Struggles and Stability


“I will rebuild you with stones of turquoise”.
Way back about 18 years ago (more or less) someone told me that the struggles I was going through were necessary for my growth. In order to be stable and have a firm foundation, I needed to go through them. At the time I hated it. I was an emotional wreck, constantly questioning myself, my thoughts, my faith, my feelings… I used to be run by my feelings, but have since learned that life can’t be lived that way. Oftentimes feelings blind and deceive.
I recently came upon the above quote in the book of Isaiah. it speaks of the rebuilding of a city with precious stones, such as stones of turquoise. Turquoise has been known to symbolize wholeness, spiritual grounding and emotional balance.
I believe my friend was right. I’ve gone through a lot, but it really has served me well. I have been rebuilt with stones of turquoise.
How do you see the struggles of life? Do you allow them to cause growth?
69 thoughts on “Struggles and Stability

  1. I love that quote and it has resonated with me through various seasons of my life. By God’s grace< I believe we can use our struggles to become better not bitter.
    Btw, I didn't realize that turquoise has been known to symbolize wholeness, spiritual grounding and emotional balance. Adds another layer of meaning to the quote for me. Thanks.

    • Hi Timi, thank you so much for sharing this. That’s a great way to put it too, ‘better not bitter.’
      Yea, I didn’t know that turquoise symbolized that either. It was only after I did some research that I learned that. Interesting eh? It really does ‘add another layer of the quote’.
      Hope you are doing well. I will be by for a visit very soon.
      🙂

  2. Love the beautiful art work!! Turquoise is one of my favorite colors! I think you are right, struggles are definitely there to help build us, but I don’t think we need them to become beautiful. Some do, not all. Life isn’t perfect or fair, but it is how we respond to that unfairness that makes us who we are, I think. 💖💖💖

    • Hi Trini, thank you so much. I’m so glad you ‘love’ the art work. Turquoise is also one of my preferred colors. It’s so rich.
      I agree with you. Sometimes struggles, if we don’t allow them to be our teachers, can even turn us into bitter people, which isn’t very beautiful at all. And life is anything but perfect or fair, isn’t it. I guess the good thing about that is that it takes the pressure off of us to expect perfection too.
      Hope you had a nice weekend Trini. We have a holiday here today in Brazil. It’s Labor Day. That means I got to sleep in. Yeah!!! 😉
      Have a wonderful week Trini.
      🙂 ❤

  3. One has to allow for the growth intended, I think. Keeping our eyes set on the lovely picture created for us. It’s hard to do, but every day we have to make the choice to see the positives. Enjoy the ebbs and flows. Your art is beautiful, Staci. I’ve been drawn to turquoise lately. I’ve seen it twice today already while reading posts. Love the subtle pokes to the heart. Enjoy your weekend, friend. ♡

    • Hi Audrey, I agree. That is so true. One does have to allow for the growth intended. Many people become bitter and angry with struggles and hardships. I think it’s best to allow them to be our teachers. Like you said, ‘it’s hard to do’, but He gives us grace, right? 😉
      Thank you so much for your words of encouragement and appreciation. I know I’m not Rembrandt or da Vinci, but I really do like the whole whimsical/mixed media thing and try my hand at it. Hahaha. I’m so glad you liked it.
      I love turquoise. It’s such a rich color and it goes well on me. hehehe.
      Hope you had a nice weekend Audrey, and please have a great week.
      🙂 ❤

    • Awwwwww really? Thank you so much Vashti. I’m so glad you enjoyed this. And I’m really glad that it inspired you as well. I used to be really lead by my emotions, but time has taught me a number of lessons, thankfully.
      Hope you have a wonderful week.
      🙂 ❤

  4. Again, great words and a creative arrangement of them! When I read your post, I immediately thought about the song, Blessings by Laura Story. A long time ago, I used to see struggles as a curse, due to something I’ve done or was doing wrong. I even went as far as seeing them as a family curse, something due to what my relatives did years before. But that was before I truly knew God. I now see struggles as a normal part of living in a fallen world, but also necessary to become the person God wants us to be. Struggles are part of the refining process I would say 🙂

    • Hi Crystal, thank you so much. I used to think similar to you. Whenever I felt anxious, I thought it was because I had done something wrong. It was only after much healing and growth that I came to understand that that wasn’t the case.
      We will always have struggles. Like you said, we live in a fallen world. Until we part here, there will always be trials.
      Please have a lovely week Crystal.
      🙂 ❤

  5. Beautiful picture and a good point made. I have grown immensely through my struggles, but I’ve also shrunk back in ways. There’s a tension in the battle.

    • Ohhhh, thank you so much Mark. That is a very interesting thing you’ve touched on @there’s tension in the battle. That is so true. Like a war of sorts at times, right.
      Hope all is well with you and your family.
      🙂

    • Hi Carmen, it’s been a while eh. I have been very busy lately, and my blog has taken a toll because of it.
      At any rate, sorry for the delay in responding.
      I also really like turquoise. I completely agree with what you wrote.
      Please have a lovely day and rest of the week.
      🙂 ❤

  6. I am an emotional wreck too, and I don’t know ever as to what to do with them. They are just sometimes bottled up. But I agree with you that these experiences are must, they help you grow. And this quote is just perfect, as if just made for this situation.

    • Hi Moushmi, so great to see you here. Please forgive me for taking so long to reply. I haven’t had much chance lately.
      I can empathize with feeling like an emotional wreck. I have been there so many times myself. I have definitely grown through them though, and for that I’m thankful.
      Thank you so much for such a lovely comment. Please do have a lovely week.
      🙂 ❤

  7. I know for a fact I wouldn’t be the man I am today if it wasn’t for my trails. I also know it’s the reason for my strong relationship with God today. Looking back I can clearly see it was all part of His plan for me.

    • Hi Vernon, so great to see you here. It’s been so long. I have been busy, so please do forgive me for the delay in responding.
      “I know for a fact I wouldn’t be the man I am today if it wasn’t for my trails”
      –I feel the same way about my life and experiences.
      He always has a plan, doesn’t he? 😉
      Please have a great rest of the week Vernon and take care.
      🙂

    • Heyyyyy Tony. Wow! It’s so great to see you back. You took a bit of a break, didn’t you? Please forgive the delay in responding. I have been a tad bit busy myself. 😉
      What a great quote. Completely agree with Robert Frost. Thanks for sharing this, and for your kind words.
      I’ll be by your blog soon to see what you have been up to.
      Please have a lovely rest of the week.
      🙂

  8. Hi Staci, the cycle of struggle and stability is such an integral part of our life and living, we all go though these phases of life and it is an inevitable process of facing the struggle to bring that stability in our life. Nothing is possible or achieved without adversity and struggle, it is only that how we face it and how we learn to navigate through to face it over and over again and handle it better. Stability gives that foundation to built one more phase of growth in our life and life is all about growth, the moment we stop growing we stagnant we loose the real zest of life.

    Growth has so many dimensions and it gets manifested in many myriad ways, from physical to mental to spiritual growth, in the way we cherish the smaller moments in our life from waiting and wanting to derive the joy of life from the accomplishment of bigger happenings in life. Life mirrors the phenomena of nature, the rain comes and goes, the sun rises and goes, the good times comes and goes, the difficult times comes and goes as well…nothing is permanent and nothing last forever, we come and go and the time remain, it is not the time that goes and world keep changing in that process of human struggle and keep reaching newer heights of stability. In our hidden voice, it is the whisper that matters, not the sound of fury and loud noise around us that keep distracting and destroying the inner peace silently sleeping deep within us. The awakening…

    It’s been pretty long Staci, how are you and how have been things. Hope you are doing great and life is beautiful, it is only that we have to pause and reflect, take a break and make a reconciliation with ourselves. There is so much to do…
    😀

    • “Nothing is possible or achieved without adversity and struggle”
      –this makes me think of the age old saying, “No pain, no gain”. I used to use that saying when I was teaching physical conditioning classes. Hahaha.
      “it is only that how we face it and how we learn to navigate through to face it over and over again and handle it better.”
      –Nihar, I decided some time back that I would start to try and make lemonade out of the lemons life throws at me. And it really is all in the attitude. How are we going to deal with those lemons? Are we going to grumble and complain, or allow struggles to be our teacher?
      “the moment we stop growing we stagnant we loose the real zest of life.”
      –I often say to people that life isn’t stagnant. It’s constantly changing and shifting. We also aren’t meant to stagnate, are we? 😉
      Thank you so much for the comment Nihar. It’s never an empty thought. I will be by very soon to see what you’ve been up to as well, my friend.
      Please have a great rest of the week and take care.
      🙂

      • Dear Staci, it’s been long time we had such lovely exchange of ideas and our conversation was almost in hibernation. Hope everything is well at your end and god bless you.

        So well said and only you can put it with such finesse “make lemonade out of the lemon life throws at us”…I couldn’t have agreed more it is finally all about the “ATTITUDE” we carry and if we carry right attitude then rest everything falls in place, and life is in essence about growth and till we are in growth journey we are alive and enjoy the passage, and the moment we halt more than required we get stuck and we find it difficult to lift and get going…we have to fight the odds and get over the struggle to be stable and move again.
        Never easy to face such struggle and being able to face it with gumption and show our gratitude and maintain our grace in such challenging time, is a sign of greatness and bigger success to come.

        Thanks so much Staci, you too have a great weekend and we will resume our lovely conversation once you are relatively free. Take Care!!!
        😀

  9. Reblogged this on authenticitee speaks and commented:
    This piece below was written by fellow blogger Staci and it really spoke to me. I could feel it feeding me. And so I share healing as it find me…there is no other way.

    Be healed…e

    • Heyyyyyyy there E, so great to see you here. Thank you so much for the comment and reblog. I’m truly humbled and so glad that this simple piece made it to your heart.
      Please do forgive me for taking so long to respond. I work with an organization called, Youth With A Mission, and we were holding an arts conference this past week. It was crazy busy, being that there was just a small team of us involved in the organization and logistics of it all. At any rate, I’ve found some time to get back on WP for a bit. Phew. 🙂
      You know, thinking about what you said – about how this piece spoke to you – it made me remember something that one of our key note speakers said during the conference, “Art is indestructible. You never know where your art may end up.” That was an encouragement to me, because I have been a bit discouraged lately about continuing with my little art pieces. I don’t have the time to truly invest in art and painting, so I know I will never be any Leonardi da Vinci… but if my art can encourage or speak to someone out there, then it’s worth the little effort that I am able to invest.
      Thanks again E. I will be by soon to see what you’ve been up to.
      Please have a wonderful rest of the week and take care.
      🙂 ❤

  10. I love the post but have bad news. You are not showing up in my reader again! I firmly believe that how we, as individuals, deal with struggles in life will largely define us as we move past them. Life is full of cuts and bruises, and those scars we wear from them should be worn as badges of honor.

    • Heyyyyy Rob, sorry for the delay in responding. Been super busy. We held an arts conference here at my base and I didn’t have time even to take care of my house. My son was super excited because he didn’t have to study for that time. Hahaha.
      I wrote this quite a while actually. I just posted it late on a Friday afternoon. Maybe it did get into your reader but it was the weekend and I’m guessing you don’t blog as much on the weekend, right? 😉
      I completely agree that it’s all in the attitude. How we deal with our struggles will certainly make the difference in who become because of them. I don’t think they define me, but they definitely think the attributes gained from going through them will describe me.
      Hope you are doing super well Rob. I’ll be by soon to see what you’ve been up to.
      Have a great rest of the week and take care.
      🙂

  11. Hello beautiful Staci! I am sending wonderful thoughts of healing…and hope that whatever struggles you are going through are giving you strength and understanding. I know you were really sick…and I hope that you have healed completely. I know that the struggles we go through really are there for us to learn. I think our faith will help us to get through those times. Much love to you ❤ ❤

    • Hi Lorrie, thank you so much for your sweet words and well wishes. I am much better now, however the climate is quite dry at the moment. That means a scratchy throat and a bit of coughing.
      I agree that those struggles do teach us, and my faith definitely is what helps me to get through them. There are those though, that all struggles to tear them down, which is unfortunate.
      How are you doing, my friend? It’s been quite a while. I will be by your little corner of the blogosphere soon to see what you’ve been up to.
      Please have a lovely rest of the week and take care.
      🙂 ❤

  12. Hey Staci, I didn’t realize you wrote something on struggle until I saw this post. I wrote about it today. I see struggle as an opportunity to grow. I see challenges in life something that builds character. ❤

    • Hi Sonyo, it’s been a while eh. So nice to see you here. This piece I posted quite a while ago actually. I have been quite busy and a little down in the dumps lately. Hoping to get back into blogging more regularly again now.
      I have written quite a bit on the topic of suffering actually. It’s something so real and unescapable in life. I also see struggles as an opportunity to grow. They will be our teachers if we let them.
      I will be by soon to read your post.
      Hope you are doing well.
      🙂 ❤

      • Yeah suffering is definitely a juicy subject, right? We can really learn a lot from our struggles. Thank you again for stopping by when you can. I look forward to reading your future posts as well. ❤

    • Hello Gayatri, so nice to meet you. And thank you for your comment and joining the conversation.
      I agree that struggles play a large part in making us who we are. Some people allow them to be their teachers and construct character. Others unfortunately become bitter.
      Thank you so much for your words of appreciation. I would love to check out your blog, and will do so very soon.
      Please have a lovely day and take care Gayatri.
      🙂

  13. such blessed words my dear Staci. Thank you for sharing. and i guess that person who told you about struggles and growth when you were 18 is someone God has anointed to motivate you.
    looking back, i would attest that indeed, our struggles make us better and braver and fuller in faith. ❤

    • Hi Rosema. So great to see you here. Yes, that person spoke very true words for my life. I really do believe that I needed to go through struggles to become who I am today.
      Hope you are well sweetie.
      Take care and have a wonderful day.
      🙂 ❤

  14. Dear Staci,
    In August of 2015 I wrote a poem.

    I paraphrased my title for that poem from one of your poem titles.

    I am about to(in a week or so) publish a book or a couple of small books of poems and want to make sure I am not copyrighting your work as well as letting you know out of courtesy.

    I just looked at your blog and did not find the poem title I referenced.

    Here is the title I made that was paraphrased and inspired from yours.

    HEAR MY VOICE AMIDST THE DEAFENING SOUND OF THE CITIES SAMENESS

    I remember we had a conversation about it, and what we each considered as good or positive, and or comfortable daily routines. I can not even finding it in my email notifications.

    I would like to see if my paraphrase is okay with you and if it is not I will change it.

    Sincerley,
    Sam Sutlive
    Artist and Poet
    sutlive2@wordpress.com.

  15. We all have struggles, in fact most of the times in our lives. Some choose to not be affected by them much (or at all). I guess if we remember that one day we have to anyway leave this world, things would get easy to accept.

  16. Pingback: “You’re going to Hell.” | The Barefoot Aya

  17. Stace,
    I wish I could give it a rating more than 5 star, for now the 5 star vote is okay. The pain will heal, you will see the sun. It touched me at a personal level. I am also making prayers to God for the same and find this post of yours. Isnt it such a miracle ! I miss u my friend ❤ Beautiful art, very inspiring 🙂

    • Hello Elizabeth, great to hear from you. I have been away from blogging for a while. I’ve been very busy. Some translation, studying, homeschooling my Aspie.
      Btw, I’m moving to Rio de Janeiro at the end of November. Excited about that.
      I don’t know when I will get back to blogging, but I’m not gone forever.
      😘💕

Leave a Reply

