Dagger of Truth


dagger-of-truth-w-name

Dagger of Truth – Triple Haiku on Mixed Media

Foxes have been considered pests, sly, cunning and clever.

In Australia they are seen as an invasive species. They have caused many problems in the country, impacting the environment and agriculture, even causing many species to become extinct because of their predation.
In ancient Israel, little foxes were considered potential threats that spoil things of value. Even in the romance book of the ‘Song of Solomon’ the woman says to her beloved, “Catch for us the foxes, the little foxes that ruin the vineyards, our vineyards that are in bloom.”
Even Jesus called the monarch a fox, a negative term to imply he was a cunning and sly individual.
Foxes are little. They walk around on their tip-toes, as if sneaking around. They dig through gardens and scatter weeds.
It’s the same with the little things in our lives that we think don’t have any major impact. Little white lies, negative thoughts, cruddy attitudes, bitterness…
I, for one, don’t want to accept the lies. Truth is my dagger, and I know that when light is present, darkness must flee.
What are your little foxes?
36 thoughts on “Dagger of Truth

  1. little foxes! yes, they are around us, worst they are inside us! judgment is my big little fox, i judge myself all the time for all the tiny actions, at the end of the day i’m drained out!

    • Oh my gosh, that is so true. They are inside us.
      Sending prayers your way Elizabeth for your strength and for you to be rid of those pesky foxes.
      🙂 ❤

    • Ameena, so lovely to see you here in my little corner of the blogosphere. How are you?
      “We ignore the little things so much until they become mountains making them much much harder to defeat.”
      –That is so true. They really do become mountains.
      I’m so glad you enjoyed the parables Ameena. Please have a very nice rest of the week.
      🙂 ❤

  2. I think my little foxes are the moments when depression tends to attempt to feed me thoughts that I can’t be happy. Happiness for me is a muscle that I have to work out everyday. 🙂

    • I hear you Sonya. I used to really beat myself up about my character. It seemed like no matter how hard I tried I couldn’t have better character. Then I found out about the imbalance. That was a relief to know that it wasn’t just because I was such a horrible person.
      Here’s to a day full of sunshine and happiness. Love the ‘muscle’ analogy, btw.
      🙂 ❤

  3. “Truth is my dagger, and I know that when light is present, darkness must flee.”

    It is so lovely to read your thoughts, deep thoughts I must say. How we ignore the little things that eventually become stumbling mountains.

  4. Hey there Stacy! I found your blog today, and I’m nominating you for That’s So Jacob’s March Blog Madness! It’s simple: find five interesting blogs today, copy and paste this comment to theirs, and give them a follow! Have a great day and if you’re so inclined, kindly come visit me over at http://www.thatssojacob.wordpress.com. Have fun spreading the blog love this month!

  5. Love the art Staci, especially the Truth part. It is like I can see a light shining out. I love the comparison of foxes with the little lies that we see as harmless but eventually can destroy or hinder our progress if we ignore them. I know my fox is negative thinking, which I have been made aware of and I am becoming more conscious to what I say and think. Sometimes I would joke about myself not being able to accomplish this or do that, but I know that I have to stop and I have been getting better at being more positive. Thanks for sharing your beautiful art and words 🙂

    • Hi Crystal. Thank you so much for the generous compliment and lovely comment. I’m so glad you shared what is real for you, and how you’re dealing with it. We all have little foxes that we need to be on the look out for, don’t we.
      Please have a wonderful week Crystal.
      🙂 ❤

  6. Hello Staci! I think foxes are beautiful creatures of God and the way they walk or act is their way and the way God meant them to be. That being said, men are not foxes, so they shouldn’t act as if they were because the fox’s way is not our way and certainly not the way God meant us to be. I tend to tell ‘little white lies’ to spare people’s feelings although I prefer to always know the truth even if it hurts. I’ll be changing that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

