You Inspire Me


You Inspire Me - Poem on Oil

You Inspire Me – Poem on Oil

I love to create. I believe we were made to create. It’s like a driving force within. There’s a certain high that comes with creating something. The inspiration high.

I am a huge fan of the Ted Talks. There’s this one I’ve watched a couple of times by Elizabeth Gilbert, the author of ‘Eat, Pray, Love’. She spoke about creativity and how it could be divinely inspired. She shared the following:

In ancient Greece and ancient Rome people did not happen to believe that creativity came from human beings back then. People believed that creativity was this divine attendant spirit that came to human beings from some distant and unknowable source for distant and unknowable reasons. The Greeks famously called these divine attendant spirits of creativity ‘Daemons’. Socrates famously believed that he had a Daemon who spoke to him from afar. The Romans had the same idea but they called that sort of disembodied spirit a ‘Genius’, which was great because the Romans did not actually think that a genius was a particularly clever individual. They believed that a genius was this sort of magical divine entity who was believed to literally live in the walls of an artist’s studio … and who would come out and invisibly assist the artist with their work and who would shape the outcome of that work (source).

Now I don’t believe that there are genius’ in the walls, but I do believe that creativity and inspiration can be divine and is something that has been carved – breathed – into each of us. Like I mentioned in a past post, we all have an impulse to create. It’s in our veins.

Do you love to create? Do you believe that we were made to create? Where do you think creativity and inspiration comes from?


The above poem is one that I wrote some time ago. I wanted to embed it into an original art piece, because in the past I had it embedded in a photograph. I’m not completely happy about the way the painting turned out, but I guess that’s all part of the learning process.

Please forgive me if I’ve been a little distant lately. I have been quite busy. I will be around very soon though ok. 🙂 ❤

81 thoughts on “You Inspire Me

  1. Yes, loved this! We are made in God’s image, the great creator. I feel at such times the spirit, words, colours, shapes flow from Him with a tangible closeness.

    • Hello Wendell. Thank you so much for your kind words. And I am so pleased that I was able to bring a smile to your face. What an encouragement.
      Please have a lovely weekend.
      🙂

  2. Love the poem and the art is brilliant! I think my creativity comes from my soul, which I think is the part of me that is of God. I think we all come with a mission in life, our soul is on a journey with a specific goal, and I think creativity is our soul trying to fulfill that mission. I think, since you need a body to draw, paint, write etc. it is so essential that our soul has taken human form, to complete the mission! 😊😊😊. That is just my belief anyway 😊

    • Trini, thank you so much. I’m so glad you enjoyed this.
      Oh yes, most definitely. Creativity definitely comes from the soul. Ultimately, what we create is an expression of our soul, right?
      I love the verses in the beginning of the Bible that say, “Then God said, ‘Let us make human beings in our image and likeness. And let them rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky. Let them rule over the tame animals, over all the earth and over all the small crawling animals on the earth.’ So God created human beings in his image. In the image of God he created them. He created them male and female.’
      –We have been made in His image and His likeness. From here I derive my thoughts on humanity: we were made to create and made for relationship. He is the master creator, and he has always lived in relationship.
      Please have a lovely weekend, my friend.
      🙂 ❤

  3. Such a lovely doll, the painting and the poetry are wonderful source of inspiration. You have mastered this art of painting and poetry. Yes, Staci we all have our own sources and it differs from person to person but there are some sources which are common and universal. Being in the midst of nature and basking in the glory of success, being in the company of lovely people and having a wonderful conversation with friends, the joy of reading a lovely book to enjoying a sumptuous spread of cuisines are all food for thoughts and foster our mind to think different and think creatively.

    Nobody exactly knows when it comes and where from it comes, yes it is a divine force and that comes and makes produce some brilliant thoughts into poetry, stories to plays to painting to singing…it takes different forms to express our creativity. I think we had a lovely discussion on these Greece and Rome, and there take on “Daemons” and the “Genius”. This is an interesting facets of how our perspectives have changed and how we have been looking at creativity, and it has a long history and it has evolved over time and has manifested in so many diverse forms.

    We all are creative people and creativity is natural and we all are bestowed with it but it all depends on us and how we nurture it and how we build on it and what means we adopt to take it further. These are our conscious decisions and constant efforts to keep the magic working otherwise we loose the steam and we are left with no source of inspiration to keep the creativity working…it becomes mundane and it is a monotony that is against the premise of building on creativity.

    Hope you are doing fine and have a lovely weekend. It’s been long that we had some good conversation and let’s catch us…take care!!!
    😀

    • Heyyyyyy Nihar, yes we did have quite a conversation about Ancient Rome and Greece, didn’t we? I had sent you that Ted Talk by Elizabeth Gilbert to watch. I have watched that more than once. Haha.
      So good to see you. I’ve been thinking about you actually. I must get over to your blog and see what you’ve been up to.
      We have also had extensive conversations on the topic of creativity, haven’t we. I know that you are one that truly appreciates this gift. I completely agree with you that we are all creative people. We may ‘create’ in different areas and spheres, but we all create in one way or another, whether it be an art or a recipe. It really does depend on us too, doesn’t it? We must nurture and invest in our talent so that we grow. If not, it just lays lament.
      Yes, I am doing very well, thank you. How are you? Please have a wonderful and restful weekend, my friend.
      🙂

      • Well well Staci, yes I fully remember we had such lovely conversation on Rome to Greece, and I really enjoyed the Elizabeth Gilbert Ted Talk…I need to watch once again.
        Things have been hectic here and been looped in various business projects and not able get the sumptuous time for writing as earlier and just managing to squeeze in some time for blogging. I agree this is not a good thing and moving away from our passion and being away from creative zone is not something I like and I am sure you also don’t like.
        The topic of creativity keeps us passionately engaged in wonderful discussion. Such is the innate power of creativity, it is inspiring and at times it in intriguing and he combination of both makes it a fascinating space to be and life without creativity is not just mundane but sets in monotony which is an antithesis to living life in its totality. We are all creative people and we must allow that creativity to take shape and show us what we all can create and make magic out of nothing through our creative talent hidden, lying low and suppressed by the routines of life, it needs the spark and the ignition comes from different quarters…

        Yes, need such lovely breaks, rarely I am getting it and weekend are a big relief from the week days grid and thanks so much for being such a wonderful friend…
        take care!!!
        😀

      • Hi Nihar
        “being away from creative zone is not something I like and I am sure you also don’t like.”
        –Most definitely. If I don’t get my space, I can get moody. Hahaha.
        I also think this ‘creative’ nature is one of the things that sets us apart from the rest of the animal kingdom.
        I hope you had an amazing weekend, and that you did get some time to relax Nihar.
        Have a lovely week ahead, my friend. Thanks to you too.
        🙂

      • I agree Staci, creativity and being in the creative zone is intoxicating and inspiring, the best thing that one can have in life is able to dabble in such space with ease and as and when needed. But given the business occupation and daily grind, it sometime goes out of our space and not a good place to be there…we keep looking for ways and means to get back to our home, the home of creativity. Whether painting, writing, leisurely lost in the nature, nurturing our senses…the list goes on and on…
        Yes, weekend was good and getting back to track and hope will be able to spend more time here. Break is such big relief, it keeps rejuvenating and we need more frequently given the deeper engagement we are in our work and life-work balance gets imbalanced…
        Always, always such great pleasure talking to you and sharing such lovely thoughts and for that thank you so much…take care!!!
        You too have a great break and enjoy the best time with self…
        :D:D

  4. It is so fun to see how God has created all of us to create, and in such unique ways. I love to write, my son loves to create music, my daughter loves to create new baked goods, my husband loves to create puns, one friend loves to create order, another loves to create beauty in her home, the list goes on. I am so blessed that He has allowed me to enjoy your beautiful creations of art and poetry! Blessings!

    • Heather, yes I agree with you. We were all made to create. Not all in the same area, but we definitely all create.
      Thank you so much for your lovely comment, and for the kind words. I am also blessed to know you and read your posts, my friend.
      Please have a lovely weekend.
      🙂 ❤

  5. I like the painting a lot – but I know how things do not always come out the way we want – and for me – my very favorites are pieces I have done for class samples and took less than an hour – for some reason, I like them most.

    anyhow – cool poem too – and how do you put that on an oil?

    • Hey Yvette. Your story reminds me of that saying, “keep it simple stupid.” Haha. It’s seems like the simplest things are the nicest. Like the Beattles. I think they were the 3 chord wonder guys, but look how famous they were. 🙂
      Ohhhh, haha. I digitally put the poem in. I took a photo of the art and then uploaded it to my computer and digitally wrote the poem.

      Hope you’re well.
      🙂 ❤

      • oh thanksfor sharing and actually remember hearing rick warren say that the reason his “purpose driven life” book so long was because he made sure every entry was on a single page and that out was simple….
        and I remember the keep it simple stupid quote – did you know that there are actually a series of books with the “KISS” acronym – they are supposed to be like the “Dummies” series of info books – and I had a couple KISS books and they were pretty decent. It was a while ago.
        anyhow, hope you are well too – things here are nice – a quiet start to June – with lots of sunshine on the first day – and do you know why this is so special?
        it is because last month – May 2016 -w as the most rain we have had in May in our town since the 1800’s – so that means there were a lot of rainy days – I was busy with misc. so it was fine… but the sun today was nice – I did yoga outdoors and oh my…..
        sending hugs your way today…
        peace

      • Hi Yvette. I did not know that @there are actually a series of books with the “KISS” acronym. That’s great. I wonder if they have one for drawing. Hahaha. Actually, my mom gave me ‘The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Drawing.’ I’ve only gotten through the first three chapters. I need more time Yvette. Ugh.
        Well, we are getting colder here. Lots of rain this morning. It was heavy.
        Hope you’ve had a nice week, and that your weekend is wonderful.
        🙂

  6. I believe we were made to create, too, Stacy. We have this talent in our DNA. But some people can’t discover (recognize) this little secret that they have. But you… You embraced your little secret.
    xoxo ❤

  7. Checking in to say hello, Staci. As always, I love your art and poetry. Hoping to get back to some creative writing very soon. I miss taping into the creative part of me. Been busy with my new job and my friend. Sending love your way!

    • Heyyyyy Geralyn, so great to see you. I was actually in your blog not too long ago to see if you had written anything recently. I hadn’t seen you in my Reader for so long. How is the new job going? And how is your friend?
      I hope all is well, and thank you so much for the visit and for your lovely words of encouragement.
      Please have a lovely weekend.
      Looking forward to your return.
      🙂 ❤

      • Hi Staci, Making a slow re-entry in blog community but haven’t posted anything new. My friend is better but still very much impaired. She’s got a very, very, very long road ahead and is still in rehab. I am well. Life is good, trying to stay grateful! Hope you and your family are all well. Enjoy your weekend!!

      • Ohhh, so glad to hear that you are making a re-entry Geralyn. I’ve thought of you during your absence. It’ll be nice to see your posts again.
        I’m sorry to hear about your friend, but I’m glad that she has made some progress. She’s lucky to have friends like you that are there for her.
        I’m doing well thank you, and my family too. I had some bumps in the beginning of the year, but thankfully things have smoothed out. Haha. That’s life thought I guess, eh.
        I hope you had a wonderful weekend and that you have a lovely week ahead.
        🙂 ❤

  8. Staci, how lovely your poem echoes a similar theme which was captured in the Ted Talks with Elizabeth Gilbert, especially the part where she talks about creativity being inspired by the divine. As always a wonderful poem and beautiful artwork. I love the use of the repeat, “You inspire me”. I also enjoyed reading your other post, “Impulse to create and establish order”, it’s a perfect companion piece to this post.

    For some the need or desire to create is like breathing, it just has to be done. For others I think the fear of judgment holds them back and lastly there maybe those that have no desire, which is difficult for me to believe. The reason I say this, is because we as human beings need to tell our story. Often we tell this story in the subdued and subtle fashion of artistic creation, in whatever medium is available.

    I also believe for a creation to be successful we have to be earnest, putting ourselves into the effort, otherwise the exercise of creation is futile and it might as well have come off an assembly line. These are just my thoughts and I’m sure anyone can rebuke them.

    Another wonderful post my friend. Inspirational and most thought provoking. Wishing you an enjoyable Friday and weekend. Take good care. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

    • Mia, thank you so much for your kind words.
      You know, when I was doing this on Thursday, I thought of our recent conversation. I thought this so in line with it. Haha.
      Thank you also for reading the other piece too. I had posted it quite a while ago. More than a year. Maybe even two years. Not sure.
      I think that one has to have a certain level of self-esteem too to create. If one doesn’t think they’ll do any good, they just won’t try, right. I used to be like that (somewhat). The visual art thing, like the painting and all, is very new to me. I just started to really enjoy certain mixed media and art pieces that I decided I wanted to give it a try. So funny. I had always been a performing artist. Used to dance and act. Still sing (just not as much). Writing poetry and the visual arts are very new to me. Haha.
      I think that all humans were made to create, in some form or another. Some create with numbers, others with food, and still others with how they will teach a lesson. Then there are parents that are constantly looking for creative ways to take advantage of teachable moments…
      “I also believe for a creation to be successful we have to be earnest, putting ourselves into the effort, otherwise the exercise of creation is futile and it might as well have come off an assembly line.”
      –Ohhhhh, I love this comment here Mia. I totally agree. I love the story of “The Little Drummer Boy.” You know the Christmas carol? I love it’s simple, humble message. That kid didn’t have much. All he had was a little drum. But when he saw Jesus laying there, and the wise people giving him expensive gifts, he knew he didn’t have anything like that to give. He offered to play the only thing he had, his drum. I love those lyrics in the last verse, “I played my drum for him. I played my best for him. Then he smiled at me.” I used to cry when thinking about that. I thought it was so beautiful. He wasn’t perfect, just as nobody is. But it wasn’t his perfection or amazing talent that made Jesus smile, but it was the gift offered with a humble heart. Giving his all into what he did. I decided to make that my mission in life. I know I’m no great artist or writer. But I love it, and I want to do the best with the tiny little bit I have. And I think that’s what really counts. I recognize this about you too. You don’t want to just throw any old thing out there into the world virtually. You put yourself into it. It’s all about authenticity, isn’t it Mia?
      Anyhow, love your thoughts Mia, and thanks again for your kind words and for sharing.
      Have a wonderful and creative week.
      🙂 ❤

      • Staci, you’re most welcome and thank you for a marvelous reply. Well the new you is quite exceptional, it’s nice to know that you have a background in the performing arts. It’s wonderful to be able to explore all avenues of creativity, I always thought they all went hand in hand. Like you, I believe that everyone has the potential to be creative, as you say it can take many forms.

        I like that you brought up the story of, “The Little Drummer Boy”. I think when you put your heart into anything you create, you should give it 100%, that’s if you’re sincere about your creation. It’s not necessarily about quantity but rather the quality and how it’s viewed by others. When I think of “viewed”, I always hope that the work will move the viewer somehow, challenge their senses, for good or bad, leaving them with something to thinking about.

        Yes, also like you, I’m very conscientious about what I post. I don’t post just for the sake of posting. I love the following “It’s all about authenticity, isn’t it Mia?” Absolutely! I would have it no other way.

        Staci, I hope you keep creating and in as many ways possible. Your artwork and poetry are both lovely. Please enjoy the rest of your week. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      • “I always hope that the work will move the viewer somehow, challenge their senses, for good or bad, leaving them with something to thinking about.”
        –Perfect. I love that actually. Me too. Like I think I mentioned to you once before, being intentional with your art, right? 🙂
        Thank you so much for the kind words of encouragement Mia. I truly appreciate them. I hope you also keep creating, and with intentionality and meaning. I know you will. 😉
        🙂 ❤

      • Staci, I just love this, “being intentional with our art”. Truly, I know no other way, ha-ha! 🙂 You’re always most welcome, likewise, here’s to “intentionality and meaning”. I hope you enjoy the rest of your week, especially the creative part. Take good care. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      • Mia, I completely agree with you @I know no other way. Yes, yes, here’s to intentionality and meaning. 🙂
        Take care, my friend.
        🙂 ❤

  9. I enjoyed reading this piece again. I love your artistic representation. When we use our creative ways to bless others, we are doing it for the right reasons.
    ❤ love to you!!
    Dajena

    • Ohhhhhh, his there Dajena. Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. You are so sweet. Please forgive me for the delay in responding. I know you can understand the time restraints on a mother with young children. Usually I wake up Saturday not wanting to do anything. Hahaha. We run around all week, that when Saturday arrives, it’s sacred. Hahaha.
      Much love to you, my dear friend, and please have an amazing week.
      🙂 ❤

  10. Great piece 🙂 I do believe each one of us are designed to create. It can be from creating a drawing, quilt, or meal to creating a sculpture, gown, or skyscraper. I also think that people are happy when they are genuinely creating something. When the chance to create is taken away from someone, they can quite miserable.

    • Thank you so much Crystal.
      Oh yes, creating isn’t limited to the visual or performing arts, is it. It can be found even in accounting. Haha. Yuck! I’m not a numbers person.
      “I also think that people are happy when they are genuinely creating something.”
      –I know I sure am. Even if it’s not perfect.
      Have a great week Crystal.
      🙂 ❤

  11. We could “talk” forever on this subject, dear Staci! I never feel so alive as when I am creating…and that means so many things to me. Lately I have been creating a loving environment inside me…to erase the pain of loss. It doesn’t matter the former of the expression…we create things every single day!! To be aware of this is a gift…and to live in this energy is a blessing!! Much love to you my friend…have an awesome week!! (And I love your painting!!) ♡♡

    • Oh yes, we most certainly could, couldn’t we Lorrie. I also feel so alive when I’m creating something, especially if I feel like it’s divinely inspired. 🙂
      Glad to hear that you’ve been creating that loving environment. It’s so needed. I’m sorry you’ve had to go through this pain and loss Lorrie, and I hope it just serves to strengthen you.
      Thank you, my friend, and you also have a lovely week.
      🙂 ❤

      • Thank you so much for the love and encouragement, Staci! I appreciate you so much. I am sorry about it too…but I know I will be strengtbened…I know it has all happened for a reason…and I am living in “love” with kindness and gentleness. I wish for you the same feelings of peace and love!♡♡

  12. A pleasure to meet you Staci! Although the animals God created are amazing and beautiful, only humans have the gift of creating. I believe that He gave us that gift (not only because we are His children) but because of the joy He has in His creation, so that we can know the joy of creating. It is truly a gift from God.

    I concur, we were made to create. We were also made to move and that is where I find creativity and the joy of creating movement. I teach dance for fun and fitness; I’m a fitness instructor. However, my passion is worship dance, where I can express the joy of the Lord and dance before Him with all my might (as David did).

    Glad to find you (through Tammi). I’m following you and look forward to reading more on your blog!

    Keep on creating, you do it well!

    Blessings to you my new friend!

    ❤ carmen

    • Hi Carmen, please forgive me for taking so long to respond to your wonderful comment and introduction. It is because you comment did not show up in my notification. Every so often I go into my WP Admin to see if there are, by any chance, comments in my ‘Pending’ or ‘Spam’ and this morning I did that. Your comment was there.
      It is so nice to meet you Carmen, and I love that you teach dance and fitness. I used to dance myself, as well as teach fitness. I am certified in fitness and nutrition actually. At them moment I am raising a 9 year old with Asperger’s Syndrome, who I have to homeschool (thanks to the school system here in Brazil), and a 6 year. I am also investing a bit in the visual arts now. More so drawing/painting and photography.
      Carmen, it really is so nice to meet you. I will be by again to see your blog and follow you.
      🙂

  13. Wow! That last stanza blew me away! Since I was a child I loved to create. I enjoyed that bit of information from Elizabeth Gilbert––very interesting. I wouldn’t mind having a ‘Genius’ in my wall right about now. 😉 Ha, ha! Again, wonderful poem and illustration.

    • Oh that is wonderful Vashti. I think it’s in our DNA as human beings. 🙂
      I enjoyed that Ted Talk for Elizabeth Gilbert. Actually, I think it’s one of the most watched Ted Talks of all time. Her and Ken Robinson on education.
      Haha, wouldn’t that be great if we did have those genies.
      Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement Vashti. Truly appreciate it.
      🙂 ❤

  14. Staci, ur art play usually reminds me of that innocence on a child’s face..period. Nothing more can I say now.
    And the poetry ….prudently beautiful
    ‘…You cannot be contained
    Nor limited by human will
    Embracing each borrowed moment
    Omnipresent you are…’, just sublime

    Thanks for that Greek-Roman remnant I wasn’t aware of that.
    I absolutely agree we were born to create or either fall in some others creation.
    Well, I reckon creativity is in solitude, roughly we may call it soul but definitely solitude….and how do I get inspired… its by people like you 😀
    Have a grt day friend 😀

    • Heyyyyy, my good friend, Saaransh. Thank you so much for your ever so generous comment. I’m always so happy to see you here. I swear, one day if I do make it back to India, we have to meet.
      Yea, I really liked that Ted talk by Elizabeth Gilbert. It’s one of the most watched Ted Talks ever.
      Oh yes, and the creation doesn’t necessarily have to be visual or performing arts. It can be the creation of a home, of a recipe, even creating with numbers. UCK! Not me. Haha.
      Not sure about he solitude thing though. I’ve created in solitude, and I’ve had artistic inspiration come whilst in a crowded area.
      Anyhow, love your presence here Saaransh. Please have an amazing day (or night, in your case. Almost bed time there, isn’t it? 😉 )
      Bless you, my friend.
      🙂 🙂

      • I jst can’t resist from commenting on ur work…I guess m too weak for it..lolzzzz
        Yea surely whenever u plan to visit India …it wud b a pleasure 😀 ….m gonna watch this Ted talk by Elizabeth Gilbert now.
        Haha…yea its bed time here…..n wat lovely way to end my day by reading ur wonderful comment …stay blessed my friend …keep rocking 😀

      • Saaransh, for some reason I didn’t receive this comment in my notifications. Ugh. Gotta love WP sometimes.
        You’re such a lovely person Saaransh. I’m always so blessed by your sweet and kind words/comments.
        I hope you are well, my friend.
        🙂

  15. Amazing post Staci! Loved reading it and the art too. Can you please share the kind of paints/ art materials used to create this? I’m so glad I found your blog! 🙂 🙂

    • Thank you so much. I’m so glad you enjoyed this. This piece is actually all done with oil paint. I normally use more than one medium, but I have been taking an oil painting class, so I stuck with the oil. I just digitally put in the poem afterwards.
      Thanks again, and I will be over to your blog soon to see.
      Please have a wonderful weekend.
      🙂

  16. The poem has an insight. I loved the way every word in the sentence made me look out what it was that inspired you Staci. 🙂
    Creativity in an individual shines out loud as it can never follow the mundanity in the simplicity of life. The creative individuals branch out to follow their passions which nurtures and caresses their insatiable soul. There is always a ‘crack’ in their mind through which light flows and a ‘crazy’ outlook how they view the universe, nature and people at large. 🙂

    • Thank you so much Sagarika. I’m so pleased you liked it. I agree that when we create, it certainly does nurture and caress our souls.
      Have a lovely weekend.
      🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

