Spiritual Fruit (Tanka and mixed-media)


Spiritual Fruit (Tanka and mixed-media)

fruit of the spirit

A sprinkling of salt

Illuminating bright light

Chasing away lies

Darkness flees in His presence

Life-giving fruit will appear


Salt serves to season, preserve and disinfect. Metaphorically, it has symbolized loyalty, fidelity, usefulness and purification throughout history (source).

Light chases away darkness. In fact, darkness is the absence of light.

As a Christian I’m a fan of the Bible, and read it regularly. I meditate on what it says and try to live accordingly. There is this one part that says:

“Remain in Me, as I also remain in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it remains in the vine, neither can you, unless you remain in Me.Β I am the vine, you are the branches. He who remains in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit. For without Me you can do nothing.”

And so I present to you this simple art piece and poem. My prayer is that I will bear much fruit. Beautiful fruits of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness and self-control. I know that in and of myself it is impossible. But then again, I guess that’s why these fruits are called, “The fruit of the Spirit”. As I remain in Him and He in me, these fruits are possible to obtain.

Do you believe yourself to be a person full of these fruits? Which area is your greatest struggle? For me it is patience and self-control.


Just a quick note to let you know I will be traveling on Friday and will be gone for about two weeks. I will not have regular access to the internet while I’m gone.

73 thoughts on “Spiritual Fruit (Tanka and mixed-media)

  1. Very beautiful artwork, poem and words to follow! ❀
    Apart from God we try to do things on our own which often fail and turn out to be mistakes… He's a constant source of Love, Light and Hope in my life! I also greatly struggle with patience and at times with self control.

    • For me, the self-control in the area of frustration and anger, which I guess goes along with patience. I need to learn to catch myself before it spins out of control.
      Thank you so much Sibella. I actually didn’t really like the artwork that much. I was hoping it would be better.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

      • I really love the artwork!!!
        Sometimes I also struggle with finding peace but that’s usually when I try to do things on my own and not thinking it through and ask for His guidance…

      • Really? Awwww, thanks Sibella. I just got an idea for another art piece today and want to see if I can get it done and post it before I leave. Don’t know if I’ll be able to, but I’ll try.
        πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Yes, I really love it!!!
        I’m looking forward to the new piece, but if you can’t post it today don’t worry… Take it easy my friend! 🌻

  2. Are you going on another vacation? You are well traveled! My greatest struggle? That’s hard to say, because I have so many! I think that if there was one area of my life that I could improve and it would immediately make me a better person, it would be patience. I sometimes become frustrated when trying to convey thoughts or ideas and my children don’t understand. I can help them with their home work, and the process seems clear to me, but they don’t get it at times. I can pull my hair out at times. I want them to want to ask me for help and not worry that dad will go bald if they do. πŸ˜€

    • That’s exactly what I’m talking about when it comes to patience and self-control. I get so frustrated and want to pull my hair out too. I think I’m learning and getting better. But it’s touch, isn’t it? I don’t want my son to fear me. I asked him the other night if he’s scared of me, and he said, “only when you yell”. Awwwww. Eek.
      Hahaha, vacation… kind of and not really. We are going to see my inlays up in the north-east for just over a week, but also Daniel will be teaching a film production workshop for three of those days. Hahaha. You know Rob, our life style involves quite a bit of traveling. Not as much for me anymore (because of the kids), but for my hubby a lot. For me and the kids some, but for him a lot more. Like in September Daniel will be teaching in Porto Seguro (beach – yeah!) and then filming a short there. He’s taking all of us because it’s for over two weeks and the leaders of this particular base and school we will be going to there are good friends of ours. Those are the benefits of homeschooling eh. I can take it on the road.
      πŸ™‚

      • That is quite a benefit. Going on vacation and not missing a step for school. Yeah, I’m the same way. I don’t want them to fear me at all, so that is something that I really will work on. Have a wonderful time on your vacation and I hope you can find some internet connection while you’re there. πŸ™‚

      • Welllll, my inlaws don’t have one, unfortunately. I will have to go down to my hubby’s church there.
        Thanks Rob.
        πŸ™‚

  3. Simply profound is a much better description than “simple art piece”…just saying. I love how your create mixed media art messages, Staci! You are so gifted. A creative genius, that’s what you are! πŸ˜€πŸ‘πŸ˜€πŸ‘

    • Awwwww, you are too kind Kirsten. Thank you so much. I really wanted this piece to be more vibrant, but it is what it is and the message is there, soooooo…
      Anyhow, I’m traveling tomorrow for a week and a half. I just finished another mixed media piece and I’m super stoked about it. I loooooovvvveeee it. I’m currently writing a poem to it called, “Eternity in her heart”. I really want to post it right NOW. But I’m trying to hold out until I return. Anyhowwwww, have a great weekend, and thanks again.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

      • I think it was a perfect post! I wonder if you will be able to hold out?!? It would be hard for me too! Where are you all going?!? I hope you have a wonderful weekend too! Xoxo. R sent you an email the other day by the way…

      • Well, I will have to hold out cause my access to internet right now is very limited πŸ˜•
        Thanks Kirsten.
        Oh yes, I got her email. Thanks to you telling me.
        πŸ˜€πŸ’•

      • I always have such a hard deciding what to post. I could post 3 times a day with everything I’m working on, but I try to restrain myself!! Lol. Glad you got her email πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much Teresa. I’m so glad you like it. And thanks for the travel blessings. About 8-12 hours of driving ahead of us (depending on traffic).
      πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Staci, lovely post! Salt and light are essential for the life, we would not survive without them. My great struggle is self-respect, I don’t care take very much of myself, and sometimes I really hurt myself. I’m trying to be a better friend to me, but it’s difficult, very difficult. Hope you have fun in these 2 weeks off. I’ll miss you! Are you coming here? If so, maybe you can visit me πŸ™‚

    • Ohhhhhhh, really Elizabeth? Oh please take care of yourself. You are worth it.
      Thank you for the nice compliment on the post.
      Oh how I wish I was going there. It’s summer there right now. However, we are just going to the North east of Brazil to visit my in-laws, and my hubby will be giving a film workshop for three days as well. If we were going to Canada, that would be so awesome to visit you. I’ll have to let you know when we do go. You live in the Toronto area, right?
      Have a great day and weekend.
      πŸ™‚

  5. stacilys,
    I too believe in this theory, like you many a times all of us have our own struggle but it is trial and error kind of the method, one learns gradually, one thing is sure, the more you surrender willingly and happily the more you find your in his lap and in his kingdom…
    What do you think?????????????????
    β€œRemain in Me, as I also remain in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it remains in the vine, neither can you, unless you remain in Me. I am the vine, you are the branches. He who remains in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit. For without Me you can do nothing.”

  6. Staci, I’m being challenged right now and am beating myself up for not being more patient and understanding. I pray to be more patient, am given opportunities to practice and I fail. I have to remind myself I am a flawed human being trying to live God’s will. Not easy at times but This Too Shall Pass. Your art is beautiful and I pray that I may bear all the same fruit as you with help from Him. Enjoy your time off!

    • Oh, my friend. Believe me. I also fail. A LOT. Even today. I failed again. Impatient with my Aspie son. Tomorrow’s another day, right. And you are so right. We are flawed human beings. I need God and his help continuously.
      Thank you so much for your sweet words. What a kind thing to say. I’m so glad you think my art is beautiful Geralyn.
      Thank you also for the traveling wishes.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

  7. Hello Stacily, the art is amazingly beautiful. It strikes such a beauty and the message you have put behind is wonderful. I actually love the words you’ve put forward : ” Light chases away darkness. In fact, darkness is the absence of light. ”

    And for me my area of improvement is controlling my indecisiveness and short temper.. I am trying hard bug still fail at times to cope up with these attributes.

    Once again, lovely art. And yes.. without God, life is incomplete. It is he who completes us.

    Happy journey to you Stacey. Lots of Love ❀ ❀ ❀

    • Thank you so much Himali. I am so glad you like this.
      I also have difficulty with indecisiveness and short temper. I guess knowing that is half the battle. I am really trying to work on these areas.
      Thanks again sweetie. And I love that @it is He that completes us.
      Tons of love πŸ˜€πŸ’•

      • Heyyyy Himali. Thanks so much. I’ve just returned. Oh my gosh! A whole week and a half without a regular internet connection. Anyhow, I’ll be back up blogging again tomorrow. As for tonight, I think I’ll take it a bit easy.
        Can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to.
        πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Hey my love ❀❀❀❀
        Welcome welcome, welcome back Stacily πŸ™‚
        Have so much to catch up from you about your holidays πŸ˜€ Have rest, see you around soon.. Keep smiling πŸ™‚

      • Awwwww, thanks Himali. Our time went well, although no regular internet connection 😦
        Got sick, then my son, then my hubby, and now my house looks like a bomb went off. I’m dying to be regularly on WordPress again, but I need to make some time to get my house in order. I can’t wait to get settled and back into routine. I posted yesterday and am longing to respond to the comments. I think I’ll do that first. Then I have to write a poem for this international faith-based artist community. I’m the moderator for the poetry section and each Thursday I need to have a response to that week’s topic. Anyhow, it’s soooooo wonderful to be back. I need to get on over to your blog and do some catching up.
        πŸ™‚ ❀

      • Ohhhh myy !!! Thats so much to catch up with Stace !! How do u manage so much ?? Hope your health is fine and your son and hubby are doing well too πŸ™‚ Lots of love and prayers to u and ur family.. have some rest and catch up with all your pending stuff. Warm hugs and welcome again.. Keep smiling.. Happy weekend in adv ❀ ❀

  8. Oh beautiful soul!! This is so wonderful!! Your art stimulates me and your words speak directly to my heart β™‘ I think this is such a powerful message! I have been dealing with some issues and decided to take a salts bath with a meditation tape that I made, yesterday. It was incredible and I could feel the presence of God in every pore of my being!! It completely changed my outlook…IMMEDIATELY!! I love how synchronistic our life events can be…you posted something I was experiencing around the same time!! That is connection!! Much love dear Staci…safe travels. I’ve a feeling you will come back with some incredible photos for your blog. And please keep your art coming!!! β™‘β™‘β™‘

    • Awwwwwww, thank you so much Lorrie. I am so glad this touched you so profoundly.
      You are so lucky to have a bathtub. It is not common here in Brazil. I would love to take one where we are right now because it is soooooooo cold at the moment. Winter has arrived. Brrrrrr.
      Bless you, my friend.
      πŸ˜€πŸ’—

      • stacilys,
        Welcome back………………..
        So, once again let us start fun days………….with more enthusiasm,joy and happiness…………..

      • Oh yes, I really want to have the enthusiasm, joy and happiness. I’m getting over a sickness and my house is a total mess. I should be back up and regular on WordPress again by Monday.
        Thank you so much swajithkas
        πŸ™‚

  9. Salt indeed a nice metaphor for the loyalty to fidelity…it adds to the taste but at the same time used in limits controls balance of life. Yes, what is life without the presence of light, we take it for granted and darkness disappears, it doesn’t go away by default by goes with only by design, the design of getting the light and lightening the soul and spirit of life…fruits of spirits, right from the joy to the peace to the kindness to goodness, each one of these adds so much flavor to our life without these extra salts and spices of life…

    It is a very profoundly written thoughts and it touches so many facets in one go, it is great to take a break and reflect on these aspects of life which gets lost in the daily grind and in the over burdening stress and pressure we undergo…yes sparkling of little salt and we need to keep illuminating our life and living…

    Hope you had a relaxed and peaceful Sunday, day counts and thoughts matters, life can be counted in nights but we cannot measure life without the presence of light…the day matters.
    Laugh & Light!!!

    • Ohhhhh Nihar, I don’t know how I missed this comment. I’m so sorry for not responding. You know, many times recently I have not been getting certain notifications from WordPress. I only saw this because I am going through some past posts to double check and make sure there was nothing I missed.

      At any rate, thank you so much for your thoughts on the matter. You always add ‘salt’ to the conversation here, my friend.

      Bless you and have a great weekend.
      πŸ™‚

      • Absolutely no problem, anyway so nice of you to discover it and respond, these are some of the wonderful quality only great friends like you have who takes care of each aspect of the communication…
        Adding spices to our conversations, our conversations has always been rich in thoughts and enriches our mind…
        Stay blessed and have a wonderful weekend..
        πŸ˜€

  10. I needed this tonight, Staci. I often find myself needing a knock on the head when I’m feeling selfish. Your words suit me tonight, as I’m feeling sorry for myself. Just returned home after being gone for a month. Annoyed that somehow I feel I am worthy of more time with my family. As if four weeks isn’t a blessing enough. Ugh. I’ve got to get my heart right. Thank you for this, my friend. β™‘

    • Ohhhhh Audrey, I’m so sorry I didn’t get to you earlier. You sound like you were feeling quite down. I was traveling in the north east of the country and didn’t have a regular internet connection. I just got back tonight. Yeah! It’s hard to believe we used to live without the internet, isn’t it. It’s like a need now.
      Anyhow, how did your time go with your family? I think it’s so beautiful the strong bond you have your family. Are you the only one that lives far from home? Have you ever considered moving back?
      I hope you’re feeling much better now. How do you plan on spending the rest of the summer?
      On another note, I’m so glad this simple piece touched you. And you are more than welcome.
      Many blessings to you, my friend.
      πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Hi Nihar. I received the email and already downloaded the book. Thank you for sending it to me. The only problem is that I’m currently traveling and don’t have a regular internet access where I am. I won’t be able to get back to this until sometime next week ok.
      Thanks again, my friend.
      πŸ™‚

      • Absolutely no problem Staci, I thought you didn’t receive it. Please take your time and enjoy your travel and safe journey and take care, will catch up when you back…
        πŸ˜€

      • Thank you so much for understanding Nihar. We’ve just arrived tonight. I have some things to get in order, but will try to get to it as soon as possible ok.
        Hope you’re doing well.
        πŸ™‚

      • Great to hear back. Not to worry Staci, first take rest and take care. Hope you had a great break and everything went off very well…we will catch up later once you are fully free. I am fine…
        take care!!!
        πŸ˜€

      • Thanks Nihar. Oh yes, our time was ok, although I got quite sick, then my son got sick, and then my hubby. My house looks like a bomb went off. Once things have simmered down a bit we’ll catch up, my friend. I’ve gotta hop on over to your blog and see what you’ve been up to.
        πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      • Not to worry, take care…family and health are very important, conversations can always wait…
        That’s a strong way to put the house in order…little chaos is good for us, we move from chaos to order…
        πŸ˜€

    • Thank you so much Wendell. I’m so glad you liked this. Sorry it’s taken me a while to get back to you too. I was traveling up in northeast Brazil and didn’t have a regular internet connection.
      Thanks again for your encouraging words.
      πŸ™‚

  11. Such beautiful and inspiring words dear!
    I have a lot of areas to work on, but the first one is patience. God! How I wish I can be more like my husband (he’s about the most patient person I’ve ever met.) I get so impulsive at times that sometimes I have to sit still so as not to harm my won self!
    I’m trying to get it in control by doing yoga and meditation every day (twice.) It’s helping me a lot, but I think it’ll take some more time to master it completely (may be a year or two.) πŸ™‚
    Thanks for such a wonderful piece Staci πŸ™‚
    Have a great day!

    • Ohhhh, thank you so much for sharing this Heena. It just goes to show you that it’s a struggle for many, and not just one, right? πŸ™‚ I am working on patience myself. And I really need to work on self-control too. Especially with my reactions to others and my words. I made a huge mistake the other night and now I’m reaping the consequences of that. I had already known that there is great wisdom in being quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to become angry, but now I’m actually experiencing it. I guess that’s the best way to learn though. It’s really tough, but it all comes through in the end, right?

      Have a great week Heena.
      πŸ™‚

  12. I believe I have many of the fruits listed above. However, I still struggle with joy and peace. I feel the things I still lack often threatens my joy and peace, but I am learning to focus on the positive things I have πŸ™‚

    • Oh really? Wow. That’s great that you have many of these fruits. I’m trying to grow. I would say that the fruits I mostly have are joy and peace (accept when I get all anxious). And of course, like you those that I lack seem to threaten my joy and peace at times.
      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

