Needs


Needs – Quote 1

quote 1

“You’ll need coffee shops and sunsets and road trips. Airplanes and passports and new songs and old songs, but people more than anything else. You will need other people and you will need to be that other person to someone else, a living breathing screaming invitation to believe better things.”
― 
Jamie Tworkowski

I would like to thank my newest blogger friend, Robert of Levishedated for inviting me to participate in a 3-quote challenge. I took the above photo from my bedroom window just for him, because I know how much he loves the sky.

Rules:

  1. Thank the person that nominated you.
  2. Post 1-3 quotes each day for 3 consecutive days.
  3. Nominate 3 bloggers each day to participate in the 3-day Quote Challenge.

I’m going to cheat a bit here though. I will not be posting for 3 consecutive days, but I will post three days with a quote each day over the next few weeks.

My nominations are:

  1. Rob of The V-Pub. He’s my longest-standing friend here on WP
  2. Dajena from Moonskittles
  3. Mia from Copper Cranes

Of course I totally understand if you are unable, or would not like to participate.

What are your thoughts on the above quote? It reminds me of a poem/post I wrote a little while back, Made to connect.

38 thoughts on “Needs

  1. I am honored to be nominated by you, my friend! I would love to participate! Your quote today reminds me of your recent posts about relationships. It’s truly what each human needs – each other. The quote and the photo are beautiful!

    • Thank you Carisa. I am doing well, thanks. Hope you’re well too.
      Life can get busy, can’t it? I also have had very little time. I may have to take a hiatus soon myself, thanks to busyness.
      Thanks again Carisa. I will be by soon to see what you’ve been up to.
      🙂 ❤

  2. Staci, you selected a marvelous quote. Jamie Tworkowski is remarkable and his words are quite moving and inspirational. Your poem “Made to Connect” echoes his sentiment and is very heartfelt, absolutely I think we all need to connect, it’s essential. Jamie’s vision and message of hope is very powerful, “You are not alone and this is not the end of your story.”

    Thank you for thinking of me and the invitation to participate in the challenge, I’m looking forward to it. Wishing you a wonderful weekend my friend. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

    • Mia, thank you so much. You know, the first time I read that quote, I knew I had to pin it. This challenge has provided the perfect opportunity for me to post it.
      I believe that relationships are essential to heath and wholeness. Who knows, maybe the reason why we see so much depression now-a-day is because of all of the isolation and lack of community in today’s culture.
      Ohhh, you are more than welcome. I hope you had a lovely weekend and please have a wonderful week ahead.
      🙂 ❤

      • You’re so welcome Staci. It’s a terrific quote, and yes this challenge is definitelythe perfect opportunity to showcase Jamie’s words. I think there’s much truth in what you’ve shared, “so much depression now-a-day is because of all of the isolation and lack of community in today’s culture”. I don’t know what it will take to turn the tide, hopefully more awareness will continue to keep the ball rolling in a direction of less isolation and more sense of community.

        Thank you for the kind wishes and the invitation, I’m working on it! Please have a wonderful week as well. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

      • Mia, have you watched that documentary called, ‘Happiness’? I watched it on Netflix. There was this one story that I thought was really cool. In Denmark, there are these little community sort of co-ops. A number of families live in the same place, each with their own sleeping quarters and all. But then they share duties, like cleaning and making dinner. They eat together and all. The woman that was telling this story said she moved to one after her divorce. She knew that she would get depressed if she just rented out a flat. She knew that by being around others, she would avoid the depression. I thought that was phenomenal. I live in a community situation, and wouldn’t have it any other way actually.
        Oh great, looking forward to yours. I see you’ve posted. I will be reading it tomorrow.
        Have a lovely evening.
        🙂 ❤

      • I haven’t seen it Staci, I’m going to check for it, sounds very interesting. How does your community work, separate living, but shared activities?

        I’m working on some ideas now for the challenge and I’m enjoying the process. Wishing you a wonderful Tuesday. 🙂 ❤

      • It’s a beautiful space actually. Full of trees and flowers, hilly, a lake. Most of the year it’s sunny.
        Each family has it’s own separate living quarters, like an apartment. I have a three bedroom, which was actually a two-bedroom, but we renovated the space and made it three. We have a cook, and everybody goes to the dining hall to get lunch at the proper time. A number of families take their lunch home to eat, but my family likes to eat in the dining hall with a bunch of others. My Aspie son wouldn’t have it any other way (he’s a people person). Different people are scheduled to help in the kitchen for lunch prep and clean up, and there are also maintenance duties that certain people do. We hole different schools here throughout the year as well. When our main school is happening, the students have work duties in the pm. Plus, not only lunch is available, but breakfast and dinner too. We have a Wednesday night service that is open to the community. On Tuesdays, us married women have breakfast together and spend some time. Wednesdays the guys do the same. A few times a year we have special events too, like a Friday fun night with a theme and all. The kids love it. And sometimes we have other special events, like a big special breakfast or coffee time together. That’s rare though. Haha. Oh yes, also, on Tuesdays and Thursdays there is a friend of ours that used to live here that comes and gives a fitness circuit training thing from 4-5 pm. We all help each other too. For example, there’s this one girl here that is a Physic therapist. I have chronic tension in my shoulders, neck and now back. It’s so bad sometimes that I can’t fall asleep. She’s offered to give me weekly massage therapy at her home here. She has a special bed and equipment and all. First session is tomorrow pm. Yeah! Haha.
        I’ve probably made this more detailed then necessary.
        Anyhow, looking forward to reading your posts Mia. And now I’m off to read your last post, because I was out all afternoon yesterday at the dentist.
        Please have a wonderful Thursday afternoon.
        🙂 ❤

      • Staci, the surroundings sound lovely, great weather, what a wonderful environment. I bet your children love it, plus there is routine and structure, which I really like. That’s so terrific that you have the opportunity to join others in meals, activities and shared responsibilities. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell me about your community. Enjoy your massage therapy this evening, wishing you some relief.

        Ha-ha, yes I’m working on the challenge, I have so many ideas, now I just have to narrow down my list and focus. Please enjoy the rest of your week. ~ Mia 🙂 ❤

  3. Okay, now I’m crazy-jealous of your sky, Staci – that is a wonderful shot but how much more wonderful is it that you have such a bet aspect of nature right on your doorstep! 🙂
    Thanks for choosing to take up the challenge – it’s rather a nice feeling for me knowing that I’m part of such a great domino chain and that it is producing such lovely effects as it links up. I wonder how many times, by the time we have done, we will have spanned the globe.
    Have a super-dooper day – Robert. 🙂

    • This quote is a perfect one. I love what it stresses out. The desire for friendship, the need to belong somewhere.
      We are all journeys and not destinations.
      Beautiful connection dear Staci. You are precious!
      ❤ Dajena

      • Thank you so much Dajena. You know I’m so sorry it’s taken so long to respond to your comment. It’s because good old WP did not notify me once again. Ugh.
        I agree that we are all on a continuous journey. We all need connections and relationship. No man is an island, right?
        Thanks again Dajena.
        🙂 ❤

      • 🙂 🙂 you are welcome dear friend. Yes absolutely we are not an island. Born to be in community. 🙂
        Blessings to you ❤

  4. Pingback: Corporeal | Copper Cranes

    • Oh my gosh, I hate it when this happens. I didn’t get this comment in my notifications Rob. Do you think maybe some of my comments didn’t show up in your notifications too? Hmmmmm…
      Anyhow, oh yes, a link for Rob’s blog. It’s https://thevpub.wordpress.com
      Rob is my oldest WP friend. We go way back. He posts every day, different than me. I only post on Thursdays or Fridays, thanks to my time limitations. Anyhow, check him out.
      🙂

      • Thanks for that Staci – I’ll check him out. I don’t know – my notifications seem to be working fine – I got this one. How did you get to see my comment to you then? And can you see any that I have not replied to. I reply to everything even if it is just to Like it. Right – onward to Rob’s blog.

      • I just noticed by accident that there were comments right in the blog post, but they didn’t show up in the notification thing. It happens quite a bit with me actually. There’s this one blogger friend that often doesn’t show up in my notifications. I usually only see her comments when I go right into the blog post and scroll down to see the comments. It happens with her too. She often only sees my comments if she goes right into the blog. Hmmmm. I think it happens to quite a few people.
        Anywho… hope you had a great weekend.
        🙂

      • I’ve never really looked at the comments, apart from when I look at a new blog (some of the comments are actually more entertaining than the posts at times, particularly when the people really know each other and are confident enough to speak freely). Aside from that I don’t know if I’m missing comments. And actually, I simply don’t have the bandwidth to check up on them. Already I spend more time chatting than I do writing. It’s a good thing I love it! 🙂
        Thanks, I had a great weekend. Plenty of sun and fun and walking and talking. Someone gave me a whole box of books (I love books) for free on Sunday and I plan to give half of them away this evening (I go to a Bookcrossing (http://www.bookcrossing.com/) Meetup (http://www.meetup.com/)) tonight. More free books than you could throw a stick at! 🙂
        What excitement do you have planned for today, Staci?

      • Hey Rob. Sorry for taking so long to reply. I have actually taken a break from the blog for a while. At least 2 months. I’m so busy and there are projects I haven’t been able to get to.
        Anyhow, have been super busy, and unable to reply to many comments actually. Just catching up now.
        Hopefully we’ll still be seeing ya when I get back to blogging.
        🙂

      • REally? You can’t do so via mobile? That’s strange. I can. Hmmmmm. Maybe it’s because you need to be following to interact? I don’t know.
        🙂

Leave a Reply

