil).

Here are a few pictures of Ouro Preto. It’s an amazing city in the state of Minas Gerais, Brazil, a former colonial mining town located in the Serra do Espinhaço mountains and designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO because of its outstanding Baroque architecture (source).

Here are a few of my own photos:

20150215_152416

20150215_152514

20150215_152445

20150215_152648

20150215_153414

These last three are during the Carnaval block, where different groups parade the parade route doing their music, drums, message, etc.

I should be back to blogging regularly on Thursday.

🙂

83 thoughts on “Carnaval

    • Thank you Kristina. I’m glad you liked them. Just taken with my phone, however I start a photography course the first week of March.
      Have a great day.
      🙂

  1. Wow…great photos, Staci! Ouro Preto looks amazing. Would you mind if I share some of your pictures on Facebook? I’d like to post them with Bible passages….

    God bless all of you.

    Rob On Feb 9, 2016 5:45 AM, “A God Colored Girl in a Grey World” wrote:

    > stacilys posted: ” It’s Carnaval here in Brazil right now. It started > Friday night and goes until tomorrow. Please forgive me for not replying to > comments yet, and for being so absent. Things have been busy and eventful. > I usually go to Ouro Preto for a day, but t” >

      • I might one day (when the kids are out of college) and I have some control over my money again lol
        It looks gorgeous, very much like an old European city but with a special charm! 😉

    • Hahaha. Yeah. Yes, heat. I bet you’re about ready for some heat now eh. 🙂
      I love Ouro Preto. It is such a special place. I live only 2 hour drive from there. Yeah.
      Thanks Elizabeth.
      🙂

    • Yes, I thought those clouds were amazing. Surprisingly enough, no rain followed them. They do look like major storm clouds though, don’t they?
      Thank you so much Ameena. Carnaval ended yesterday, although business doesn’t start up and all until this afternoon, or for many, tomorrow. The kids start back to school only on Monday.
      Have a wonderful Wednesday.
      🙂 ❤

    • Isn’t that an amazing sky? Interestingly enough, it did not rain that day. It looked like a storm was surely coming, but it didn’t. Thanks so much Mia. I’ve opened up to your post ‘The Edge”. I’ll be reading it later (or tomorrow depending on time). Tomorrow is when I should get more back into the swing of things.
      🙂

      • You’re so very welcome Staci! Fortunately there was no rain, outdoor festivities aren’t that fun when you’re wet! Have a wonderful Friday! ~ Mia

  2. Please tell me! The first pic is real? Can a city look like this city from your photo? I know is carnaval there, but this pic is real?
    Your post is beautiful, Stacy ❤

    • Ohhhh, hahaha. Well, not really a photographer. But I am taking a class starting March. Yeah!!!
      Thank you so much Saaransh. Please do come and visit. You would love it.
      😊

      • Photography class yay…. sounds grt 😀
        ya Brazil trip n its carnivals are on my bucket list and wud surely visit it on my one of my many honeymoons with my wife :)…perhaps I sound too much of a buff 😛

  3. Hey Stac – I will be catching up here very soon – well I did skim posts today and will be back later to comment (especially about the art! be4cause you most recent one tied into a class project we did where I told the students we “were made to create” – anyhow, this carnaval post is very cool. I like the people and the buildings and vibe you captured – and for some reason the photo with the lime green bushes is my fav of this post. The lime green in the front has this essence to it – nature lit up with the rest behind – I don;t know – but it spoke to me.
    🙂

    • Hi Yvette. Thank you so much. And that’s great @”a class project where I told the students we “were made to create”. Love it.
      Ouro Preto is a great place, and lucky me, only a two hour drive from where I live. It’s one of the cities that UNESCO has deemed a heritage site. My husband is funny, because to him it’s just old looking. Well, he is Brazilian, so I guess it’s no big deal for him. I love it. And I’m so glad you enjoyed the pictures, especially the one with lime green bush.
      🙂

      • thanks Stac – and looking forward to catching up more next month – and I am buying your CD – that is how much I liked it. The one with you talking at the end – and well – just tasty good.

      • Awwwww, you’re too sweet Yvette. You’ve really encouraged me. Thank you so much. I’ve actually got two projects in mind at the moment, and one of them is putting my poetry to music. We’ll see. Maybe one day, time permitting. Hahaha.
        Have a great rest next month.
        🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

